We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A most wonderful opportunity”
Robinson's Cove Villas - Boutique property in Moorea Island in the stunning Opunohu bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robinson's Cove Villas - Boutique property in Moorea Island in the stunning Opunohu bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Robinson's Cove Villas - Boutique property in Moorea Island in the stunning Opunohu bay.
master bedroom
Opunohu bay, by the lagoon
Opunohu bay where we are located
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Moorea, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mary M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst place We ever stayed”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Old ,run down, and grotty . Huge disappointment on a once in a lifetime trip for myself and 3 adult children . Arrived at 10am and charged an extra 180 euro for early check in . Car provided for 378euro was an absolute death trap with high mileage of 100000kms+ and a non existent clutch. Locks on car didn't work at all and gear box worn out. Very dangerous to drive. We requested a Replacement car which was not much better . Cheap bedlinen and one cheap towel each .Villa was infested through out with mosquitos even down the beds. The electric bug swatter was needed every time we came back into the villa . We all had to go to pharmacy for steroid cream to treat bites as we got so many . The coal BBQ is the size of a plate, it was rusty and flooded. A disposable BBQ would of been better. once we saw the kitchen which was infested with ants we knew we would have to eat out every night at great expense . We checked into the inter continental just to escape the place and for 4 people was very expensive. This "villa" is back to nature hippy style and needs complete refurbishment. Sand and other material leaking steadily from one wall . The beds up stairs are so hard to get to they went unused ,there is a small fan but no AC and due to open roof an awful lot of geckos inside property. On expressing our disappointment I realised the agency was also the owner who insisted that money is spent on maintenance but there is no sign of it anywhere. Villa does boast great views of beautiful bay and great snorkelling right off villas private beach. Use of kayaks and snorkelling gear was a positive. There are 2 dogs on property who are friendly but they bring flies with them every time they come near, also dog poo on beach. Experienced one brief power cut. Wifi comes from managers house so does not stretch through villa. This villa given a Little bit of love and refurbishment could be lovely, but dead bugs on floor, old furnishings and poor layout bring it down significantly. Money be better spent on hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Sorry for your disappointment. We will try to answer to each of your comments in depth.
Our regular check-in time is 2pm, and check-out time is 9:30am, we indeed need more than 4 hours to clean and prepare the whole Villa. We charge an additional amount for early arrival and late departure, since this means we have to prepare the Villa the day before your arrival / of after your departure. Note this additional cost is much cheaper than in any surrounding hotel.
The car you got indeed had a faulty clutch, and as soon as you mentioned this, we arranged the next morning for an automatic 3 yo Ford for replacement which you got less than 24h later.
Linen was updated last year and is regularly renewed, most covers are imported from Bali and linen from France. We give a spare for each bed. Mosquitos can be a problem in Moorea especially after heavy showers. We did fumigate the property before you arrived and do so very regularly. Both bedrooms are equipped with AC and are therefore mosquito free.
The beds upstairs are regular sized beds located a in a mezzanine with a steep staircase and we always mention there is no AC there but a fan. In French Polynesia, whenever there is AC this is solely in bedrooms, but not in lounges or elsewhere since local house are too open for that.
Thanks for mentioning the maintenance. Last year we redid the whole deck in this Villa, repainted all walls, fixed new locks on all aluminum sliding doors, renewed water fixtures in both bathrooms, changed all cushions, cleaned and fixed all roofs, changed the electrical meter, repaired one faulty AC. There is no sand in the walls (!?) and therefore no leak. Walls and partitions are made of solid wood.
I am glad you enjoyed our beach, the snorkeling equipment, the double Kayaks and the stunning views in Opunohu bay, certainly a wonder of the world according to every traveler. The 2 dogs in our property are very friendly and the property manager living on site and acting as your personal concierge remove their poo every evening or morning.
Power cuts do happen at times in Moorea but rarely, they last about 4 hours, which is a great improvement compared to what they used to be before the new electrical plant was built in Moorea.
After battling with the Internet provider for 3 years we eventually got an 8Mb per second connection last January which is the fastest one can get in Moorea. However it is true that light devices such as tablets and Smart phones often have a very poor WiFi built-in connection system, and can experience difficulties to connect to our Wifi access point located 12 meter away unlike classic laptops (with better WiFi cards) which do not have this problem at all. This is why we are going to implement a specific 50-meter Ethernet cable and new WiFi access point right in this Villa next July, in order that all new tech devices will get a faultless connection. This is another point to add to our constant maintenance process.
The furniture is in teak and tropical wood and comes from Bali, it is maintained, varnished every year. Cushions are regularly renewed, which is normal and part of our wear and tear yearly budget.
As you rightly mention, staying for 4 people in our beach Villas is much cheaper than in the Intercontinental (and for a much more spacious place with its 150 square meters and large garden) where you would also get mosquitos after heavy showers, and a lot of geckos too. BTW, no one can get rid of geckos!
As you can see from these lines, Moorea is a remote tropical Island and does not benefit indeed from all up to date equipment and services, despite our constant efforts… but we don’t think this is why people come to our beautiful Island. And last, when going to French Polynesia, one must have an adventurous spirit, an aversion for cooky-cutter style houses you see everywhere, and an open mind to embrace the natural beauty of a lagoon lapping your feet only 6 meters away.
I hope you enjoyed our operation and management services, our on-site concierge’s advices and tips, as well as the leisure activities we propose all year round with local providers. We hope to see you again in Moorea Island and wish you the best.
The management, Robinson’s Cove Villas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFFREY K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most wonderful opportunity”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the house which was at the best location, with the best views, with kayaks and Alex who was friendly and attentive, and great snorkeling right in front of house plenty of places to relax and isolate yourself it turned out to be more than was represented.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for your review. Our beach Villas in Robinson's Cove in Moorea Island indeed have a lot of space to offer, especially for only 2 persons! Having the calm lagoon water right there is also an uncomparable treat. We hope to greet you again in our paradise! Denis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pitkadave
Vanderhoof, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just ok I guess”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Nicest things are the picture you see online, for the amount you pay to stay its a disappointment, the bugs are terrible, its old and rundown, wifi is poor, beach is not great, I have stayed in nicer places and paid less, I would not return or recommend this to a friend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Shame you did not seem to enjoy our place, the Opunohu bay is the most beautiful place in the whole Moorea Island, we hope you enjoyed a lagoon tour in our Kayaks. The WiFi we provide is the best you can get in Moorea with 8Mb/sec (faster than in Hotels), as to our houses they are entirely made of tropical wood with aluminum glasses all around, and we spend a lot of money every year to maintain, paint, and refurbish them all. French Polynesia is indeed not the place where you will find concrete houses with brand new electronics, but rather authenticity in the most beautiful surroundings. Best regards and hope to welcome you again. The management.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unicorn11...
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right on the beautiful blue clear water”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

20 minutes from grocery & restaurants nice drive beautiful island. Villa has full kitchen, nice deck 2 feet from the water. Nice villa needs a BBQ grill and mosquito netting. Has a nice outdoor shower but a breeding ground for mosquitoes. 5 of us stayed & I was the only one to get bites (a lot!!!!!!!!!)Alex is beyond great anything you need she is on site. You do need to bring converters for the outlets if you are from the states. There is a few there but you could use more. There is a TV, no local channels. DVD player but does not work for movies from the states. Washer dryer this is a plus. We stayed a week it was beautiful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your review. There is AC in this Deluxe Villa's bedrooms so that helps with mosquitoes... indeed some people are more sensitive than others, just like you said: 1 out of 5! So sorry it was you! We hope to see you again in a dryer season, rather than the humid season. Best, The management at Robinson's Cove Villas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urvashi_T...
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy intimate BeachFront Villa except Mosquitoes!”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we entered the private gated property at dusk, the view of the ocean, in front caused our jaws to drop. Alex The Manager was most graceful and took time showing us around, pointing out details, explaining nuances to make our stay most comfortable. I remember saying, this home is much nicer in person than on the internet, and it's true!
The only reason I gave 4 stars is because mosquitoes were a huge nuisance. As soon as we stepped outside on the patio they would be all over us. We could barely enjoy the patio since we were afraid the mosquitoes would be there. I understand that its in middle of woods and forests but I wish they would fumigate the exteriors as they do in big resorts.
We hired the car from Alberts Car Rental for two days out of three. They Pick and Drop you wherever you want. From the ferry terminal, we took the public transport. Its not the most luxurious transportation but for budget minded people, drops you right outside the villa if you let the driver know in advance.
One of my favorite parts of the home are the sliding glass doors that completely slide into each other opening the entire wall to the sea. Also, We stayed in Villa Wallis. Its very spacious for two people. There's an outdoor enclosed shower and AC in bedroom. AC is much needed anywhere you stay. They provide Kayak, snorkelling equipment, fins.
Kitchen has all basic supplies if you decide to cook. Groceries are a little further away. But if you walk half a km west, theres a lady who sells and cuts fruits- we had the most delicous mangoes.
We spent most of our time in/out of the ocean - kayaking, snorkeling. Snorkelling in lagoon is a fantastic experience Theres an added advantage of mountain view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thank your for your great review, shame you stayed for such a short time. Indeed in December (rainy season) mosquitoes can be a real pain. We do fumigate the exterior but this year this were particulary fierce!
Our beach Villa Wallis can contain up to 6 persons, and is right by the private beachfront (like all our Villas in fact). This wooden Villa was built in Bali, shipped by container in our grounds and rebuilt here in this breathtaking tsurrounding, but many amenities are from Tahiti of course. We hope to see you again. Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$464
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing