We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view but dry chicken tiny shrimp and way expensive for the quality”

Restaurante Plaza Espana
Ranked #14 of 195 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: US$6 - US$40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with authentic Spanish cuisine, tapas and entrees, a wide selection of Spanish wines and, terrace overlooking the valley and tapas-bar very affordable prices and exclusive audience.
Reviewed 12 March 2017

After reading the reviews I was expecting great things at a mid-range price. I was disappointed to have dry chicken breast and tiny thumb nail size shrimp. No full menu printed out. We've experienced tapas restaurants like ceviche in Orlando and were astonished at the pricing; even more expensive than a huge fine dining establishment in the heart of orlando with live music, flamenco shows and consistently exquisite food. I'm happy to pay fine dining prices but really just feel cheated and taken advantage of when the food doesn't measure up to the bill.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

I cannot remember having such a delightful evening in a very long time! Visiting the Escazu area of San Jose for the first time, and wanted to try something we couldn't get in the States. Trip Advisor rated this restaurant quite highly - especially for the price - and we decided to give it a try. It's a good thing we are tenacious, for we had trouble finding it in the dark (it's about 50 meters straight up the road from the sign PRIVE, on the next lefthand corner) but after we finally found it, it was worth every minute of searching! The service could not have been better. I believe our server Vincente may have also been the owner; he was charming and attentive to our every need. He spoke very little English (although his chef partner did) but they offer detailed menus written in English, and he was very helpful in selecting the best dishes for everyone. We shared smaller portions of a good variety of things - both appetizers and main courses - and even my nearly-impossible-to-please son, who is also a chef, was delighted with everything. It was a perfect evening to sit outside and look out over the city lights, with lovely music playing in the background. We seldom waited for more than a few minutes between plates, and yet we never felt rushed. The timing of everything was perfect for us. Our particular favorites were the fried calamari, the tortilla de patata, the shrimp in garlic, and the house-made green peppercorn sauce for the beef tenderloin medallions. We all enjoyed the evening immensely, from young adults to middle-age to elderly family members. I suspect this treasure will not stay hidden for long!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LAURIE8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Amazing food and wonderful service! We had a wonderful meal including tapas and wine. Better than Barcelona and Madrid! Highly recommend. View from balcony was beautiful. Able to see the lights of San Jose'. Service was superb! We will be back!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank belindaa858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The view from the place is beautiful, the attention is incredible. They offer very good Spanish wine at a very good price and the food is good as well. I recommend it!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Excellent Spanish food & wine, good ambiance and excellent service, good price! Might get chilly if you sit outside...

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gdo_Castillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Plaza Espana also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing