We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood I've ever had!”
Review of MadFish

MadFish
Restaurant details
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere! The ceviches are all amazing, as is the complimentary fish dip with plantain chips. The Madfish Sandwich and the Arroz con Camarón are both phenomenal as well!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-Owner. at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoy your meal with us. We had a great time having you as a guest as well.

Hope your next visit it's around the corner.

Best Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

If you are in Costa Rica and like ceviche and fresh seafood, a meal at Mad Fish is a must. Teresa, the owner, grows her own spices and is one fabulous chef. We ordered the coco and caribeno ceviche, as well as the pescado manzanillo. It was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. We will definitely be back again!

Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi Adrian!!
Thank you for your beautiful review... thanks for visiting us with your beautiful family.. it was a pleasure to us to have you guys as a guest here at MadFish.
Looking forward for you next visit. Take care.

Best Regards,

Teresa Moreno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is phenomenal! Absolutely recommended if you are going to San Jose.
At first I was skeptical reading the stellar reviews! Too good to be true !but I am so happy I chose this amazing restaurant.
Where can I start ! The place is super cute, loved the paintings on the wall. The complimentary fish dip with plantain chips very yummy. The Ceviche is out of this world ( unfortunately we only tried the one with coconut ) they have a huge variety.
We ordered a fish dish with patacones for main and it was so flavourful.
The portion size is great and the prices are very reasonable considering the amazing quality. The chef was very nice and service was good.
I hope that they'll keep the quality and prices when they get super famous ( which will be shortly as they deserve it)

Thank Sanazita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at MadFish... we appreciate your positive feedback about us... we are very pleased that you had a great time during your meal. We had a great time having you as a guest as well. Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Teresa Moreno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in San Jose probably in Costa Rica with excellent service. It's highly recommended if you visit San Jose

The Seafood plate starter has quite a few surprise tastes. Every bite brings delightful flavors.

the Ceviche was very extraordinary and service is very high quality and friendly very reasonable price and excellent dinning experience

Overall is outstanding - this unique experience, I recommend you to try - at least once in your life time.

.

Thank taha12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner. at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi Taha,

Thanks a lot for taking your time and do a review on us.... we really appreciate your support.

It's was a pleasure for us to have you as a guest here at MadFish.

Looking forward for your next visit.


Best Regards,

Teresa Moreno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I love the food, atmosphere, location and friendly staff and chef. I had the ceviche served in half a coconut; it was supple and delicious with the right amount of onions and avocado's, creamy, refreshing and satisfying. A nice touch with a festive garnish.
The fish and chips had a sharp presentation with neatly place chips in the shape of the sun - Two tasty dips accompanied the fish and chips.
I also had a yellow rice dish with shrimp and sliced plantain chips inserted into the rice with artfully designed spicy sauce along the border of the rice and shrimp. These dishes matched nicely with a cold beer on a warm day. The pricing was also very reasonable and I highly recommend this restaurant to folks of all ages.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Co-owner at MadFish, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi Peter,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience at MadFish by giving us a perfect rating.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We had a great time having you and your family here with us.

Hope your next visit it's around the corner.

Best Regards,

Teresa Moreno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MadFish also viewed

 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to MadFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing