We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute BLAST!!!”

Moorea Ocean Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Moorea private boat tours dedicated to observation and snorkeling with marine wildlife: whales, dolphins, sharks, stingrays, sea turtles... Join us to escape big commercial tours and experience unique and respectful encounters in optimal safety conditions. Our private tours are 4h to 8h and led by a marine biologist, specialist of turtles, sharks and marine mammals. Beverages are included and a full HD personalized video of your tour is provided thanks to a cameraman onboard. Join us for a private tour of a lifetime and swim with with humpback whales, rough-toothed dolphins, hawsbill turtles, blacktip shakrs and so many other animals. Five activities to choose: - Whale and dolphin Swim - Big Blue Discovery - Shark and Ray Swim - Reef Snorkeling - Flying underwater experience
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is hands down the best adventure tour that I've ever done. We booked a four-hour private excursion that included an incredible deep ocean snorkel, drift snorkel, deep ocean and lagoon shark snorkels, and underwater flying. Along the way we saw an abundance of sea life, including green and hawksbill sea turtles, spinner dolphins, many kinds of sea birds and fish, and black and white tip sharks.

Matthieu and Trevor are outstanding guides--very fun, enthusiastic, and adventurous. A huge bonus, Matthieu is a marine biologist and quite happy to share his knowledge. Matthieu is also, unsurprisingly, quite comfortable and skilled in the water, and a great guide in that regard as well, as he accompanied us each time we got in the ocean. After assessing my abilities, he encouraged me to do a little more advanced-level snorkeling, such as the deep ocean snorkel and the drift snorkel, and I am so incredibly glad that I did it! He was with me through all of it, provided clear instructions, and made me feel very safe. I saw and experienced so much more, thanks to Matthieu's encouragement.

It is also worth highlighting the fact that Trevor and Matthieu take wonderful footage throughout the trip. We were provided a really fantastic video a few days after the tour, as well as several great photographs. The video is high-quality and very well edited--I am so thankful for their time and effort, as we will certainly enjoy watching the video when we are thinking back on this fabulous adventure.

Thank you Matthieu and Trevor for the best day!!

Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu P, Gérant at Moorea Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Ia orana Maureen,

Thank you very much for your detailled review and all your kind words. We are so glad you joined and trusted us to make you discover the marine wildlife of Moorea island.
We wish you all the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"honeymoon tour"
in 4 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 17 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 5 reviews
"private tour"
in 15 reviews
"hd video"
in 3 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 5 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
"sea life"
in 5 reviews
"wild animals"
in 3 reviews
"personal attention"
in 3 reviews
"french polynesia"
in 5 reviews
"life changing experience"
in 2 reviews
"deep blue"
in 2 reviews
"fish"
in 6 reviews
"swimming with the sharks"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"great photos"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018

I will rename Butch (Mathieu) and Sundance (Ryan) for this review cuz these guys are wild and crazy and as likeable as Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. The wild tour starts with a free dive 2 miles out in deep blue waters. Loads of fish. Butch was very gentle with Sue getting her used to the water. Then on to the shark tour. Sundance got us close and Butch drops in with some bait fish and out come the black tips. All around us. One swam right at me and came within a foot of my mask before vearing off. Good thing I was in the water if you know what I mean. Then it was on to a drift dive outside the reef in 30 feet of water. Incredible fish life and coral. We spotted some surfers at an outside break that was just beautiful. Sundance is a surfer and we had to grab him before he jumped out of the boat to surf. We added some dolphins at the end to round out the tour. Butch and Sundance are without a doubt the best tour in all of Tahiti. I was here for 10 days and took 10 tours. There wasn't another tour even close. If you come to Tahit, do whatever it takes to meet up with these cowboys. 6 stars!!!!!

Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu P, Gérant at Moorea Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Mike,

Thank you so much for this incredible review. We had a vary good time in your company and were pleased to bring Sue to her first snorkeling (and an extreme one :-) )
We wish you all the best.

"Butch "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing day out with Trevor. Can’t recommend this company enough. Compared to boat trips it’s good value and the guys know the island and it’s marine life really well. Don’t hesitate if you’re thinking of booking these guys for a day/half-day trip. Although we never got to see the elusive ‘Parata’ one day we hope to return to.

Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu P, Gérant at Moorea Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Tom,

Thank you for your kind words. The Oceanic whitetip shark (parata) is quite hard to find on a frequent basis but fortunately we have so many species to meet all around Moorea island. We hope we will find one with you one day ! Thank you so much again for joining us and we wish you all the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Wow! I wish I could come up with a better word but all I can think of is WOW.
We finished our trip to the French Polynesia with Mo'orea and this tour and it was one of the highlights of our entire trip. We did many islands - the touristy ones like Bora Bora - as well as the remote Tuamotu Atolls and had many wonderful experiences along the way but this day really stands out for us. We originally booked a tour at the last minute (and I mean last minute - we rushed after getting off the ferry in Mo'orea and just walked onto a bus) but got off after seeing there were 50+ people on the boat and full of kids - we were really not looking for that kind of experience. We are SO happy we got off. Super last minute organization but Mathieu was so helpful and accommodating. They came to pick us up and the adventure began right away. Mathieu is so obviously passionate about the work he does and it just adds so much to the experience. Mathieu is a marine biologist and answered all of our (many, many) questions along the way, which was so interesting for us. In addition to an adventurous day we felt we learned so much about the local environment and it's incredible wildlife. We did the honeymoon tour and so it was just the 2 of us with the 2 of them and what a wonderful dynamic! Such a personal and special experience - something you can never get with the bigger tour operators. We felt like the entire island and it's surrounding ocean was ours alone to explore - and what better way to explore it?! We spent time respectfully sharing the water with sharks, fish (so many fish...), rays, dolphins, etc and Mathieu provided some teaching about each species and area of the ocean before and after we entered - helping us feel informed and safe every step of the way. It was truly the "up-close-and-personal" experience we were looking for and it really blew our expectations away. Our smiles were present the entire day spent on the zodiac and we still talk about and smile thinking about this experience. In addition, Mathieu and his team provide a video of the day/experience afterwards and it is a superb souvenir, one that we were able to watch over and over as well as share with our families and friends. We were so into the experience and just loving what we were seeing all around us that we didn't even notice the video camera, providing us a candid and truly epic souvenir to watch for years to come.
Thank you both so much for such a wonderful day and experience. We have done a lot of traveling and this day will go down in the books as one of our favorite. We love our video and are grateful that you shared your knowledge, expertise, time, and positive energy with us. What an epic way to end our trip in French Polynesia. We would highly, highly recommend Moorea Ocean Adventures to anyone and would definitely do it again! Worth every penny!

1  Thank mstosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu P, Gérant at Moorea Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Ia orana Marina, We're so glad François and you have enjoyed the tour with us ! Thank you so much for this detailled and incredible review. You were super enthusiastic and passionated guests and it was a pleasure to answer your questions and try to show you the best of the marine wildlife here in Moorea. Thank you so much for joining us guys !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Wow, wow, wow! Amazing trio with Matthieu and Trevor. They were so engaged and loved what they were doing and very knowledgable. We enjoyed it tremmendously and will come back again. All the waterlife we saw was amazing. Sharks, Stingrays and Dolphins - simply amazing.

Thanks so much for this experience!

Thank Morten_B_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu P, Gérant at Moorea Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you Morten :-) We were happy to welcome you onboard and share with you these underwater encounters ! We wish you all the best and we keep in touch in you want to come back for humpback whales ! Thank you again for joining us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorea Ocean Adventures also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Moorea Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing