We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$211
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$105
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$142
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$84
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lucky Bean Guesthouse(Johannesburg)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agterplaas B&B(Johannesburg)
US$75
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
US$345
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
423
246
67
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
246
67
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelrose archlibrary baroystersm msmarch restaurantrubber duckiessurround soundvirgin gymsurrounded by restaurantsgated communitytravel desksafe areabreakfast buffetshopping and restaurantsfantastic hotelrain showerrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
617 - 622 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Melrose Arch Hotel this year. The experience was fantastic, from the friendly & professional greeting we received from the reception staff to the stunning, comfortable, world class accommodation. It must be mentioned that the food was absolutely superb, undoubtedly in a class of its own! My most grateful and awed compliments to all the staff at The March Restaurant, from the servers and hostess who attended to us that evening to the completely talented and fantastic people behind the scenes! We have recommended the Hotel and the Restaurant to many of our friends and will continue to do so! For first class accommodation, 'out of this world' dining and exceptional service, there simply is NO alternative! A first class Restaurant & Hotel, completely unparalleled in my opinion! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I've stayed at the Melrose Arch Hotel several times now, and there is always something new to experience there. It's in a secure community, with shops and great restaurants within the compound, and it always feels very safe. Jo'burg can be a daunting place for Americans and Europeans, so the Melrose Arch is definitely an oasis with some familiar comforts. Rooms are nice, though a bit odd shaped, with some very eclectic art work and decorations. All in all, it works well and is quite comfortable. Staff are very pleasant, always with a smile and willing to help. Service in the bar area and restaurant can be spotty, but this is Africa after all, and so it was just fine. The hotel itself is nice, well kept, again with some interesting decor, but somehow it all works (still don't get why the elevators are decorated the way they are, will have to ask next time I'm there). In summary, a good safe place to stay, very convenient to the city and airport, and worth staying while in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveler_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Melrose Arch is situated in a gated community, in-between Stanton & Jo'burg, about 35 mins from Tambo International airport (traffic permitting). Melrose Arch, is a modern hotel with excellent amenities, it does however feel as though the owners have been influenced by every boutique hotel around the world, they have thrown everything into this one, and it doesn't quite hang together, there are just too many clashes of design styling.
Having said that, its a comfortable hotel and in a great location for shopping, bars and dining.
Having overheard at check-in that we'd just got married, 10 mins after arriving they delivered a lovely gateau, with congratulations piped in chocolate on the plate - a nice touch :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed here for one night in September 2011 on business. The hotel is well located in Melrose arch which is very safe and secure. The staff were very friendly and service was excellent at reception, the bar and restaurant. The room was lovely with an excellent open plan bathroom and large bath complete with rubber ducks which was nice touch.

One downside is that there is no in room safe which was a surprise but apart from that it was an excellent stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was visiting Johannesburg on business for 10 days earlier in September and on arrival i was pleasently surprised by the look and feel of the place. It looked good and gave the feeling of a niche boutique hotel.
Unfortunately that was as good as it got. Over the 10 days the service got progressively worse and come the end there simply wasnt enough room on the feedback form to take all the negatives.
Where to start.......basically none of the staff are trained adequately........delivering exceptionally slow service....with an attitude to match. Its surprising given the volume of staff, as they are in abundance but simple tasks like getting a drink delivered took 6 waiting staff 30 minutes to deliver. Food orders arrived incorrectly and after 45minutes. Not what you expect when ordering a sandwhich.
Rooms were serviced late in the day, and when one day i broke a glass in the room i informed hoursekeeping who took over 6 hours to clean it up and every day for the next 4 days i asked for a replacement glass which never arrived.
I had some time at the pool, however the pool only had 6 sunbeds....to cater for a hotel with over 100 rooms! Asking for an extra bed took over 1hr to come. On that day the hotel had a holiday reps conference which was held by the pool. Surely they should have warned the residents in advance as the whole day was ruined by excessive noise and over 100 people. Its safe to say during that day the service was even worse.
Ordering a taxi at reception was the equivalent in complexity to arranging a trip to Mars! 3 people later and directed to 2 different desks for 1 taxe taking me 15minutes down the road.
Finally when checking out I asked for the duty manager and very politely explained that whilst the hotel seemed nice the service was appalling and needed much work. I accurately detailed all my complaints at which point i was informed it would be investigated and i would receive an email in due course. Not 1 apology and as expected this email never arrived. So if the duty manager at a 5 star hotel cant get it right then its unfair to expect all his subordinates to get anywhere close.
In summary do not stay at this hotel. Its over priced, which exceptionally poor service. You will leave feeling you've been fleeced and generally very fed up with the bad experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 159traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews