We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
170
52
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
52
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric blanketsfamily tentother guestsbig tablemale cheetahspacious tentsgame reserveknowledgeable guidesbig animalsperfect safari experiencetea and coffee making facilitieshot chocolateamazing animalsfantastic guidesmall poolspent two nightswide variety of animals
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Totally safe, secluded luxurious accommodation, lovely ambiance, excellent cuisine, friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfast terrace with beautiful views, cozy boma, gorgeous pool in cute surroundings, top notch game drives in excellent vehicles with well qualified extremely knowledgeable guides,

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lyn375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

we were a party of six 2 thirtysomethings and 4 over 65's..We (the over 65's) knew we were going on a safari experience but no further details.imagine our trepidation when the car took us to Woodbury Tented Village.We needn't have worried the tents are awesome.King size beds,electric blankets and en-suite shower and toilet.We went on a total of 5 drives 4 daytime and one night with Melumzi who is a fantastic guide,extremely knowledgeable and who went out of his way to make certain our trip was memorable.Nice touches like wine at sundown and coffee in the morning were appreciated.There is a small pool for those who wish to use it.An added bonus is that all food and drink is included in the price.The food is plentiful and tasty. Giles the owner took time to spend an evening with us giving us an insight into the history of the reserve and the charitable work with which they are involved . Highlights are too numerous to mention. Enough memories to last a life time but we hope to return.

Room Tip: Tent 3 fabulous views and fully en suite
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Borareback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury Tented C, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that there were many highlights to your trip. Memories of staying in the bush do last a lifetime, though you all must come back to make some more!
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We stayed as a family of four (kids aged 11 & 13) for 3 nights in Family Tent 6 and I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed ourselves! This place is fantastic.

We knew that upon our early arrival our tent would not be ready but we were welcomed into the main dining area with a refreshing mocktail each. We utilised the swimming pool, which was a little chilly in April, and sunbeds (with towels) until our tent was prepared.

The tents were great. Family Tent 6 is two tents with no view but was clean, quiet and peaceful. Our tents shared a bathroom, toilet and veranda and were big enough for 4 people. There was not enough room for a wardrobe/chest of drawers but this would have been our only welcome addition. The beds were comfy and warm, the shower hot and the in-room toiletries lovely. The kids enjoyed walking back to the tent by torchlight at night!

The main dining area was very pleasant with a fabulous game reserve viewing deck, although mealtimes could be a little warm during the day for the kids, who preferred to eat inside. All meals were taken as one large group but we never had to wait a long time for our food and the atmosphere was very "chilled-out". At night we would sit around the camp fire with a drink and chat to the other guests. It would have been the icing on the cake if the kids could've toasted marshmallows. We ate inside for dinner with a roaring log fire which added to the ambience. All the African-style food was tasty, served beautifully with a plentiful supply of beer, wine and soft drinks for the children. Breakfast was particularly good with a choice of hot options. There was also a choice for dinner. We loved the sundowners and snacks on our evening safaris and the tea, coffee and hot chocolate on the morning drives (especially when the giraffes joined us!).

Now to the best bit...the safari drives. At different times we shared our jeep with two other families from the camp, which led to many comedy moments from adults and children alike! The children were all respectful of the need to keep quiet and still; consequently we had several close range encounters with elephant, cheetah, lion, antelope, rhino, giraffe and a Cape Cobra! We are still talking about watching the rhino wallowing in mud (sunblock!) and our close encounter with an elephant bull who stopped within one metre of the jeep, eye-balled us all and then strolled off.

The brilliance of this particular safari is really down to three things:-

1. The tented camp is great. It gives a traditional safari experience with added comfort. We didn't want 5 star luxury and we got a great quality, child-friendly environment.

2. Amakhala is a great game reserve with a large variety of wildlife that are well looked after. The reserve is big enough to enjoy a good quantity of animals and birds, but not so large that you have to drive for miles to see anything at all. Hence, on each of our 6 drives we witnessed many beasts at close range. The children were never bored, despite sometimes being out for 3 hours.

3. Our guide Ryan was THE MAN! We saw so much; he was able to spot the wildlife from long distances, kept in contact with other guides to find animals we had not seen and handled the jeep with great dexterity. His reversing skills really are something to behold! Undoubtedly he made our safari experience - thank you Ryan!

In summary, if you have a family and want to do a safari in SA what are you waiting for? Book here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumandcubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury Tented C, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Wow what can we say! We are blown away with your comments, thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review, allowing everyone to really understand what the all round experience is like when you stay with us.
Our family adjoining tents were new additions to the Camp last year and families are thoroughly enjoying them tucked into the bush, allowing everyone to enjoy their experience together.
Great idea with the marshmallows we will add this as a welcome addition for the children.
We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us and even more so the safaris. Your comments will be passed onto the Ryan and the rest of the team. We do hope to see you back very soon!
Thanks again and king regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Stayed here with my mum and sister in February for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. The tents were comfy with fully functioning electricity and hot water (the best shower we've had in a long time) and listening to the animals in the reserve as you fall asleep was magical. All the staff (both camp and rangers) were lovely and really thoughtful - I'm lactose intolerant and had individual meals where necessary with no prompting. We loved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury Tented C, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you Helena for writing this review. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The guests always comment on the rain shower as being one of the best, we are glad you think so too.
Falling asleep to the sounds of the bush gives an authentic bush experience and sounds you will never forget.
We hope to see you back again in the near future
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We spent two nights here at the end of our trip. I’m not a camper but found the tents to be pretty comfortable. The bed was good and the tents have a shower and loo. Our tent had a view but most of them are enclosed in thick shrubs and thorn which is good for privacy but less good if you want to see over the game reserve. Breakfast was the best meal of the day with lunch and dinner a bit disappointing. But of course, you’re here for the game drives. There are two a day leaving at 6am and 4pm. Our guide and driver (Kat?) was enthusiastic and knowledgeable which made the trips enjoyable. After Addo, Amakhala feels much more intimate and of course it is smaller but we saw giraffe, rhino, elephants and cheetah, all at close quarters and without the pressure of other safari trucks or cars in the way. A planning tip ….. with hindsight, I wish we had booked the safari for early on or part way through our trip. After a couple of weeks constantly on the go, we were tired and I was ready to rest in the sun with a book. A shame, as it meant we didn’t get as much out of the experience as we could have done.

Room Tip: ask for a tent with a view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EastSussexSma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews