We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good atmosphere”

La Posada de Las Brujas
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We ate several times at Las Brujas. It appears to be a local favorite, with mostly locals occupying the restaurant. It is an open-air restaurant. We had trouble finding it when we first walked there, as signage isn't the greatest (it was dark when we went looking for it). We wandered in the first time, and found an empty picnic table by the walkway from the kitchen and outdoor dining area. We discovered by watching that there are some plastic chairs where people would come and sit and wait to be seated. On the plus side, we really liked the relaxed open-air atmosphere, and we were always pleased with the reasonably priced food. On the so-so side, there was quite a bit of variability in the food we got (a chalupa meal on one night was different from a chalupa meal on the next night, although it might have been due to language differences, but it also could have been due to different cooks). But it was always good. Also, we had to wait quite a while to catch a waitresses eye the first night (we were at that picnic table), and she forgot to bring us our beers - my wife had to hunt her down and remind her. She was very sorry (and very busy) and then took care of us. We would highly recommend this restaurant for those seeking a relaxed, casual, authentic Costa Rican eatery.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 606wayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This is a great local place in San Jose. We were five adults out for dinner for the evening and wanted something filling and casual. The portions are huge here. We started with 1 Chifrijo as an appetizer. There was plenty!
Then we ordered the meat platter. We ordered for 3 persons and had leftovers! The meat platter comes with salad and these delicious potatoes with a lemon type sauce on top. The meat consists of steak, chicken,pork ribs and sausage. It’s allot of food so go hungry and I recommend sharing. Food is served family style or you can order individual dinners. They have a full bar.
This is a local place and very casual. It will help if you know a few words in Spanish. We were lucky to have someone in our group who spoke fluent Spanish.
The service is typical,nuthin fancy, they have a couple of large TVs if your into watching some sports. We love this place and we’ll go back. I think there might be a small outdoor eating area.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank jag8386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Expansive menu. Try several bocas. The crevice was great. As was the fajitas and nachos. Generous portions. Delicious!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MathPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Very popular local eatery in Escazu. Somewhat ramshackle older building. Very experienced staff, very quick to provide excellent service. Great local and some more exotic foods to choose from. All reasonably priced. highly recommend it!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank jimbW842BO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

I was brought here by a new friend, who suggested we go out to a Tico restaurant in Escazú. Relaxed atmosphere, busy, locals and expats. I had octopus and rice. Good food. Good service. Would recommend

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redbeachiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Posada de Las Brujas also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Posada de Las Brujas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing