We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviewed 27 December 2016

I have stayed here overnight twice, having to go to the University early the next morning. For this purpose the hotel is ideal, as it is literally opposite the main gate and you could actually walk over to the UFS, should you want to. The rooms are typical hotel standard, nothing wow, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is really good, with a wide spread of hot and cold, and meat and vegetarian options. Staff has always been very helpful and I like the fact that there is plenty of parking to choose from. As it is located just off Nelson Mandela Drive, it s very easily accessed from the N1 highway and would make a good stopover if you simply cannot drive any further along the road to Cape Town/Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are very cold in spite of the aircon, and can be quite dark in winter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbm007363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siphiwe M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Dear SBM007363. Thank you for taking time to complete our online Tripadvisor GUEST questionnaire and for the positive feedback. It is delightful to hear that you always enjoy your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein. We do appreciate you sharing your review to other Travelers that the Hotel is a good stopover to or from Cape Town if driving.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bloemfontein.
Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem in Bloemfontein. The reception is manned with very professional staff.

The hotel is spotlessly clean. The rooms are neat and tidy. The restaurant is professional.

This hotel is perfect for the business traveller as well as for the traveller passing through Bloemfontein.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siphiwe M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Dear Clinton C. Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein. At Protea Hotels we pride ourselves with the best GUEST service and it is delightful to read that you experienced it. Please be assured that your review will be shared with the TEAM.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed for 5 nights on a service visit in Bloemfontein.
The hotel was OK, the personnel was helpful and nice. However the check in and out took a long time due to their system requiring a manual entry of the credit cards information. They did not use the smart chip on the card.
The bar in the hotel was just a hole in the wall and can not be recommended.
Dinner at the hotel was also a disappointment. A rather sparse bufé that we choose not to attend.
Breakfast was not included in the price. Rather good though.
Fridge on the room is not standard, you can however ask the personnel to put on in your room.
All in all the hotel was good but not more.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustav F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siphiwe M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016


Dear Gustav F. Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip advisor at your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein. I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our dining outlet and check in procedures. With aspiration to always exceed guest expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your recent stay. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused and hope to see you on your next visit to Bloemfontein.
Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel has beautiful landscaped gardens and swimming pool. Spacious rooms with bath and shower, I always like rooms with a bath. Good service from reception right through to the restaurant staff. I liked the idea of offering complimentary water, as this days most hotels no longer offer bottled water

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siphiwe M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Doris S. Thank you for talking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you experienced great service on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein and be assured that your comment will be shared with the TEAM. It is delightful to read that you found the Hotel facilities beautiful and spacious Hotel rooms.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The staff at Protea Marriot is superfriendly, helpful and very respectful. I felt at home right away. There were some admin from glitches my booking agency. The staff handles the matter with dignity, kept me informed and ensured I had the most comfortable stay. A special thank you to Ntombi, Malefu and Isaacc. You guys are amazing!!!! I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank enjabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siphiwe M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Enjabz. Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein. We are pleased to read your kind word stating that the Hotel STAFF was able to assist you professionally even though there were complications with your bookings. Be assured that compliments will be passed on to Ntombi, Malefu and Isaac.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
1.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#4 of 25 in Bloemfontein
96 reviews
0.4 km away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bloemfontein
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#14 of 25 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
6.3 km away
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
#9 of 25 in Bloemfontein
102 reviews
1.9 km away
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
#8 of 25 in Bloemfontein
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Address: 202 Nelson Mandela Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range: RM241 - RM502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein - A Touch of Class in the Heart of the Free State. The modern 4-Star Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is set in secure landscaped gardens and situated on Nelson Mandela Drive, in the heart of Bloemfontein's business district. After a strenuous day at the office, arrive back at the hotel and make your way to the swimming pool and terrace. Order a drink from the bar, relax and embrace this ideal setting in the City of Roses. Now that the scene has been set, enjoy a magnificent evening in the Amoretta Restaurant before turning in for the night to one of our luxurious bedrooms, offering crisp linen and separate bathroom and shower. Sleep in and take advantage of the easy access to national roads, the CBD, University of Bloemfontein and close proximity to the airport. The Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is an ideal venue for the overnight traveller and corporate executive alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein
Protea Hotel By Marriott Bloemfontein Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing