We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour is 5pm-7pm With Two for One Bintang’s and 1/2 off Island Chicken Wings”
Review of TUSU

TUSU
Ranked #122 of 307 Restaurants in Canggu
Description: A Caribbean fusion eatery and cocktail bar in a lounge setting with a emphasis on sharing plates. Our two story establishment provides a variety of indoor and outdoor seating suitable for a variety of occasions; from a romantic dinner for two to an outing with a group of friends. We are open every day from lunch until late and provide a late night menu as well. Sundays are highlighted by our special brunch menu in a vibrant setting.
Restaurant details
Description: A Caribbean fusion eatery and cocktail bar in a lounge setting with a emphasis on sharing plates. Our two story establishment provides a variety of indoor and outdoor seating suitable for a variety of occasions; from a romantic dinner for two to an outing with a group of friends. We are open every day from lunch until late and provide a late night menu as well. Sundays are highlighted by our special brunch menu in a vibrant setting.
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Step inside this stunning creation from the people who brought you Seminyak’s hottest club, La Favela. The books on the wall are for looking, not reading (like you read books anyway). This Canggu spot is destined to become a classic with the hottie model and sexy surfer bro crowd (just check out their Instagram if you don’t believe me - TusuBali). Grab some chicken wings, take a seat on one of the vintage leather couches under the crystal chandlers and snap some shots for your own Instagram account before the hipsters beat you to it.

Thank dtlajosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We went there to meet up with our friends. The first impression of the restaurant was a well decorated restaurant. We knew that the owner spend a lot on the decoration.

We ordered margaritha pizza, chicken wings, iced cappucinno, grilled chicken with sauteed spinach (i'm sorry if there's a mistake on the name of the foods).

The pizza was so-so. We liked the texture, but we thought they should add more cheese and tomato sauce. The chicken wings had fishy smell.... And somehow it looked like a little bit undercooked. The grilled chicken also not salty enough. Our cappuccino taste quite good though.

However, the service was good. The restaurant looked clean. But the signage of the place was too small.

Considering the price that we had paid, we think we'll think twice if we want to go back to Tusu again since we are not satisfied enough with the foods...

1  Thank ShantyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUSUBALI, Owner at TUSU, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Hi ShantyJP,

Thank you for reviewing our establishment. Good to know that you enjoyed the decor. However we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food. We have noted your concerns and will work on improvements. However with regards to the chicken wings that smell you are referring to is probably the caribbean jerk sauce that most aren't used to tasting.

As for the signage we aim to make our place as homey as possible so decided to keep it more low key :)

Once again we are continuously working on improving ourselves and do hope you give our place another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

The place incredible outstanding among the others...the dessert is so delicious...the coffee was thick n creamy...nice place for layback and enjoying your time...

Definitely will come back with my family for dine there...hopefully the waitress will more friendly..

Thank Erlisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUSUBALI, Owner at TUSU, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Hello Erlisa,

Thank you for your review of our establishment! Happy to hear that you had a good time. Hope you come visit us again and we will make sure our waitress is having a better day next time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

This is a lovely looking place. The owner has spent a lot of money decorating this place and has generated a fantastic ambience based around leather sofas, baroque antiquity, recycled dark stained wood and interesting items and books on the shelves. Great mirrors also on the ceiling !

But for a restaurant, it is the food that is most important. The menu is extremely limited, apart from the shared plates. There are only two mains - steak and chicken. The shared plates offer hope of great things to come, but in reality, the flavours arent there, and apart from the salady items (which are cheap to make) there simply isnt enough to eat.

We ordered the pumpkin soup (lovely), the fish platter (scrawny calamari fritti with two small fried prawns and a mayonaisse dip), the veggie platter (a nice selection of salady veggie bites with feta and fried haloumy bites - tasty but doesnt fill the gut), the beef carpaccio (thinly sliced beef with shaved parmesan and greens - little of it) and the tuna tataki (raw tuna with a soy dip crunchy coating and a few edamame sprinkled around.) Apart from the veggies, there wasnt much flavour. And we were hungry when we arrived, and just as hungry when we left. Genre - we asked what style of food, and were told Caribbean. They have a couple of Jerk items on the menu, but overall, this is dominated by what I would calle fusion tapas - what we ate was not in the least Caribbena in style or flavour. Drinks - we had 1 house red of ok-ish Luis Felipe Ed Merlot (average wine at 90K IDR a glass), 1 mojito (small) and a sparkling water (Aqua). Total price - 690K.

Overall? Great design, lovely looking bar, but left 700K IDR lighter and just as hungry as when we arrived, with only 2 alcoholic drinks. I should say that this place also has a nice looking outside seating area, but it is facing directly onto a T-junction that gets congested at times, and there is zero parking for cars, and limited for motorbikes. I want to try this palce for drinks, but I wont come here for a meal because I need to eat. As my pal said to the waitress when we paid the bill - that was nice, but when do we get to eat?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ricky_indo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUSUBALI, Owner at TUSU, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor. We have just recently opened two weeks ago and as of now our menu is limited but will continue to grow in the coming weeks. We would also like to clarify that we are indeed a Caribbean fusion eatery with a emphasis on sharing plates (tapas). The Haitian plantains, rice and beans, empanadas and jerk sauces are all inspired from our home country Haiti. The whole concept was to provide a place where everyone can share some bites in a lounge setting. But do look out for new menu additions in the coming weeks with additional "main dishes". Once again thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank luna2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TUSU also viewed

Canggu, North Kuta
 
Canggu, North Kuta
 

Been to TUSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing