We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$201
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenai Airport Hotel(Kenai)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Extended Stay Suites(Kenai)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Uptown Motel(Kenai)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
155
18
8
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
18
8
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain tombig ironhalibutking salmonjimmy jacksockeyethe riverfishing tripsilver salmonbig jimtop notchcombo tripcatching fishmy sonsea lionsgreat folksan absolute blast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Be very careful when booking a trip with Jimmie Jacks. We booked a trip with them requesting halibut/rockfish full day trip.we specifically asked to not fish for salmon because we live by the great lakes and salmon fish often.when you pat $600 per person we wanted to fish for something different. Well when we got to th w boat the captain stated we would be spending 1/2 the day salmon fishing. I tried talking to him twice stating this was wrong and seriously did not even respond to what I was saying. To top it off we had 5 people in the boat and he would troll with 2 lines. Everybody had a different color wrist band so we all had to take turns reeling in the fish. This went on for 4 hours. We were beyond frustrated. Finally we got to go halibut fishing but only caught small ones. The largest was about 32 ". Seas were flat 1-2 waves. Captain said water was too rough yo go out further. We think he just wanted to save fuel. When we got back I called and emailed stating our frustration. They admitted they made a mistake and said they would get back to us twice.As expected they never did. It's my opinion they just wanted to fill the boat and take our money. Between the captain and Jimmie Jacks office I would NEVER recommend them to anyone. We were very specific with our request and got taken advantage of.
Andy (Wisconsin)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJimmieJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you to this guest for their review of the way their charter went out of Homer. My office staff and I have had many conversations about what went wrong on this trip. We are always dedicated to improve and learn from mistakes. I have spoken to my Captain about this trip, and the weather far out was not good. This is where there are bigger halibut and rockfish. So he chose to double up on salmon and halibut closer in. We always let our Captains call the shots for safety reasons. In this case, our Captain should have had more of a conversation and communicated more about the reason he was fishing the way he was fishing. He will be sure to communicate better in the future. I know that our office called and spoke to this guest twice, and I called and spoke with this guest as well. We did follow up on this issue to understand what went wrong. There was an obvious lack of communication from our office at the time of booking because we do not book halibut/rockfish charters out of Homer. We fish for halibut and salmon as a combo. When there are other species that we can target like rockfish out further, we do catch those as well as a bonus. We apologize to this guest that their trip was not as they expected. As always, we at Jimmie Jack Fishing will continue to improve and do our very best to serve our guests as we have for 23 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Although the fishing guides were great, it’s hard to believe how bad the accommodations are. Our room was cramped (no tv) and the smoke alarm went off when we took a shower. The Internet shuts off around 8 PM and when we complained we were told it’s an Alaska thing, although we had no problem getting decent Internet access at other places.

You are not allowed to wear shoes in the building, and you are not allowed to cook fish. This might be a great place for a bunch of middle-aged man traveling alone, but for a family, we would not recommend it.

We noticed that they took walk on’s on the fishing trips, so next time we will stay at a decent hotel and just purchase the fishing trip. Good luck.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJimmieJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We always like to hear where we can improve. I am glad to see that this guest considers our fishing guides to be great! Thank you for this compliment. They always do their best and love to hear that their efforts are noticed. This room that the guest stayed in is our smallest room, and it functions great with the private bath, however, in this case we should have offered you a larger room if available. I am not sure why the smoke alarm was going off, but we will look into that issue. It will be remedied immediately. We apologize for the internet, but this is considered rural Alaska, and the maximum internet speed that we get at this time is 3mb. In Alaska, we have a custom that we do not where shoes inside. This keeps the great outdoors and mud from coming inside, and everything stays clean. We do recommend that guests bring house shoes for comfort. We do have many families that have stayed with us over the years, and seem to enjoy the ability to have a stocked kitchen, and campfire time. We appreciate the honest review. Here at Jimmie Jack Fishing, you can be assured that we will always improve and strive for excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

From the stay at McKinley Suite, Breakfast, and lunch on the boat with Catdaddy, we couldn't have asked for a better trip! And then the "Legend" Jimmy Jack met us with a campfire when we landed with 10 big bright Silver Salmon, don't get any better than that! Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Family of 5 in big roomy McKinley Suite! 2 bunks and Queen size bed full kitchen and double sinks!!!!
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank billyjamesent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJimmieJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi billyjamesent, we are so grateful for your feedback. Thanks for coming back every year. We want every single customer that walks through our doors to experience the same level of service. Your review makes a difference to us and it is incredibly helpful as a way to introduce others to what we do here. Looking forward to your next visit! Where the JJF hoodies with pride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

First class experience from the rural beach setting and the hospitality of the house "momma" to the great fishing guides who worked hard to make sure your day on the water was safe and enjoyable.
First time fresh water for salmon on the rivers and enjoyed the scenery and fishing just as much as the saltwater fishing that I love to do back home in Maryland.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tunaloon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJimmieJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is great to know that our guides and our lodge manager took excellent care of you. Please visit us again! It will be our pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Wonderful way to experience fishing in Alaska for the first time! Staff was warm and welcoming. Guides were knowledgeable, fun and professional! Would stay and fish with the Jimmie Jacks outfit again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hornmil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJimmieJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for telling us more about your experience with us. We always love sharing Alaska with first timers. Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let us know how we are doing. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Please come back and fish with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews