We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribou Lodge Alaska
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We stayed for three nights at the Caribou Lodge at the beginning of August 2017. Our stay was unforgettable. We had a perfect host who showed us around and gave us awnsers to all our questions around the nature and wildlife. The very good cooking rounded your stay off. For us it was a perfect start into our Alaska trip.
We highly recommend a visit at the Caribou Lodge.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Reisen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac B, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

We are so glad to have met you. It was a pleasure having you folks here and we wish you could have stayed longer.....the weather got better soon after you left so we felt bad that you had to hike in the rain. Best regards, and come back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of six spent two nights at Caribou Lodge. It was a very relaxing and refreshing time for our family. The facility was clean and well taken care of. The hosts were very accommodating and flexible to what our family's need were. The home cooked meals were great and the cookie jar was hit hard by our family. The scenic hikes brought breathtaking views along with more than enough stops to pick and eat some blueberries. Caribou Lodge was definitely a highlight to our Alaska vacation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank CGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac B, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are glad you folks added our lodge to your list of world travel destinations. It was an honor and your family is amazing. And loving our cookies is not a crime, you just made up for the guests we get that don't eat cookies at all....(which we don't understand why some people do not eat cookies....) anyway, you were a pleasure to have. Just next time, bring real hiking boots! the "Kyle 200's" didn't really work and will not ever be sold at outdoor stores ~Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I couldn't think of a better way to end our Alaskan adventure that to spend the last two nights at the Caribou Lodge. Our trip began with a quick ride on a float plane from Talkeetna, which my kids loved. Once we arrived we were greeted by Zach, Alyssa and their two girls. Our family of five had a wonderful time going on hikes with Zach. He is a wealth of knowledge and was always prepared. Each day either on a hike or from the main lodge we saw not only caribou but bear. The kids also loved taking the kayaks out on the lake. They spent hours exploring. When we ran into a rain shower we spent our time in the main lodge at the table playing cards, Hobbit Monopoly, and putting together puzzles. Something that we never seem to be able to to do at home. The hospitality was top notch, with both Bonnie and Alyssa stocking the cookie jars with warm homemade cookies each day. Not the mention the family style meals that were not only delicious but plentiful. (Keeping up with three teenagers is tough business!) Alyssa was even kind enough to share her recipes with me. Overall it was a great trip and the perfect relaxation we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0ttriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac B, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for the kind review. Your family is amazing, and it was great to see all the kids get along so well with each other. We were so glad to have you. With your knowledge of tundra hiking now perhaps you folks can create an "Alaska WOD" at your crossfit box (gym).
Please come back anytime!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

From the arrival to the good-bye after four days, this was a unique stay for us. Very friendly family-type service - unbelievably good meals on the family table. We have had a terrific three weeks in Alaska, traveling from Switzerland, but this was the highlight of our trip!
Zach and his family showed us their treasure in a uniquely personal way - we do wish you all good luck, may the new cabin soon be finished and be a happy home.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmitterrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac B, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you so much! It is always great to hear that little ol' Caribou Lodge is the highlight of someones Alaska adventure. We strive to make it that way so we are glad to know our hard work is paying off. I forgot to schedule that mama and baby moose sighting while we were out hiking so I am lucky they remembered to show up. It made for a perfect end to a nice day. You folks were such a pleasure to visit with, and we wish you all the best.
The cabin will be ready to move into in about 2 weeks. check out the updates on Facebook.
Cheers!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I'm not sure where to begin. I have put off writing this review for too long. Writing a review brings finality to THE most amazing and wonderful start to an Alaskan vacation I could have imagined!! If you are looking to "soak in" Alaska and recharge from your busy and hectic lifestyle, this is the place. Bonnie, Joe, and dog Howie (of course!) were excellent hosts! Although really, they did feel more like family than hosts. Their kindness and warmth have remained with us and are treasured. Bonnie is quite the chef and Joe is very skilled in the Alaskan outdoors. From the flavorful homemade foods, French-press coffee with biscotti, dining table conversations, hiking, gear, bandages for twisted ankles :-), kayaks, picnic lunch, pictures taken and shared, campfire stories, smore's, comfortable and immaculate accommodations, peace and solitude....I just cannot say enough complimentary things about our experience. A single mom and 12yr. old son on the trip of a lifetime. We made memories that will last forever. My only regret is booking just two nights. I really recommend 3 - minimum. Our stay at Caribou Lodge set the tone for the rest of our trip.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gina7515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
21 km away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
22.2 km away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
19.4 km away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#2 of 18 in Talkeetna
298 reviews
19 km away
Talkeetna Wilderness Lodge & Cabin Rentals
19.9 km away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Lodge Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Lodge Alaska

Address: P.O. Box 706, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range: RM 2,944 - RM 2,948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribou Lodge Alaska is a wilderness lodge that is only accessible by small aircraft. Located on a remote lake in an amazing setting above treeline just southeast Of Denali National Park. We are closer to Denali than the Park entrance or headquarters. Caribou Lodge is completely surrounded by Alaska's wild country. The Lodge offers a unique opportunity for guests to not only experience the awesome wilderness of Alaska, but to learn about living in it as well. Life in the Alaska wilderness is quite the adventure and is an experience we enjoy sharing with the world. Small and personal, a "Denali Park without the crowds", Caribou Lodge offers daily guided hiking, extended backpacking trips, kayaking and more, a relaxed learning experience in the Alaskan bush. Come enjoy true Alaska wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Caribou Lodge Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Lodge Alaska Hotel Talkeetna
Caribou Hotel Talkeetna
Caribou Lodge Alaska Talkeetna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing