We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibhayi Town Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singa Lodge(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$83
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$122
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$92
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
8
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant stayguest housemarilynavocetshostsaccommodationelizabethportpe
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Could not have asked for more nice and clean room friendly staff who was always willing to help, totally enjoyed my stay at the Avocet, I would definitely stay again if I'm ever in summerstrand and would recommend Avocet.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jasonlV1536AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn d, Owner at Avocet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you Jason. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was a pleasure accommodating and meeting you, and you are welcome to visit us again anytime.
All the best.
Marilyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

a most considerate owner who did not charge us for the one night which we were unable to stay.
the place is spotlessly clean and tidy and Marilyn the owner went out of her way to make our stay pleasant - thank you Marilyn.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R5821WQjennyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn d, Owner at Avocet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

It was a pleasure accommodating you and your daughters Jenny. You are very welcome to visit us any time.
Best regards, Marilyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The rooms are located in bungalow-style buildings around a small central lawn surrounded by flowers. The plot is secured and together with the room key comes a remote control for the gate. The rooms are very nice, spacious and offer a small kitchen. The bed was comfortable and warm blankets were available. A table with chairs was available, and wifi was stable. The bathroom is rather small but offers a bath and a separate shower - unfortunately it was really cold since there is no heating.
The breakfast needs to be ordered the evening before from a selection of individual choices. Unfortunately, the quality is not great and the amount limited. Breakfast is served in the room.

Room Tip: towards the central court - towards the road it is rather noisy
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn d, Owner at Avocet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi Peter,
Thank you for your comprehensive review. Much appreciated.
There are however one or two items in your review I would like to respond to.
I am sorry that you did not notice the air conditioner in your unit and the remote for the air conditioner on the bedside cabinet next to your bed. This would have heated up your room very nicely.
About the bathroom, it measures 2m x 3m, which we consider to be quite spacious.
I am very sorry that you did not find the breakfast adequate. There is no limit to what or how much our guests order from the menu (all at the same price). If you should visit us again, (which we hope you will. You will be very welcome) please feel free to ask for second helpings.
Best regards, Marilyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Thank you for accommodating my son while on a cricket tour taking place at the University
The service received by Yvonne telephonically and at the house was excellent. Very well located for him to be able to walk wherever he needed to go.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 517glenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn d, Owner at Avocet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you Alison. Yes, Yvonne is a star, and manages Avocet when we are away.
It was a pleasure accommodating Glen, and I am pleased that I could meet him on our return. Wishing him all the best with his cricket career. Marilyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A place nicely positioned - close to university and a short dirve down to the main beach and attractions (you can walk down to the beach that is also nicely maintained). Accommodation is good, albeit that the room I stayed in was a bit on the small side. Food being served in the room. The hosts are very accommodative which is a plus to staying at this venue. Free wi-fi is available which is another plus when you are on business down in PE. Clean, well-maintained accommodation that is good for a short stay - definately a place to consider.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn d, Owner at Avocet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you for your review Pieter. Much appreciated.
It was a pleasure meeting you and accommodating you.
We will remember to book you in a bigger unit when next time you visit us.
The Banting breakfasts and dinners were also a nice change for us !
All the best,
Marilyn du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews