We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MoAfrika Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Outlook Lodge O.R. Tambo(Greater Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Club(Kempton Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
African Dreams Lodge(Kempton Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrock Guesthouse(Kempton Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
77
41
15
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
41
15
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerplace to staytraveling alonecentral johannesburgtea kettleafrican styleapartheid museumquiet areaclose to the airportcommon areaskruger national parkpleasant surpriseandrewdogstourslodgesafari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The lodge is situated in a quiet area approximately 15 minutes from the airport: great for a pre- or post accommodation to your safari tour. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful and they provide a range of good tours as well. Great lodge if you want to stay outside the bustle of central Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Location: there’s a Spar and another market nearby and the location is a nice selling point for the hotel because they’re situated very close to the airport. We rented a car so it took us only 16 minutes from and to the airport. They are located outside of the hustle and bustle of central Johannesburg which made us feel very safe and more comfortable.

Sleep quality: as mentioned before, MoAfrika is not in the city centre which creates a peaceful atmosphere. As you guys know, I’m a completely bad sleeper (the very opposite of Victor btw) and I had an amazing night there as the bed and pillows were so comfy and the surroundings are very quiet. Besides, the common areas were not close to our room so silence took place.

Room: as you guys can see on the following pics, our room was very spacious and well decorated, just like the entire lodge. And the pleasant surprise was to find a tea kettle and a hair dryer in the room

They have available single room, double/twin room, family room and dorm as well.

The only thing that bothered me a little was the fact that the wifi signal in our room was very poor so we had to stay in the lounge when we wanted to be online.

Service: besides the tasteful decoration, what earned them points from us was the staff. We have an universal adaptor (see below) which we take with us anywhere we go but I don’t have idea why it doesn’t consider Africa so we asked the staff if they had one to lend and they prompt arranged one. Everyone at the hotel are so nice, funny and helpful. Also, we got in the hotel at night and there was no open restaurants or markets anymore but fortunately they have a lot of delivery options and they make the call for you with no extra charge.

For breakfast there were cereals, coffee, milk, tea and juice. We went for scrambled eggs, toast and bacon. Yummy btw!

They also offer activities such as Soweto tour and they can arrange an airport transfer if it suits you. They offer loads of tours with transfer included so you don’t need to worry about public transport, taxi or renting a car, for instance. You can check their list of available tours here. We took the “Soweto, Apartheid Museum and Lunch Tour” which we loved btw and I’m going to tell you about it on another post later on.

Cost-benefit: friendly staff, a lot of tours available, the real African style for reasonable prices, conveniently located are attributes to be considered when you’re looking for a place to stay in Johannesburg.

Differentials: location. Be out of tourist crowds is really enjoyable! That’s why we vote for the location as a differential. Also, having their own tours it’s something to be mentioned because accommodations always have activities available but they’re not made by the accommodation itself.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The rooms were very clean, spacious, and of good value - especially after a month long camping trip. Comfortable bed but the TV didn't seem to work much at all. The food in the restaurant was average at best but still passable.

Worst thing was the location as it was so far away from anything of interest. They offer tours there but all seem very expensive so settled for a very expensive taxi ride (self-organised as their quote to get anywhere was 3x the price of an Uber).

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This place is awesome and Andrew is amazing. he was able and to know everything around any question that we can asked this guy got have an answer. not only that this lodge is well organized .all transfers food and other things .we like so much..

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Zembetsani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

If you want help from reception, you'll probably die waiting for someone to arrive. I arrived late and was flipped off by the receptionist, who eventually materialised, when I asked questions and needed help.

Further, I went back to reception on several occasions and waited forever and no-one ever came. There are no phones in the room so you certainly can't call reception. I really needed help and found not one soul who worked there.

In the rooms don't expect the plugs to work. Or the tv. Or the lamps.

Would I go back? Never.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank muffworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews