We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Inn(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
US$233
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$335
US$304
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
124
20
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
20
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble muskyserved upstairsdirectly across the streetfriendly hostsbreakfast was deliciousalaskan wildlifefantastic staycomfortable bedfamily roomstayed longerrefrigerator and microwavekitchen areaour night stayenjoyed our stayprivate bathdefinitely stay here againturnagain arm
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed in the Wagon Room which has a king bed (2 twins really, so a little shorter than a real king.) The room was very comfortable, but small. Only 4 steps from the bed to the toilet. Breakfast was quite a spread with fresh lovely food and lots of variety. We spent 2 nights and had to leave at 7 am the morning we left. Rachel went above and beyond the call of duty, getting up early to make ham and egg breakfast sandwiches and fruit for us to eat on the way to the airport. It's a lovely home in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendalyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you for your kind words, breakfast is a very important meal, not to be missed! =). Our rooms are not large, but ample and provide all the amenities one might want, along with a private en-suite bath. The king bed is 2 twins put together, with a mattress cover, and is a standard size king. All the guest room beds are top quality Sealy Posturepedic mattresses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The location is so convenient, the setting in the woods is wonderful, the home is beyond gorgeous, and easily among the best breakfasts we've ever had at a B&B. And easily accommodated our gluten free needs. There were huge binders full of local restaurant menus and things to do so it made our planning that much easier. Don't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you, mother nature has provided a gorgeous backdrop and Girdwood is one of the most scenic areas of Alaska, which is one main reason we choose to live here! Your host Jake Thompson has a lifetime of carpentry skills that he has put into this Timber-frame Lodge using Alaskan wood. We have operated the Carriage House for 16 years, accumulating information to share both verbally and through the books of information we put together for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Rachel took great care if us, clean comfortable rooms with an awesome breakfast and beautiful view. We would highly recommend this stop! The community is very interesting with lots of great choices for food and drink.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Glad to hear you found things comfortable! We strive to offer the best "bed" and "breakfast" for our guests comfort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Our favorite place to stay in Alaska! The area is beautiful, the chalet we stayed in was so nice yet had an upscale cabin feel. The cabin was impeccably clean. The sheets were so comfortable. Rachel, the owner was so kind and helpful. There was a great tv for watching the Olympics in the evening. The family enjoyed the hot tub outside and the view. The kitchen in the chalet allowed us to pick up some ham and cheddar croissants at a bakery near by and heat them for breakfast. Our family of 8 stayed in 2 units and everyone wanted to stay longer but unfortunately we had reservations at other places in Seward that we couldn't change. Nearby is Great hiking at Alyeska ski resort, the Alaska Wildlife refuge and Chugach Adventures train and raft trip to Spencer glacier and on the Placer River--our 18 month old did this trip. The Double Musky restaurant is across the street--yum-moh! You will love Carraige House, we would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 941debb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

WOW...so happy to hear we were your favorite! =) The Chalet units, there are 3, are newly built by your host Jake Thompson, with a craftsman style. These are actually renovations from the original barn that the Carriage horses lived in...what a transformation!...not that the horses didn't have it good =)
Girdwood has an endless array of outdoor activities and is close to many more on the Kenai Peninsula, so plan several days to experience all this scenic, historic and adventurous town has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed in the Hayloft and it was great!!! It was a one bedroom apartment with a sleeper sofa....full kitchen amenities and very clean!!! Wifi network available and it worked great. Felt like you were in the country. Definetly would stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank You! The Hayloft is quietly set on 2 acres, and is one of 3 private units available at Carriage House Accommodations, along with 4 B&B guestrooms. The property is located along California Creek with views of the surrounding mountains and glaciers, but close to the town square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews