We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
57
27
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
27
9
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015

I recently stayed at In & Basic with my college rugby team and it proved to be an excellent venue for a solid price. The hostel staff is very friendly and accommodating, speak English quite well, and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words and review! We will keep on going improving ourselves! Hope to see you guys again in CR!! All the best! XOXO Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I traveled with a team of about 27 guys for a week, and In&Basic was perfect for us. We all had plenty of space with clean and cozy facilities, and we were treated very well. Paula and the volunteers were amazing and they even travelled with us on some of our adventures across Costa Rica on certain days. They cooked us breakfast every day and had dinner prepared for us on certain days, even when we got there at 3 AM on our first night. We had a lot of space to hang out on our relaxing days, and the bar area / backyard were always in great condition for us to sit down, talk, and play cards for hours. Free wifi helped me and my friends keep in touch with family and friends back in the USA every now and then. The area around felt very safe and the hostel is pretty easy to find when walking home at night. Overall, we all had a great time and never had to worry about a thing.

Room tip: All rooms were good. The one I stayed in up the first flight of stairs on the right had its own bathroom though, which I liked.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

One of the best groups that we ever had!! This is an exmple of discipline and good chillin: we did had a blast with them!! Hope to see you guys again; and in behalf of In&Basic Team; our Hostel will be ever you second house!!! Ori/Elio and Paula XOXO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Traveled here with a team of 28 people and the hostel was extremely friendly and accommodating towards all of us. They helped organize fun trips for all of us and sent someone along with us to translate on the trip. Breakfast was included and was very satisfying and they had cheap and delicious dinners available if you did not want to leave the hostel. Overall this is a wonderful hostel and I recommend that you stay here if you are traveling in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

As we did said it before: The Michigan´s University Rugby Team ROCKS!!!! Thank you so much for such kind words to me and towards my team!! In behalf of Oriana and Elio: THANK YOU!!! and will be always a pleasure to have you guys in our home!! XOXO Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Paula and the volunteers working at In & Basic were wonderful, nice, and very accommodating. The breakfasts in the morning were always nice and they even provided dinner for our group of 27 when we arrived late at 3am. The common areas were nice and comfortable with plenty of seating and free wifi was a plus too. Most of the nightlife was within walking distance and traveling the streets at night never felt threatening. It was a great place to call home while we spent a week traveling Costa Rica and if I ever go back I will consider In & Basic first.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cooper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

In behalf of the IN&Basic Hostel team and Owner:THANK YOU Cooper for such amazing words and recommendation!! This will be your house if you ever think to come back to Costa Rica! All the best and a great hug!! XOXO Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

I'm a rugby coach and have spent many a nights in hostels with college teams on tour. In & Basic set a standard for hostel stays for us.

Clean rooms and facilities with a friendly staff made our stay easy and fun. Paula did a great job organizing activities for our large group and Ori and Ellió made sure to look after us. Location was good in relations to the sites and venues to see in San Jose.

10 stars in my eyes and thank you!

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Dear Coach: HURRAAA HURRAA!!! We are blessed with your amazing words described in this review! I must say that Im proud of my team as well of your boys!! This will be your house ever!!! In behalf of Ori and Elio: THANK YOU!!! XOXO Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews