We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but slow service”
Review of The Local Grill

The Local Grill
Ranked #7 of 1,359 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Food was great and great value for money! Service was a bit slow because our section was crowded, which translated to a sub-par dining experience...

When we came, the waiter offered us for the kitchen tour and meat freezing room - it was great learning the cooking method and type of meat available (all local beef -2 options: grass-fed and grain-fed).

Then we were led back to the dining room, we ordered few items that are soup, salad and steak, but because the restaurant was busy, our waiter didn’t re-confirm our order.

Waited for at least 20 minutes for our food to arrive, but oddly it wasn’t the appetiser, instead it was our steak, main course straightaway?

Our waiter missed out our appetiser order...he apologised for it, which was very well appreciated. Overall, it could have been a better dining experience if our waiter pays more attention to us...instead we have to call other waiters to attend to us because our waiter is always busy with other tables.

Thank Padma26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Padma

Having read your review several times it really concerns me that your experience was sub-standard and certainly not what we try to deliver consistently.

I will take this up with the team and mention the incident in our daily training.

My sincere apologies and please feel free to mention this review should you visit us again. I will gladly host you and rectify the experience.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2018

We had dinner here last night, and it lived up to our expectations this time. I had the grass-fed sirloin on the bone and my wife had the salmon.

Both dishes were excellently prepared and the services as good. Still one of our favourite steak-houses in Johannesburg, Just book ahead, it is always full.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you Heeggenoeg, your review is really appreciated. hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Fabulous to get a tour round the kitchen and freezer, advised difference between grass and corn fed as well as difference between length of matureness and on or off the bone. Board in restaurant advises what age of steak is being served that day. Very busy popular restaurant that you need to book a table.

Thank finchsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you Finchsnest, your review is appreciated and helps us to keep our team motivated during slower periods.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The food at The Local Grill was phenomenal and delicious. I learned a lot about aged meat. The price was very affordable and the food can't be beat. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SnowmanHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Snowman

Im pleased we got to offer you a kitchen tour and the meat met your expectation.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Back at The Local Grill and as usual, great meat, great wine and excellent service. Highly recommended!

Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing