We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, great location”
Review of Hotel La Punta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Punta
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I spent a couple nights at Hotel La Punta just to get a feel for the city of Puntarenas. I had passed through many times to get tot he ferry to Paquera, but had nver spent much time in town.

This is a very nice hotel and the location is perfect. You can walk to the ferry docks and there are a number of small restaurants overlooking the harbor.

The room was okay, but the metal and glass door was irritating--needed to be lock to stay shut. The shower worked well, but ti was very very small.

Parking is easy and secure and the staff was very pleasant. The WiFi is weak--not much signal by the pool.

I would stay here again--depending on the price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, on our way to Monteverde and a couple of nights later on our way back. We were really impressed with the hotel when we arrived and thought it looked lovely and was good value considering it had a pool and spacious and clean air conditioned rooms. We left really happy with everything. On our way home, we unfortunately missed the last bus so we needed last minute accommodation in Punta Arenas. The staff at this hotel were unbelievably accommodating and lovely to us when we called them looking for rooms, especially Diego who works on reception and the owner whose name I did not catch. They found last minute rooms for us and made us feel at home when we were understandably a little stressed and tired. I would 100% stay at this hotel again and recommend them to any kind of traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank hannahsianisla2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Punta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017
Google Translation

Los esperamos Pronto.
"Pura Vida"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

At the end of the peninsula,close to Ferry . Short walk to end of peninsula where you can see a beautiful sunset over the mountains on the mountains where the ferry goes . Sweet pool where kids and adults play on hot days (and it can get very hot here). Small clean rooms with showers. Restaurants nearby. Try a Churchill , amazing refreashment for which the city is famous for.

Room Tip: Rooms that front on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumulus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Punta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017


We wait for you soon, it will always be a pleasure to serve you.
"Pura Vida"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel right beside the Puntarenas ferry and the beach. Lots of closeby restaurants and bars to try out. Nice pool and very welcoming staff. Great place to stay the night. Rooms with AC are available

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank morganl396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Punta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017


We wait for you soon, it will always be a pleasure to serve you.
Tanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Small, bare but cleans room at the end of town a block from the ferry terminal. Friendly staff at the front desk. Had a small but nice pool as well. We stayed here out of necessity on our way back to San Jose from Nicoya, was great for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BmoreExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Arenas
1.6 km away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 21 in Punta Arenas
69 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#5 of 21 in Punta Arenas
69 reviews
0.3 km away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#10 of 21 in Punta Arenas
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Tioga
Hotel Tioga
#13 of 21 in Punta Arenas
76 reviews
38.6 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
50.1 km away
Casa Caletas Hotel
Casa Caletas Hotel
#11 of 21 in Punta Arenas
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Punta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Punta

Address: | Barrio El Carmen, Punta Arenas, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Arenas
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in style , Hotel Punta offers tranquility and privacy. Enjoy nature with large green spaces and gardens in the middle of the city , with all amenities for maximum rest without being far from all shops and services offered by a city like Puntarenas. With new management since April 2008 , all rooms and furnishings were remodeled to 100%. Comfortable beds, air conditioning , cable television , refrigerator, private bathroom with hot water and access, enabling them to enjoy their vacation as a couple , family or stay for work . In the reception area , you can enjoy a cup of coffee courtesy of the house and enjoy a cozy space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Punta Costa Rica/Punta Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing