We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasilof
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters
Ranked #2 of 5 Kasilof B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Everything you see on their website is true. This lodge was beautiful and very clean. Anything you needed they had available for you.
The food was delicious and plentiful. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly and worked hard for you to catch fish. We caught our limited on a beautiful day on the Kasilof River. The guides were experts at rowing down the river avoiding boulders. We were only there for 3 nights after our cruise, and would love to bring our children back for a family vacation with more fishing.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

We were glad you were able to add us to your cruise. Do come back and bring the children. Our guides are great! They work hard and appreciate you kind comments.
Everyone is remarking on how clean the lodge is and how great it looks, we owe all of that to the great staff.
Thank you for visiting us, we miss you already.

Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

Wow, what a great destination. If you are the sportsman looking to bag some of Alaska's salmon this is the place for you. Dorthy ask for your plans and makes all the accommodation so you don't have to do the search. She has multiple river boats with great guides like Brian. If your wanting some halibut you can get out on the salt with Aaron. They have two or three saltwater boats now.
You won't leave disappointed, if there are fish in the water her guides know where they are and how to set you up to land them. I'll be there the week of July 2nd '17 and can't wait to get back. It's been too long since I've been, and im getting fishin' fever.
Of course I can't wait to see all the staff and Dorthy especially.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandwkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! You mentioned our great guides - we only hire experienced guides who have fished here and know these waters and it's great to know our guests appreciate them! We are excited to see you again this summer; we enjoy seeing all of our Crooked Creek Retreat family when you return year after year.

-Dorothy, Owner/Outfitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My husband won a free trip to this fishing resort in Alaska. I went along and had the best time ever - it was worth paying for me to go. And we'd go again. The lodge was beautiful, our room (the duck room) had the best view in the place of Crooked Creek. The bed was so comfortable, the sheets were high quality. It was quiet and relaxing. The guides were friendly and professional. And we caught fish. Dorothy, the owner was a kick. Oh and the meals were wonderful. Appetizers each night and a great meal then dessert. The guides - Larry, Terry and Jason were fun too. I'm bad with names but the cook and the server were so sweet and friendly. They made us lunch each day with a sandwich, dessert, and chips or snack, oh and chocolates! I'm not a fisher woman by any means, but I caught more keepers than my husband! An 85# halibut. Each night at dinner Dorothy talks to you about what you will be doing the next day. She sets up everything for you - so if you want to be on a river or on the ocean, or in a plane - she makes all the reservations for you. The resort has all the rain suits, waders, boots, fishing gear, etc. you will need. The guides clean your fish, package and flash freeze it, and then package it for travel or shipping. I recommend going fishing with your husband and staying at Crooked Creek Retreat, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you for the great review, we loved having you both with us and especially enjoyed your excitement on becoming a true fisher-woman! We are still talking about you guys and what a pleasure it was to have you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about the staff here at Crooked Creek! Dorothy runs a top notch retreat and her staff is fantastic. From the moment we were picked up at the airport in Kenai we were completely taken care of. From transportation to meals to fishing excursions, all were thoroughly planned out. Accommodations were comfortable and inviting. The lodge was a perfect place to relax after catching our limits of fish and mingling with the other guests to share stories and pictures of the day. Dinner is served each evening at 5:30, don't be late! When the bell rings you are in for a treat. You will experience some of the best home cooked meals ever! Breakfast, lunch and dinner, all taken care of with the utmost of care. Our sole purpose other than spending time with family was to fish and the guides more than satisfied our every want and need. From preparing the boats and gear each morning to getting us to the best locations to fish, it's all included. Hooking a 30lb King and having it snap the line while flossing for sockeye was exciting but the fact that our guide had another rod in my hand quicker than I could even think about the one that got away! Each day with each guide we experienced similar situations. Hats off to our guides Terry, Jason, Larry and Aaron and to all of the staff that made our trip one of the most enjoyable and memorable trips of a lifetime. We look forward to planning another trip to Crooked Creek with our new found friends and would recommend them to anyone interested in experiencing the best that the Kenai Peninsula has to offer!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Crooked Creek Retreat is a stunningly beautiful property that overlooks the most peaceful creek. We enjoyed evenings by the fire pit getting to know some of the other guests. Staying here is like staying in someone's very nice home, though there is plenty of personal space. The rooms are large & there is a nice, fluffy robe in your closet.

The kitchen staff is friendly & the meals are delicious & varied. If you have any dietary needs/restrictions, let them know in advance since the meals appear to already be planned once you arrive. Perhaps CCR could add a printed menu for everyone to view upon arrival. Keep in mind that if you aren't fishing, the timing of the meals is based on everyone's fishing days so breakfast, for example, may be super-early, like 6:00 a.m. There is a separate kitchen (fridge, toaster, etc.) that you can use at anytime though. Your plans for the day are discussed during dinner on your first night (and your 2nd, etc. if it is someone else's 1st night). This is really more of a speech than a discussion so I would suggest that CCR change this as it doesn't allow for any sort of interaction, thus leaving the meals rather boring and somewhat awkward.

The fishing guides are highly-skilled & provide top notch service. They handle everything you need an even give direction if needed/desired. They will clean the fish, vacuum seal it & freeze it for you but you have to get it home. I would suggest that CCR add this back in as a service.

My final suggestion for CCR is to add an onsite concierge. It would be nice to have someone that is solely focused on customer service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at CCR & would recommend it. We travel quite a bit so some suggestions are simply an effort to hone in on the details and up the level of customer service.

Room Tip: Quiet & peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JaimeInAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasilof hotels
2.3 km away
Gallery Lodge
Gallery Lodge
#3 of 5 in Kasilof
28 reviews
8.8 km away
Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast
5.9 km away
Kenai Bed & Breakfast
Kenai Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 5 in Kasilof
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters

Address: 59325 Sterling Hwy, PO Box 1190, Kasilof, AK 99610-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kasilof
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kasilof
Price Range: RM613 - RM1,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fishing lodge is full service, from your room to your fishing experience, we are a complete outfitter. We have earned a Cabela's Outdoor Adventure Lodge and Sportsman's News Platinum Outfitter designation. The lodge is on Crooked Creek far away from the other lodges in town, yet conveniently located for Salt Water and River fishing. King Salmon spawn in the creek and you can fish it after July 31st for trout, Silvers and in the late fall for Steelhead or you can watch Eagles catch Steelhead and trow them up on the bank. Service is our goal. Our staff guest ratio is 1 to 2. Everything is designed to make your Alaska trip one you will remember. During fishing season we offer all inclusive packages, 6 or 5 nights, with fishing adventures everyday, all meals, all fully guided trips, all gear, fish processing, fishing licenses and king stamps, short boots, hip boots, and rain gear. We have our own boats, we have only the best guides, all are fully licensed and ready to take you out on the Kasilof, Kenai, Ninlchik, Deep Creek, the Anchor and local lakes for Salmon, Trout. Steelhead, Arctic Char and Grayling. Your fishing trips include a Halibut trip on the Cook Inlet, a Fly Out across the Cook Inlet to the Alaska Peninsula, plus you will enjoy drift boat fishing on the Kasilof, power boats on the Kenai, or walk in for some great trout and Steelhead fishing. We also provide adventure packages that offer fjord cruises, kayaks, bear viewing that can be combined with fishing adventures. Guests enjoy meals with other guests and guides, hanging out at the fire pit, swinging in hammocks, relaxing in the hot tub, sight seeing, or watching wildlife from the decks. All rooms have private baths, spa robes, first class linens, and are fully appointed. You have available 24/7 cold beverages on the kitchen deck and in the breakfast loft there are snacks, coffee, teas, hot chocolate, and juice in the fridge. If you would like your fish cooked for you just ask, we will put it on the grill for an afternoon snack, or for dinner. All guests meet with the chef to discus and food preferences. The chef makes all of our bread, pastries, and all of our lunch meats are cooked in house, you will have options for fresh salmon, Halibut, and other Alaska seafood, as well as Prime Rib some great barbecue, and of course hot breakfast every morning. Of course you have available throughout the lodge Wifi, the great room has Sat TV, two of the rooms have kitchens and TV. There is always the Library loft for some great views or quiet relaxing with a book. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing