We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“warm, clean, and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska Range Motel

Alaska Range Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Range Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm, clean, and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you take the 1.3 mile out of town you'll find the warmest, cleanest, and quietest hotel in Tok, AK. Been here 2 times and it is still the best deal in town whether you're driving to or from the ferry, or just touring AK...if you have a choice to stop in Tok, stay at the Main Street Motel! Nothing fancy, just simple night's rest.

Room Tip: no business center, but free WIFI in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sstewart10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

What all motels should be: clean, quiet, reliable & affordable. I had reservations at another motel; however, upon seeing Main Street on my drive in to town, I decided to check it out. I was impressed at how quickly the owner (Jimmy, a very nice guy) encouraged me to have a look at the room. We talked about his high standards for cleanliness and the attention to detail that he requires from his staff. And upon inspection of the room, it was quite clear that his staff do a great job following through on those directives. Upon entry the room felt clean; it was very warm which was no small detail given that it was five below zero. There were plenty of plug ins for cars & trucks. The water was HOT. The wireless internet connection was STABLE. There were plenty of electrical sockets for recharging devices. The linen and towels were fresh and the mattress was new. The design of the place was well thought out for meeting (and exceeding) standard travel needs at a quite affordable price. I do a tremendous amount of road travel, if I could find a Main Street Motel every night it would save a lot of time, energy & angst. Great place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have stayed in every hotel in Tok and I can say that the Main Street Motel is the best! There is always hot water, there are no big holes around the door to let the cold air in, the beds are comfortable, there are more channels on the TV than I can figure out how to watch. There are plenty of plug ins for the car, so, you don't have to go looking for a working one around the corner because someone next door needed more than one and took the one in front of your room. The windows open when you want, and seal shut when you want. The temp controls work properly. They are constantly upgrading everything! Every time I stay, there is something new. Customer service is the best, and they really work hard to take care of whatever you need.

Room Tip: I have been in most rooms, at one time or another, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Very convenient and clean. The location is the first motel on the right coming from the east, Haines Junction area. The staff were kind and helpful. They made us feel like we were home.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildfurlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Arrived in Tok very late one night/early morning in December having arrived by ferry in Haines. Was wee hours of the morning but the folks at the Main Street Motel were kind enough to answer the buzzer and book us a room. Decent beds and good hot shower. Nothing fancy but just fine.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank navraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
0.9 km away
Young's Motel
Young's Motel
#1 of 5 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
6.7 km away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
1.2 km away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#3 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
40.1 km away
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Range Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Range Motel

Property: Alaska Range Motel
Address: Mile 1312.7 Alaska Highway, PO Box 582, Tok, AK 99780 (Formerly Main Street Motel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Price range (per night): RM289 - RM311
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have super clean, warm rooms with free reliable, in room High Speed WI FI and lots of channels on a 32" LED TV. Car plug-ins, microwave, coffee, refrigerator. We are a wood fired motel! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing