We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and exceptional service”
Review of Orca Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orca Lodge
Reviewed 25 July 2017

8 of us spent 4 days at Orca in two cabins. We had such a great time. Our hosts were more than accommodating and always made sure we were happy and organized.
The cabins are very nice. They can get a little tight. We had 4 of us and you tend to trip over each other. Very tough to find space for bags and suitcases as well. That said, you don't spend a ton of time indoors. If you aren't fishing, you are out to eat, or grilling fish, or eating the wonderful dinners prepared by the hosts each night! Located right on the river was a huge bonus. Grab a pre-rigged pole, put on some waders and you're in the water in minutes.
Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RREC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Orca Lodge is in a great location convenient to both the highway and the Kenai River, yet has a secluded feel. The cabins are literally on the banks of the River and well designed, super clean and it is easy to tell they have been well taken care of. It was just my wife and I but our cabin had a double bed, single bed and two more beds in a cool loft. We have been coming to Alaska for years and wish we had discovered this facility when our three kids were still at home; they would have loved the setup. Due to a traffic accident by Anchorage we didn't arrive until 9 pm well after our intended time. Jennifer, the host, was still available and in addition to showing us our cabin, showed us around the property which included a fire in a fire pit, bar bq, coolers, fish cleaning station, fishing equipment if needed, and stairs down the river where one could fish if one chose to do so. The landscaping showed a lot of care that many places don't do. We were very impressed and had a great time there.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The staff at Orca lodge were amazing. Cabin was perfect for 3 couples to stay in. Lodge had fishing equipment for all of us to use or to borrow and take to the near by lake for the day. Staff John and Jennifer, cooked us an amazing dinner one night! Thank you for making our vacation to Alaska so perfect!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Just finished a week long stay at Orca lodge with my oldest son and what can I say, it was amazing. John and Jennifer the managers were the most amazing hosts. Every night they had a gathering around a small fire and all the guests would come. They cooked salmon and halibut in ways we never heard of before... salmon bacon anyone? The cabins were clean, warm and inviting. The beds were very comfortable. The views were incredible. We had so many belly busting laughs as we sat with other guests having cold beverages around the fire telling stories. Would I ever go back there? In a New York minute! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I took my 12-year-old son and 75-year-old father to Orca Lodge as a basecamp for a week of fishing and site seeing. I don't think we could have picked a better property for our excursion. Jen and John, the property managers, are two of the most authentically nice people I have ever met--we all clicked with them immediately.The cabins were clean, comfortable and well-equipped with everything you need for a housekeeping cabin. All the fishing gear is included and available as needed. jen was extremely helpful with last minute excursions. A little secret: Jen and John put nibbles every night--often locally caught fish cooked local style, which was a very thoughtful (and tastey) treat.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_and_Demetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soldotna hotels
0.3 km away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
142 reviews
1 km away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
0.8 km away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
1.7 km away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
10.2 km away
St Theresas Lakeside Resort
St Theresas Lakeside Resort
#25 of 44 in Soldotna
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Lodge

Address: 44240 Oehler Rd, Soldotna, AK 99669-8217
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orca Lodge is a world class fishing/adventure lodge on the banks of the famous Kenai River. Orca Lodge is your gateway to the Alaska that you came to see. We offer vacation packages that include fresh and saltwater guided fishing, river rafting, Kenai Fjords tours, horseback riding, bear viewing, floatplane fishing and sightseeing and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing