We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find right in the middle of downtown San José!”

El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico
Ranked #6 of 850 Restaurants in San Jose
Description: El Abasto Mercado Gastronómico is a route where you can feel a gastronomic adventure without leaving San José. 5 concepts: Pizza Pasta (Italian), Puerto Barcelona (Spanish), Lubnan (Lebanese), Milanesa Concept (Argentine) and El Viejo Almacen (Cafeteria and Desserts). In addition to our variety of wines, cocktails and other drinks. Definitely a place to enjoy loaded with art and flavor
Restaurant details
Description: El Abasto Mercado Gastronómico is a route where you can feel a gastronomic adventure without leaving San José. 5 concepts: Pizza Pasta (Italian), Puerto Barcelona (Spanish), Lubnan (Lebanese), Milanesa Concept (Argentine) and El Viejo Almacen (Cafeteria and Desserts). In addition to our variety of wines, cocktails and other drinks. Definitely a place to enjoy loaded with art and flavor
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

In recent years, most dining has been moving either east or west of town, leaving a significant void in the downtown area.

This is where El Abasto comes in: they chose a great location, right on Avenida Segunda, across the street from the National Theatre and very close to several points of interest.

Their place is lively, full of paintings and all sorts of artsy decoration. The mood is extremely relaxed and diverse. A few tables at the balcony give you a different view of the Second Avenue below.

The food is just as diverse: 4 gastronomic ideas coexist here, with Italian, Spanish, Argentinian (Milanesa style only) and Lebanese options. The Argentinian side of things does not include a grill, because the place next door, which is part of the family, specializes in grilled meats and other Argentinian fare.

Wine is certainly an option among several other in the drinks department. Personnel are knowledgeable and you can count on some help on what wine or drink you might want to try with your dish.

All in all, this was a nice experience and one I will repeat several times for sure. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, Gerente at El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

This kine of review makes us feel very proud about our job. It was a pleasure for us to have you as a costumer. We wish to see you again very very soon. Best wishes.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018

We had two lovely meals at El Abasto. Our first meal was the daily steak special with a cheese sauce and today we had the paella. Both were really good, The service was excellent both times. We enjoyed having Junior serve us today, he was great.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank njmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, Gerente at El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thanks very much njmalone for your visit. It was a pleasure to serve you. We wish to see you soon.! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant recommended by Stephen from Free Walking Tours. Food good & staff very attentive & pleasant. Also loved the atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lou1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, Gerente at El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks very much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you as a costumer.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Nice place beautiful decor friendly staff
Great coffee and drinks.
The food is average they put mayonnaise on everything and a lot of Greece

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, Gerente at El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thanks very much for your review Nate, we feel very confused about what you set about the mayo. We would like to speak with you to understand this. We wish to see you again very soon.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a bite of lunch, Yesica helped us with the menu. I had the squid, meatball salad combination and my wife the chicken and avocado. We've been away for two months and this was as good as any food I've had on the holiday. Great atmosphere and service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, Gerente at El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks very much for this review. We feel very proud knowing that you could enjoy the meal with us, in the best atmosphere in San Jose. We wish see you soon.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to El Abasto Mercado Gastronomico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing