We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Malagueta

Malagueta
Ranked #19 of 80 Restaurants in Edenvale
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 November 2017

They offer good food and a good selection. The service was nice and we had a great evening here. The menu is more international, I missed some really specialities of South Africa.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Armor-Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

In September we had dinner At Malagueta's. It is a nice restaurant that is very family orientated. My son loves the jungle gyms and the food is value for money.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChantalH866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Went here for lunch the service was great and the food was good has nice play area for kids and has a very extensive menu.The restaurant is big and has a great atmosphere have been lots of times and will go again.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Robmad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

All round great experience at Malagueta last night. We are regular visitors, but this was our first Friday night visit and we were impressed! Friendly and efficient service, delicious food and great entertainment for the kids. The restaurant was busy but never felt overcrowded, and the chidrens' play area is super. They even had an outside screen showing recent animated movies which was a big hit with the little ones! Overall a lovely evening that may just become our new Friday night spot.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

I booked the restaurant for 54 people for a function and was utterly disappointed and shocked with how the staff handled the function. The manner in how my guests were treated and the constant annoyance of the staff about bills that needed to be paid really annoyed us.

The total incompetence of the manager and staff was realized when we requested our bill to settle the account, items on the bill were incorrect, pricing didn't match what the menu advertised and pieces of paper with random amounts were given to my guests and myself.

We were even called into the back office to view footage of an apparent "theft" at one of the tables from one of my guests which landed out to be a guest who had paid nearly 50% of the total bill.

The experience was so bad that all 54 people have said that they will not return to the restaurant ever again.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasonranner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malagueta also viewed

Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Edenvale, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Malagueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing