We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ceviche, art, and relaxation in a beautiful setting”
Review of MadFish

MadFish
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Ditto to the rest of the reviews. MadFish is a foodies delight. Bonus: if you are a local art lover, it is attached to an art gallery. Plantain app is divine. Passionfruit drink delectable. Ceviche beyond on point. MadFish is a must if you are staying anywhere near San Jose.

1  Thank Ajdanhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-Owner at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi!!! Thank you very much for your review, it was great having you and your beautiful family as a guest in here too. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit as well. We hope you can visit us again some day... have a nice trip back home.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

I have been here twice. The first visit was for Conger Eel and it was amazing. Really light beer batter, crispy, fish perfectly cooked and the ambience is awesome. Went back today for lunch and had the Cocoviche. I have never, ever enjoyed something so much. Perfect acidity, texture, taste and presentation is amazing. The best part of it all was the hospitality from Teresa and her daughters and to top it all off......you get to eat the container the Ceviche was served in..... fresh coconut.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-Owner at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi Mark,

Thanks for taking the time and do a review with positive comments about us, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us... we enjoyed your visit as a guest as well. Hope your next visit to MadFish it's around the corner.

Best Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

I've learned to trust tripadvisor reviews and rarely have I been disappointed. The MadFish strong reviews are earned and deserved. Service was friendly with a great menu primer from the owner Teresa. Ceviche is the star of this menu and my Cocoviche proved to be a great choice. My brother-in-law ordered the beer battered fish and chips and raved about that dish calling it the best he'd ever had. He remembered the space as a coffee shop and has been noted in other reviews, is intimate and very comfortable. Teresa is an enthusiastic host and I hope MadFish is here for a very long time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for your visit... it was a pleasure for us to have you and your brother in law here. Thanks for taking your time to write a review about us.
Looking forward to have you guys back at MadFish.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Simply put: awesome. Classic ceviche and great variations of all sorts that will cater for anyone's taste. If you enjoy seafood - do yourself a favour and hit this place up ASAP.

1  Thank tharos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner. at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you so much for sharing you experience at MadFish; we are happy that you enjoyed your meal with us.
Looking forward to have you again as a guest in our restaurant.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This is the best ceviche in San Jose, hands down. Intimate, cute place, cool vibe, great staff, and the food is awesome! The flavors in the ceviche are unique and taste fantastic, and the prices are super reasonable compared to what you'll find in other restaurants for something that's honestly not as good. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ltgnarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner. at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal with us. Here at MadFish we are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with us... that's our main goal.
Looking forward to see again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MadFish also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to MadFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing