We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Friendly People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at the Le Meridien Bora Bora for 6 nights on the final leg of our honeymoon. Bora Bora and the hotel are probably the most beautiful places we have ever been. The water is spectacular.

The grounds are lovely, there are two infinity pools (a little small - can get crowded), two lagoons for swimming, and two docks with over water bungalows. There are also a few beach bungalows that actually looked very nice, a couple had plunge pools I think.

We stayed in a Premium Overwater Bungalow (329) that had a great view of the mountain on Bora Bora. I think the view and maybe the deck chairs are the only difference between the Premium Overwater Bungalow and the next step down. The rooms were great, the bed was very comfortable and the towels were fluffy. The glass bottom floor was amazing, you could see the most fish at night - very neat. I loved the deck with spiral staircase down to the water. The water was very deep under our bungalow so we could jump off and float around in the water when we got too hot. I really liked the bathtub - nice leaver windows to the lovely view of outside.

The housekeeping and turn down service were great. We didn't get complimentary water everyday not sure if we were supposed to? The WIFI is not free, but there are free computers that you can use - internet was spotty. There were a couple short periods where the power at the hotel went out, not sure how common this is but it seemed to back up in running in 15 minutes.

Everything was beautiful and the staff are very, friendly but I found the food service style quite different to North America. I don't think it was rude, just different - they just left you alone to eat your meal (no checking on you, refilling wine, you have to get their attention to get your check etc…) The food was very very expensive and there wasn't a lot of options considering that you are stuck there unless you take a boat to the main island or another hotel. The restaurants had weird hours and there wasn't very much variety and it was very expensive. The buffet breakfasts were about $50CAD and that is your only option or room service. The food was fine, not outstanding but I got tired of it. The buffet dinners are about $100 but there is also an a la carte dinner menu. The cocktails were delicious (expensive) the French wine was not bad priced probably cheaper here in Bora Bora than in Canada. The a la carte deserts were AMAZING and worth the price!

The hotel has lots of free activities: kayaks, snorkels, bocce, misc. sport and game rentals, a great Tahtitian show on Tuesday and Friday nights (highly recommend), turtle feeding everyday in their turtle rescue centre (very interesting), stocked inner lagoon with lots of fish to see etc…

The hotel boat transfer is not free and on our trip back to the airport it was delayed 45 minutes waiting for some late people - which did not cap off our week nicely. We are paying for the service so why are we waiting around for late people?! Also the boat said max 12 but there was 16 people on it.

Tip: the best deal going is the Hinano's in your mini bar, there are two and they will replace them each day. They were 400XPF, everywhere else 650XPF.

Tip: Bora Bora is actually as expensive as everyone claims. I wish we had been prepared and brought some snacks and water or gone to the main town one day to pick up some necessities so we wouldn't need to rely as much on the hotel boutique/room service/mini bar. But the taxi into town was really expensive (about $80CAD) so it might not have been worth it in the end.

Room Tip: If a view is important get the Premium Overwater Bungalow if not I think the next steps down have al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JTVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,079 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent 7 days and 6 nights of our honeymoon in this beautiful hotel. After 4 flights and long stopovers and 2 days traveling from home, the hotel was perfect for relaxing. Its location is great, in the right side of the island, where the best hotels are located.
Our water-bungalow was amazing and we had the luck it was facing north, so we had sun in the balcony all day.
Most of the staff is very kind, though some are a bit tip-hunters.
Breakfast is great. For lunch we twice tried the restaurant for pizza and salad but the pool bar is better and cheaper.
The dinner buffet is about 70 eur/pp and a rip-off, though we didn't try it, but it was always mostly empty. We ate 3 nights at the "A la carte" restaurant (very good), went to Bloody Mary's (very good - try the tuna), Kaina Hut (average) and St James (good).
No free wifi. The hotel has an internet room which is, for sure, the slowest internet ever.
I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at Le Meridien for our honeymoon from 5/8/12 - 5/18/12.

ARRIVAL: Upon arrival at the airport there was a hotel staff there waiting and directing us where to go. She was very friendly and nice. We took a boat from the airport to our hotel which was pretty cool! Upon arrival to the hotel we were provided with tasty tropical drinks and given a brief tour of the hotel. It was too early to check in so they provided a room to change in so you didn't have to miss out on any beach time. Check-in was an easy process and we were driven to our room.

ROOM: The room was AMAZING!! The portion of the floor that was glass bottom was bigger than I was expecting and the view from the balcony was stunning! The only problem we had was that our hot water heater broke but we were provided with another room for the night and the problem was fixed quickly the next day (we opted to keep our original room despite this problem because it had a much better location and view than the alternative room).

FOOD: BREAKFAST: The buffet breakfast was included in our package and overall we were content with it. Don't expect anything amazing here but we certainly did eat well each morning.

LUNCH: The lunch options are OK. Te Ava is poolside restaurant that you can sit down with your toes in the sand and eat... our experience of this was just OK. As an alternative, there are a few sandwich options from the pool bar which was what we ended up doing almost every day. It's quicker and you don't ever have to leave your lounge chair other than to order and pick up the food.

The dinner buffet is NOT WORTH IT it's over $200 USD for a couple and is very small and our experience of it was not good. The Ala Carte dinner was a 50/50 split. I really enjoyed my meal (Mahi Mahi) but my husband did not enjoy his... we both agreed however that it was a better than the buffet. We spent 6 of our nights eating at hotels on the main island and would highly recommend doing the same. You make a reservation for the restaurant with the activities desk and then you take a boat from the hotel at 6:30pm and a taxi picks you up complimentary from the restaurant of your choosing. The food in Bora Bora across the board was pretty bad, this was really our only complaint. I don't know if we have unrealistically high standards because we are from NY but we did expect better of the food situation.

ACTIVITIES: Le Meridien offers snorkels, kayaks, and other water equipment that you can use for free whenever you want which was fun. The guys in the hut where the material is were SO NICE.. probably the nicest people we met on the island. My husband found a coconut at random and they helped him open it and explained why it was no good and then gave us a coconut of theirs which they helped us open and let us keep. They do a coconut opening class every couple of days which I would recommend because the coconut is delicious!! Snorkeling in the lagoon is a pretty neat experience because there is actually a lot of coral and fish and even a little octopus in there! There is a turtle conservatory where you can watch the turtles be fed and learn about them every morning at 10:30 which we also enjoyed. We got to see a turtle be released back to the ocean which was a unique and uncommon experience. We got massages at the Spa which we really enjoyed as well (make sure you do it early in the trip to avoid a massage with sunburn!!) We did 2 excursions... one was a 4x4 Jeep Safari tour of the island which we really enjoyed and the other was the shark and ray feeding which was an AWESOME experience. I am petrified of sharks and still found it very cool and not scary so don't let fear convince you against this excursion because you'd really be missing out.

OVERALL we were very pleased with our trip and with Le Meridien. Hands down the best view in Bora Bora is from Le Meridien, the rooms were amazing, the island is amazing.. the food is not amazing but we LOVED this trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at the Le Meridien Bora Bora on our honeymoon for a couple of nights after staying in Tahiti. I wish we paid the extra money and stayed here longer, and not wasted our time with Tahiti, is was simply AMAZING! We arrived to the airport, where resort staff greeted us with a lei, and took our baggage. We got on the resort shuttle boat which took us to the resort. Very hassle free and easy. When we arrived to the dock, we were greeted with a welcoming party, a group of men singing and playing instruments. The views at this stage are just overwhelming! Check in was easy and quick, we were given cold drinks and towels, and then were given a tour of the resort and shown to our rooms. The one bad thing was our baggage had not arrived to our rooms yet, so we could not get changed into our bathers! We stayed in an overwater bungalow (we were upgraded, without even asking - we are starwood preferred guests and starfriend, maybe thats why?) but the room was just perfect. It had been recently refurbished, so it was modern and clean. It had a glass bottom floor, which we enjoyed seeing the fish (and even manta rays) swim underneith. It also had direct access to the water, which was perfect. I would say that house keeping staff need to pay more attention to detail though, they often forgot to replenish our amenities and towels, and when we rang and asked for something, it would turn up hours later. Also the hot water was not working when we arrived! We called maintenence, and they arrived about an hour later, but by that stage, the hot water had started to work (it took about half an hour to heat up). We ate at Bloody Mary's restaurant on the mainland that night (the hotel concierge organised everything for us, inlcuding the taxi on the mainland). We would definately NOT reccommend going to Bloody Mary's. The food was very bad (worst we had eaten on our trip) and very over priced. We had a booking for 6.30pm but was about 7pm by the time we got there, then had to rush through our meals to be back to the boat by 9pm. We didnt bother with dessert, after the first 2 courses, we had had enough of the bad food! Lucky we shared a bottle of wine, which got us through the meal! The next day we spent at the resort and enjoyed their free water activites they offer (snorkles, kayak, swimming in the lagoon, turtle feeding, etc). The water is just amazing, so clear and blue. The turtle feeding is at 10am each morning, and I suggest you go - you cant actually touch the turtles, but they are veyr cute, and there are other marine life to look at. My husband paid about $30 AD to swim with the turtles on a marine discovery tour (book through the concierge) he enjoyed it and said it is worth doing. The turtle sanctuary is at the resort, so another good attraction. We ate lunch at the restaurant a few times, and each time it was great. Reasonable prices (what you would expect to pay), and good food. Drinks are very expensive though! We also had dinner at the restaurant overlooking the lagoon. Book early to get good seats. We had the seafood buffet which was amazing - expensive at about $80per person plus drinks, but good food. After dinner there was also a traditional dance which we went along to and all had fun after they dragged us all up to dance! Worht going to see for something free to do after dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful (much different to Tahiti!), especially the Tahitian man who drove us to our bungalow, and the lovely young girl who checked us in, and the lovely asian lady who checked us out! I could not reccommend this resort any more! Oh, and we saw a traditional tahitian wedding at the resort!
Don't waste your time going into the main town. We went in for a day, and wasted most of it sitting around, with nothing to do! There is a free boat that goes to the main island ever hour, which was good, and the resort will organise for a taxi to meet you there and take you into town (about a half hour drive). The taxi cost about $70 return. In town, there is not much, just a bunch of tourist souvineer shops (very expensive, cheaper to get at the airport!) and one restaurant! We ate there, and the food was excellent and very well priced. We did go to the supermarket and stock up on water, juice, bread and fruit for brekky and snacks (water at the resort is 5 times more expensive than at the supermarket, I suggest if you want to save a bit, go to the supermarket), so that saved us a bit of money, but other than that, there was not much in town. You can hire bikes, but it was too hot.
Overall, our stay was perfect. It was everything we wanted in our honeymoon, and I would definately reccommend going here if you want somewhere beautiful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Definately go for the overwater bungalow. Nothing says paradise more than relaxing in the sun on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecile_lemarrec, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us and for giving a thoroughtful description of ou resort. It is indeed precious advices you give to future guests thinking about staying at our resort .Your comment regarding housekeeping will be passed on as well and actions taken to improve our service.
We are glad that overall our team made it beyond your expectations and we hope you will keep a wonderful recall of your honeymoon.
We wish we will have another opportunity to be your hosts in the future.

My bests regards,
Cécile LE MARREC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We travelled to French Polynesia from April 28, 2012 to May 7th, 2012. We stayed in Tahiti for 2 night and then we were on our way to Bora Bora.

First thing, be careful if you are staying on more than 1 island as the baggages allowance for the inter-islands flights are lower than the international allowance. Check the Air Tahiti website for more information.

We arrive at le Meridien Bora Bora on April 30th and let me tell you that even under cloudy sky, the lagoon is as blue as the picture you have seen everywhere. It is simply amazing. When you arrive at the airport, you get your luggages and take them to the hotel employees who will transport them in the boat for you. While getting to the hotel, take this opportunity to relax and enjoy the scenery.

At the Hotel and anywhere else on the islands, you will be greeted by "ia Rana". An employee will bring you to the reception where you will complete your check-in and then you will have an organized visit of the site. You will take place in a golf cart and "delivered" to your room. The employee will also explain all you have to know about your room. This is how we met Laurence. We also walked beside the reception many time during our stay and many time, Laurence was around and waving at us and saying hello. We also met her in town on her day off while doing her groceries.

We didn't had any excursions booked before getting there because we were there to relax but we decided to take a few. It is true that everything is expensive, and the excursions aren't the exception. I book a 2 tank dive through the hotel and I really enjoyed it. The excursion was with Bora Diving and Dan was our divemaster. The first dive was the Tapu dive site with Blacktip and lemon shark. The second dive was at Anau searching for Manta Rays. We were lucky enough to see 4 but don't expect 100 feets visibility like the other site. Too much plancton. A bit expensive, around 150$ CAN for a 2-tank dive.

We also booked the Shark and Rays feeding with a visit to the coral garden and a picnic on a Motu. It is a full day excursion and requires a minimum of 4 but you can be matched with clients from other hotels. We had a good time and it wasn't that expensive compare to the other excursions. About 115$ CAN per person. Thanks to Morana and Sam for the good time and Picnic. Morana really explain the many things about the island history. Sam is the cameraman and diver and at the coral garden, will try to get the "big" green moray out of her hole. I mean "big" because it is big.

On another day, we had rent bicycle and ride around the island. Don't pay for 8 hours, it is not worth it. We are not the best at bicycling and we did tour the island in 3h. There is only 1 hill. Unfortunately, there is no sign to indicate where the WW2 cannons are but there is one on the North tip of the island. Point Marita is really awesome, so is the beach. To rent 2 bicycles for 6 hours, it will cost you around 50$ CAN. Avis will picking you up at the Ferry dock and driving you to Vaitape, where you will start your tour and pay for the rental. You can either leave the bike at the ferry or drive it back at your starting point where you will be able to shop before they drive you back to the ferry, make sure to check the schedule not to miss the boat. If you have shopping to do, I recomend to do it there. You can buy bottle of water 1$ compare to 6$ at the hotel restaurant or if you need sunscreen, visit the Super U in Vaitape.

The hotel itself is very nice. Room is spacious and clean with a nice glass floor, you will see many pictures on Tripadvisor but also a nice walk-in closet to put all your cloths and gears. The game room is equiped with a pool table, checker and backgammon board and a Wii. The internet is free in the internet cafe but is not very fast and you don't have access to the PC to send pictures to your friends and families.

The food was great but do not expect a wide variety of choice like those you see in the all-inclusive resort of the caribbean. If you have a meal package, it is the best as you can either choose to eat at the buffet or A la Carte (selected choices). If you don't have a meal packages, it is expensive. The breakfast is around 40$ CAN per person and the dinner is around 80$ per person and that price for diner doesn't include your drinks, not even water (6$ a bottle).

I thought I have read that you could snorkel with the turtle in the lagoon, unfortunately, they are in a separate lagoon where swimming ins't allowed but the fishes and coral in the hotel internal lagoon were amazing and keep your eyes open for the octopus....yep, there is one.

In general, left aside the high price for almost everything, it was an amazing trip and as we left the hotel, while on the dock, Laurence, came by to say goodbye. Also a great thanks to Aini for helping us during our stay.

Thank you Le Meridien for this great vacation.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow has balcony view on the Mount Otemanu and sunset on the left and sunrise and moon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
5.2 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
6.1 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
5.7 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
7.9 km away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
7.8 km away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#4 of 17 in Bora Bora
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tape | Bp 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: RM1,838 - RM4,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing