We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in AK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 10 Girdwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Carriage House B&B is a very nice, relaxing, comfortable spot. VERY accommodating, friendly hosts, outstanding breakfasts. Alyeska Ski Resort a little hike away on very good paths. Jack Sprat restaurant wonderful. Free shuttle around town. Short walk through the woods from B&B takes you right into the little town of Girdwood. But do be aware of bears.
Northern Exposure Shuttle Service out of Anchorage very dependable and affordable. Very accommodating driver very knowledgeable about the area.
Wedding in the great outdoors by a babbling brook and glacial lake a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms, all downstairs, small, but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackkreuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed in the Wagon Room which has a king bed (2 twins really, so a little shorter than a real king.) The room was very comfortable, but small. Only 4 steps from the bed to the toilet. Breakfast was quite a spread with fresh lovely food and lots of variety. We spent 2 nights and had to leave at 7 am the morning we left. Rachel went above and beyond the call of duty, getting up early to make ham and egg breakfast sandwiches and fruit for us to eat on the way to the airport. It's a lovely home in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendalyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you for your kind words, breakfast is a very important meal, not to be missed! =). Our rooms are not large, but ample and provide all the amenities one might want, along with a private en-suite bath. The king bed is 2 twins put together, with a mattress cover, and is a standard size king. All the guest room beds are top quality Sealy Posturepedic mattresses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The location is so convenient, the setting in the woods is wonderful, the home is beyond gorgeous, and easily among the best breakfasts we've ever had at a B&B. And easily accommodated our gluten free needs. There were huge binders full of local restaurant menus and things to do so it made our planning that much easier. Don't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you, mother nature has provided a gorgeous backdrop and Girdwood is one of the most scenic areas of Alaska, which is one main reason we choose to live here! Your host Jake Thompson has a lifetime of carpentry skills that he has put into this Timber-frame Lodge using Alaskan wood. We have operated the Carriage House for 16 years, accumulating information to share both verbally and through the books of information we put together for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Rachel took great care if us, clean comfortable rooms with an awesome breakfast and beautiful view. We would highly recommend this stop! The community is very interesting with lots of great choices for food and drink.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Glad to hear you found things comfortable! We strive to offer the best "bed" and "breakfast" for our guests comfort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Our favorite place to stay in Alaska! The area is beautiful, the chalet we stayed in was so nice yet had an upscale cabin feel. The cabin was impeccably clean. The sheets were so comfortable. Rachel, the owner was so kind and helpful. There was a great tv for watching the Olympics in the evening. The family enjoyed the hot tub outside and the view. The kitchen in the chalet allowed us to pick up some ham and cheddar croissants at a bakery near by and heat them for breakfast. Our family of 8 stayed in 2 units and everyone wanted to stay longer but unfortunately we had reservations at other places in Seward that we couldn't change. Nearby is Great hiking at Alyeska ski resort, the Alaska Wildlife refuge and Chugach Adventures train and raft trip to Spencer glacier and on the Placer River--our 18 month old did this trip. The Double Musky restaurant is across the street--yum-moh! You will love Carraige House, we would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 941debb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

WOW...so happy to hear we were your favorite! =) The Chalet units, there are 3, are newly built by your host Jake Thompson, with a craftsman style. These are actually renovations from the original barn that the Carriage horses lived in...what a transformation!...not that the horses didn't have it good =)
Girdwood has an endless array of outdoor activities and is close to many more on the Kenai Peninsula, so plan several days to experience all this scenic, historic and adventurous town has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
0.3 km away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
28 reviews
31.7 km away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
315 reviews
1.8 km away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,127 reviews
36.0 km away
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 126 in Anchorage
10 reviews
36.8 km away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#14 of 126 in Anchorage
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages

Address: 388 Crow Creek Road, P.O. Box 355, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Girdwood
Price Range: RM412 - RM618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House B&B/Suite is a beautiful newly built timberframe home nestled in the forest along California Creek on the edge of the Chugach National Forest. This cozy Inn features a massive hand hewn post and beam stucture, river rock fireplace, radiant heated hardwood floors and huge arched windows revealing Alaska's unsurpassed beauty....all where a warm homemade breakfast is waiting just for you!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages Girdwood, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing