We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$717
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
High Corner Guest House(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$893
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Milner(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jenny's Guest House(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
8A Grahamstown(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ufumene Game Lodge(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
177
52
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
52
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric blanketsfamily tentgame reservebig tablemale cheetahspacious tentsother guestsknowledgeable guidesbig animalsicing on the cakeperfect safari experiencetea and coffee making facilitiesfantastic guidesmall poolhot chocolateamazing animalsspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Great opportunity to see the big five if you are lucky.
We missed the lion, because of the rain, so we think that we have to go back sometime.
We did the gardenroute and are glad to make this trip to the Amakhala Reserve!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulvandenbogerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury Tented C, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are also glad you visited and yes you must come back again to see our gorgeous lions
Hope to see you soon
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We came to South Africa predominantly to go on safari so we stayed here for 6 nights. This was a great way to finish our trip as we saw all of the big animals and even some rarer nocturnal animals like the porcupine. We also managed to see a white-backed vulture which is so rare many of the guides had not seen one. We loved seeing the cheetah family as well as the giraffes and elephants. We were also lucky enough to see the lion Vs porcupine encounter (video clip on their facebook page - the porcupine wins!) Most of all though, the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the guides are very knowledgeable. The owner, Giles, often pops in to chat to the guests and is also very friendly and knowledgeable. Even though it is winter in August, the electric blankets ensured we kept warm at night as it got quite chilly. There was also a log fire in the dining room / lounge area. We also had a great view from our tent. Overall we had a great week and would definitely recommend it. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mkdten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Great family vacation or for those travelling solo. Game viewing is excellent and staff is warm and accommodating. Three meals a day and a warm fire to greet you after the evening drive with an appropriate beverage. Easy access from Port Elizabeth airport and airport transfers are also available.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JanChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have spent one night at the Woodbury Tented Camp. The views and lookouts were amazing, the food delicious, good wines and drinks.

The only thing that we got a bit frustrated was the game safari, we did see a lot of animals like cheetah, giraffes and lions but from far way,and we've missed the Rhinos and Elephants. The park is very big so takes a long time to go for one spot to another and the animals are really spread.

Maybe would be better staying one more night to go at least two more games, but its really expensive.

If you were doing a trip on budget like we did I would recommend trying Addo at least two times is a great park lot of animals and much cheaper.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury Tented C, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you Daniel for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you had an amazing experience with us at the Tented Camp. Unfortunately what you see and how close you see the animals on your game drives are never guaranteed and out of our control. Though our guides will do their upmost to give you an all round safari experience and get as close as they physically and ethically can to the animals. We would therefore recommend at least a 2 or 3 night stay with us to get the most out of your stay. Our pricing covers the overall experience, overnight stay within the reserve, two drives, all food and drinks inclusive, where an alternative option in Addo National Park is mainly self drives in a much larger park.
Kind Regards
The Woodbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

A great way to finish our SA trip, we had a fantastic time from the minute we arrived until we had to leave. Our ranger Lenny was very knowledgeable and was able to show us 4 of the big 5. The communal meals were good and gave us chance to mix with the other guests of all nationalities. The only reason I haven't given a score of 5 is the changeover of wet towels wasn't as it could be. We would certainly consider going back though.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GRK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews