We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$106
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
US$77
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$276
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret's Place(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$112
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agterplaas B&B(Johannesburg)
US$70
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
432
249
67
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
249
67
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelrose archlibrary barm msoystersmarch restaurantrubber duckiesvirgin gymsurround soundsurrounded by restaurantsgated communitytravel desksafe areabreakfast buffetshopping and restaurantsfantastic hotelhotel is locatedrain shower
Filter
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

It's a great hotel but yes could much more better.
But in Johannesburg as any place in Africa or South America, you also have to consider area location of your hotel.
This one is probably the safest place in all the town. Its not really "local" experience, but holidays or business is also about peace of mind
So enjoy the city with tours, taxi or private car, but i strongly recommand to sleep into this very good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Mykosher,

Thank you for the comments on your stay with the hotel.

The theme of a safe environment for our GUESTS and the "city within a city" concept where our GUESTS can eat, work, live and play striked a cord on your visit and we are so pleased that we got the opportunity to showcase this to you.
The brand African Pride Hotels as the name implies, embodies the proud spirit of Africa, an exclusive collection of superior-deluxe hotels, lodges and country houses, offering the highest international standards of service, accommodation and facilities. We therefore truly appreciate comments such as yours from international travellers as it allows us to benchmark our delivery to the international market and we hope we continue to exceed on your expectations for many years to come.

From a fellow Flemish decendant, safe travels and we thank you for the confidence in allowing us to host you.

"Dankje"

Sincerely
Joe Segers & TEAM
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Had heard lots about this place with it's pool deck bar where the tables are in shallow water next to the pool. We had a lovely sunny afternoon and indeed the pool deck bar is easy on the eyes with these huge (2 metre) metal buckets each containing a tree. Lovely landscaping but did notice that the deck itself was looking worse for wear after too many barefoot guests. Looked like it needed revarnishing or something.

The tables in the pool were dirty and we had to ask for them to be cleaned. The menus we were given were also filthy. When visiting the restroom the basin was not clean and there were no towels in the dispenser. Not what you would expect of a five star establishment!

Despite the ambience and courteous service, the bar was ultimately let down by indifferent food and average cocktails. Service was very slow and there was no apology for this. For such a prestigious and grandly named hotel, this aspect of the offering was underwhelming.

It is important to appreciate that we were not staying at the hotel ands the above comments relate only to the service we received at the pool deck bar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Mr. Peripatetic,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to update us on your experiences at the hotel. The value added by yourself will be utilized to better the service offering.

Very sadly, the deck was re-varnished very recently but with the turn of poor weather and the job not being correctly completed it as left a very poor impression. We have rescheduled another date and am most hopeful that this will then allow a great impression to our valued GUESTS.

With regards to your experiences on poor cleanliness and meal and beverage offerings, we can assure you that your comment received urgent attention and refocusing towards the TEAM to an area of the hotel that you experienced.
We are not in the business of making excuses, and accept the poor service you received as an opportunity to simply do it better, that as witness to our many brilliant comments, happens most of the time.

Please allow us to invite you and your partner back in the coming weeks to experience the improvements first hand. We take great pride in all comments, and would love the opportunity of showcasing the improvements first hand. I truly hope we as a TEAM are afforded the opportunity and look forward to hearing from you first hand.

On behalf of the TEAM, please accept our apologies and thank you for your time in the matter.

My Personal Best
Joe Segers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I recently spend a week at the Melrose Arch for business. I love staying there, the location is perfect and you are surrounded by great restaurants, shopping, banking and a gym that
managed to motivate some extra time on the treadmill. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, our breakfasts were delicious and it you have a chance, the chicken pie on their room service menu was outstanding.
Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: love the rooms with balconies.....especially in summer, such a vibe on the square !
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantelcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Hotel
Tastefully furnished, 4 storey local theme hotel hence do not feel too commercialise. Ideal for family stay. Service staff are polite and warm although dinning service can be slow - in room dinning breakfast was delivered 30mins later than the stipulated time on my order, disrupting our schedule as we have to catch a plane.

Room
Spacious room with full length mirror. Non carpeted floor which is good for people with sensitive nose since carpet tends to worsen the situation. However floor can get quite cold so use the bedroom slippers provided. Bed is comfortable with a wide supply of pillows.
Open bathroom concept with room and bathtub/basin area separated by curtain. Toliet is separate by a sliding door which does not come with lock. Standing shower is in the toilet area with see thru glass panel visible from the room hence not ideal if you are staying with a roommate and have a need for privacy. US and UK sockets available at study area with 500MB complimentary internet. Connection is quick and instruction is easy to follow.

Supplies
Amenities provided but short of toothbrush/toothpaste and replenishment of amentities doesn't happen automatically (have to be REQUESTED). Noticed the shoe mitt box is empty upon check-in to the room so left the box opened for replenishment but it was still left opened and empty when I returned in the evening even though bottled water had been replenished. M&Ms chocolates, bottled still and sparking water, cookies, beverage counter (selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate) with hot water flask. Noticed that there are expired items in the minibar so CHECK carefully before consuming.

Surroundings
Reputable restuarants in the surronding with shopping mall just next to hotel. Quiet and away from the buzz of the city area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Rooms are very nice, the location is excellent, but when it comes to cleanliness there is certainly a lot of space for improvements. At least the sheets on top of bed would be easy to check whether clean or not. Hairs on floor in bathroom at arrival show that the floor has not been cleaned at all. And shower gel would not be a luxurious item to offer at such price range. Lobby, restaurant excellent but taking care of the rooms is what counts in the Hotel business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cervino4478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Cervino 4176,

On the outset, our most sincere apologies for the tardiness received with regards to room cleanliness.
We take cognisance of the fact that most of your comment is towards cleanliness and the terrible deviation in standards you received on your visit.

I take full responsibility for the incident and can assure you all areas of responsibility towards the TEAM were immediately addressed. We are positive we know the detail behind your stay already and can assure you that the matter was almost immediately resolved.

While this does not detract from your experience, your comments allowed a better experience to other valued GUESTS by allowing us to correct an area of the TEAM so easily avoidable.
We thank you for taking the time to comment and hope that we will through seperate communication to you see you back to showcase just exactly what we do get right, almost all the time.

Once again, our apologies and thank you for highlighting the opportunity.

Sincerely
Joe & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews