We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
24
16
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
16
7
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. The decor is spectacular- lots of art in every area. The staff were delightful- extremely helpful in getting around town, suggestions on tours. Do know that it is a trek from the airport, but well worth it to be out of the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. Could take bus, taxi, or walk to the main areas. Do know the breakfast you can get eggs anyway you want them. I would and have suggested this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alwayslooking2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

The Milvia Hotel is lovely, centrally located in, San Pedro, a suburb of San Jose'. It is quiet and you enter through a peaceful meditation garden. The rooms are all named after famous people, the upper floor is an art gallery geared to contemporary Costa Rican art and the lobby is decorated with statues, paintings and furniture from the Asian travels of internationally famous artist Florencia Urbina. Florencia and her British husband are your hosts and they are really fun and charming. They have arranged tours and I loved the museum tour I took with Florencia who is an important person in the Costa Rican art scene. They serve a delicious breakfast of the traditional rice and beans dish, gallo pinto, eggs and toast; their coffee is fresh from the coffee plantation. It is family friendly and English is spoken. The hotel was converted from the home of Costa Rica's last Minister of Defense as they no longer have a military. It is a real Costa Rican experience.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

A friendly small hotel full of old world character. It's off the beaten track -about 3 miles from the centre of San Jose - so you need to taxi or bus it in. Basic, clean and comfortable and full of interesting artefacts. Good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Around two weeks ago my wife and I spent one night in Hotel Milvia. This place was a house that a prominent family used to own in the 1930's. It's very well kept, they have a mixture classic and more recent decoration. Everything takes you back in time, the walls, doors, windows, etc. The house still has the original flooring, which amazes me. We stay in Doña Isabel room, which was very nice, we also notice that the bathroom tiles were beautifully decorated and hand painted by Milvia. Excellent attention from Carolina and Steve. I also exchange few ideas about culture in general and my religious views with Steve and I gotta tell you this, if you like general culture, British history and a good customer service, you wanna talk to this guy. Nice place to stay, free Wi-Fi, free parking, good breakfast and lots of coffee! There are near by shopping malls and also fast food places.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aldo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Milvia while visiting my daughter. It is conveniently located and perfect walking distance from many places. The university is nearby which makes a great running track if you need to get in some exercise. The hotel itself is charming, comfortable and clean. The staff is all very welcoming and happy to help in any way with a smile to go with the great service. They work very hard and keep the place in great condition. Breakfast is yummy yet simple and eggs are cooked to order. Steve helped me out with a problem I had with another hotel! He went above and beyond to get some answers for me. I was grateful. I will definitely be making this my home away from home in the future. I intend to come back and make this my headquarter hotel for an extended stay. Thank you for a nice place to stay with friendly service.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank aklyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews