We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thin crust pizza”
Review of Il Padrino

Il Padrino
Ranked #38 of 745 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recognized among the best Italian restaurants in the world through the title OSPITALITA ITALIANA awarded by the Italian Chamber of Commerce.
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Ordered the Il Padrino special and the pizza exploded with flavor. Nice crust and fresh ingredients. The limeade with mint was very good too. Recommend

Thank MEXUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Gerente at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much for appreciating our work and suggesting the travelers to visit us! We hope to see you soon !!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

We felt like we were in Italy or New York. A restaurant to pop in and get great food. My husband had the risotto with sausage and mushrooms. He said it was worth the wait for the chef to prepare the dish. It was followed by an amazing chicken dish with an orange sauce. I had the pappardelli a la checci served with fresh mozzarella and the chicken parmigiana. This was the third restaurant in which I had this and it was the best traditional parmigiana of all. Luke was great, fun to joke with but extremely professional.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ricki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hy Ricky B

Thank you very much, what an excellent description!
We really spend very good moments during your visit, I hope to see you soon or that visit us every time you arrive in costa rica ,it would really be an honor to recommend new dishes with a special ingredient ... good mood !!!!!
On the part of all the Padrino's team a warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

What a cute, romantic place to dine! Hard to park, but they have a "guy" to help you, which is common in CR. You just tip him when you leave. The restaurant has a great Italian menu, with options for everyone! I had a individual pizza that was cooked perfect. My girl had ravioli that looked and tasted great! Portions were enough for most people and the bread was hot and fresh. Our server didn't speak English, but it didn't matter. Prices are expensive in C.R. for the most part. This meal for two was around $30. Pizza is just plain expensive there. I would eat here again for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greatbodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you very much, what an excellent description! Alagados of his compliments we can not wait to try another of our special recipes!
On the part of all the Padrino's team a warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

If you want a true Italian meal in Escazu definitely go to Il Padrino. We have been many times and the good is always astounding. The lasagna is fantastic. You can taste the deep flavor in the truly Italian food tomato sauce is simmered for hours carmelizing the sugars in the tomatoes creating a deep rich sauce used to create the lasagna. So good so rare to taste it made correctly.
The food is hsnd made, the pizza dough fantastic, the spaghetti bolongese fabulous with delicious hand made meatballs and sauce. If you want true Italian food you will not be disappointed. Not inexpensive but when you really need fabulous homemade real Italian or even a good pizza with great dough ( rare in CR) this is your place.
We go again and again, always delighted with the meal, the flavours, the fresh ingredients and home made food. Highly recommended,

Thank Dan4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you very much for appreciating our work and suggesting the travelers to visit us! We hope to see you soon !!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

My girlfriend and I were so glad to be there at Il padrino Restaurant.
The waitress was so kind with us and Luca the owner was the cook. He is a very good cook.
The pizza was tasty and the service excellent.
Please, stay like that always .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MauricioMora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Don Mauricio Mora, intentaremos mantener siempre nuestros estándares de calidad y servicio al cliente, mas bien mejorarlos , es nuestro reto diario.
Muchas gracias por apreciar nuestro desempeño.

Saludos Cordiales,

Luca Navarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Padrino also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Il Padrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing