We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious mahimahi sandwich”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 15 Quick Bites in Rarotonga
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Friends took us there for lunch and suggested the mahimahi sandwhich. It was delicious, the fish was beautifully fresh, dressing lovely and the service was excellent, highly recommend

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,068 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

I wanted to go there for lunch ever day and the smoothies are to die for. I will miss my regular laughs with ladies. We even had someone pick up food to deliver to us whilst getting ready for my son's wedding. I wonder if they could deliver to my home address?

Date of visit: March 2013
Thank Saskia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In short... Ika Mata = WINNER, Sandwiches = WINNER!!! Our band Tomorrow People went there, and they made a special batch of Ika Mata especially for us! Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Raro.

Date of visit: March 2013
Thank Avina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We went to the Mooring for lunch on the recommendation of a friend and it was everything they said it would be ..
The cafe is built close to the water in a 40ft shipping container. They sell a range of fish sandwiches and a few other items for the non-fish eaters.
Service is great and the food is magnificent.
If you think you have had a fish sandwich before, think again.. Everything is so fresh and the range of locally caught fish and accompaniments is great ..
No visit to Raro would be complete without eating at The Morring ..

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

My friends went crazy for the crumbed mahi sandwich. I mean, they were quite big and some people ate 2!! I opted for the same fish on a salad and it was tasty to the last bite! The breading was unique and perfectly crunchy, very good dressing plus the fish tasted like it was caught just an hour earlier. I thought it would be nicer at a place on the beach, but I really dont think we could have found fresher ingredients anywhere else and to be honest, the whole island is beautiful so it would be hard to find an "average" atmosphere. If you see it, stop. It's really worth that sandwich ( I think it was called FOB maybe, something like that)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jadynleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.