We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With Incredible Menus and Favors, Jaak's Seafood is Outstanding”
Review of Jaak's Seafood

Jaak's Seafood
Ranked #31 of 178 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Description: Fresh seafood shop and lunch restaurant. Fresh ceviches and salads. Special menus and catering service. Fresh fish and seafood production. Delivery service.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh seafood shop and lunch restaurant. Fresh ceviches and salads. Special menus and catering service. Fresh fish and seafood production. Delivery service.
Reviewed 7 November 2017

JAAK's is one of the most popular new restaurant in Escazu. From Ceviche de Pulpo to Tartar de Atun, or Tuna Poke to Tiradito de Corvina, everything is unique, varied, and has an unbelievable taste. And, the menu changes daily depending upon what is available and the freshest. Once you have tasted the culinary delights, you will return again, again, and again. JAAK's is open from around 11:00 to 6:00, and will cater.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank casasdehuhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Jaak’s will soon become my canteen.
Amazing seafood. The place is a restaurant and a place where you can buy fish shop to bring back home. But what’s the heck, no way you can better cook fish than the chef, so go there and enjoy the daily specialty at less that 10$.
Best fish and best price.
Can’t beat it with a stick!

Thank jjsmonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtoomsalu, Owner at Jaak's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for your review! Happy you enjoyed your lunch and come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a great place. Coming from Northern Europe, it was wonderful to experience the tastes of the world in one place. To be honest, I have never been much of a fish lover because it's difficult to come by really good quality fish, but this place totally turned my beliefs around. If the fish is so fresh and cooked in so many delicious ways, it's certainly a must go for everyone who appreciates great tastes! Would love to return. Compliments to the chef from Raivo. Thank you!

Thank raivovesiaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtoomsalu, Manager at Jaak's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Raivo.
We are very happy for your visit and glad that you enjoyed our seafood.
It is grate to know that we have got attention from northern countries.
Hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Jaak's Seafood premium fishmonger and fresh seafood restaurant is Costa Rica's best kept culinary secret.
When owner and chef Jaak Toomsalu arrived in Costa Rica from his homeland in Estonia, he fell in love with the wide variety of fish available in local fisheries. Costa Rica's Pacific and Atlantic coastlines provide a bounty of pelagic and reef species of fish: from tender yellow fin tuna and mahi mahi to flaky corvina sea bass, snook and red snapper.
Jaak meticulously selects the best catch of the day from artisanal fishermen and quickly delivers to customers nationwide.
In his kitchen in Escazú, Jaak skillfully delights his guests with beetroot-cured salmon gravadlax, smoked salmon and other Scandinavian delicacies. The tangy ceviche is a staple of Costa Rican gastronomy and the creamy spiny lobster and tender octopus are a national treasure.
Whether you dine in the shop or take-out the perfect picnic spread, Jaak's Seafood is the source of fine ocean delectables.

1  Thank manfredmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtoomsalu, Owner at Jaak's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for such a descriptive review on our place. My pleasure to serve you any time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Many people still believe that you can either go for delicious fare or opt for food that is perfectly healthy for you… I cannot think of a better example of a chef that accomplishes the highest marks on both categories. Gravlax, Ceviches, and several other cured fish recipes that you simply won’t get anywhere else in CR. The community may catch on, but the masterful results could only be distantly mimicked.

Chef Jaak Toomsalu brings to us traditional recipes from different parts of Northern Europe… delicious Latin American classics… and of course, several of his own, signature dishes.

Jaak: we are thrilled that you have finally opened your own place and we hope that you will continue to spoil our palettes for many years to come.

I wouldn’t want to close this short review without clarifying that Jaak’s Seafood is also a raw seafood shop. They have been delivering for years… well before the shop’s very recent opening. I am a loyal client… and now, in addition to my raw fish, I will be treating myself to smoked salmon, Peruvian ceviche, etc… on a regular basis.

Don’t miss out!

1  Thank Gacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaak's Seafood also viewed

San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Jaak's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing