We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Moorea ”

The Shell Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$141 - US$293
Description: A creative and elegant culinary experience The Shell restaurant welcomes you for dinner to a delicious and creative fine dining experience. Come and taste the subtle flavors of the best produces drawn from the land and the ocean, carefully prepared by our chef and his team. Enjoy the low-key ambiance of the restaurant and discover a new and revisited culinary harmony; a brand new sensory experience on the Sister Island.
Restaurant details
Description: A creative and elegant culinary experience The Shell restaurant welcomes you for dinner to a delicious and creative fine dining experience. Come and taste the subtle flavors of the best produces drawn from the land and the ocean, carefully prepared by our chef and his team. Enjoy the low-key ambiance of the restaurant and discover a new and revisited culinary harmony; a brand new sensory experience on the Sister Island.
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

It is worth visiting the intercontinental resort so you can have dinner here. The lobster entree is great and the entrecôte is cooked to perfection. The service is friendly and the wine list is adequate.

1  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H, Directeur général at The Shell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Bill,
Thanks for sharing your impressions following your diner at our Restaurant.
I am pleased to note that they are so positive and that your times with us were good ones.
We hope to welcome you back in our Resort in the future.
Best sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

you will never eat enough food to justify the price, get the omelette which is great and save yourself a few bucks.

1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H, Directeur général at The Shell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Michael,
We would like to thank you for to sharing your experience of the Breakfast.
We hope that you have taken back memories of your visit in French Polynesia.
Looking forward to welcome you one day;
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Made reservations for dinner as I was staying at this hotel and still battling jet lag. The restaurant serves breakfast buffet and converts to French fine dining at night. There are floor to crying glass doors that completely open to let in the ocean breeze.
I was not that hungry due to a large breakfast so opted to skip the appetizer. I ordered the scallops entree which was good but not great- 5 sea scallops with a light cream sauce, polenta and leeks. I did however indulge in desert and very glad I did. The soufflé with apple sorbet on diced pineapple was amazing. I usually don't like soufflé, however this is the best one I've ever had. A very light soufflé with more of a warm meringue consistency than cake. It is totally worth a try if you eat here. Bill came to about $90US for one entree, desert, Perrier and a mock-tail. Staff was very friendly and service was quick.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jamira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H, Directeur général at The Shell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Jamira,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you very much for your beautiful message.
I am happy to read that you liked our dessert, the views and the atmosphere of our restaurant.
Be assured your message will be passed to the whole team.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back one day in our Establishment.
Kind sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Our first evening on Moorea was capped off with dinner at our hotel, The Intercontinental. The whole fish special was enjoyed by our party of 4. The fish was presented and served at the table. The service was special and very personal.. It was our best dining experience of our 5 days at Moorea.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank br0bins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H, Directeur général at The Shell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you much for this beautiful comment.
It is great to read that you loved your experience at our restaurant and that you acknowledged the work of our teams, who always work with an attention to detail to exceed your expectations. Rest assured that I will pass your message at our equip.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful dinner at The Shell. The staff was attentive and courteous. Vincent the manager was so nice and made sure we had everything we needed for our special night. Thank you!

Thank cannonkristofferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H, Directeur général at The Shell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.
I am very happy to see that you have really enjoyed your dinner and I will pass your compliments will be passed to the whole team.
Vincent is indeed a very dedicated collaborator. I thank you on his behalf. Be sure that he will be aware of your message.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back one day in our Establishment.
Kind sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shell Restaurant also viewed

 
Haapiti, Moorea
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Maharepa, Moorea
 

Been to The Shell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing