We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Joburg”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The Peech is a very good small hotel with excellent service and good breakfasts. It doesn't have a ton of personality, or I would have given it five stars. The hotel and the area felt very safe and I would recommend it particularly for business travelers.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed the same, but some were much larger than others (just ask)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Sorry to hear our personality did not shine during your stay, but I am pleased to hear that the staff provided excellent service.

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We really enjoyed our time at the Peech hotel. My partner and I got exceptional service from the staff. The place is well kept, the garden is beautiful and serene. The staff looks presentable and they are very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoliswankomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for the great review! I will surely share with the team.

We hope to welcome you back one day!

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at The Peech. All the staff were really helpful and accommodating. We dined at The Peech in the evening and breakfast and all was great. As we left early on our final day the staff arranged breakfast to go with hot coffee for ourselves and our driver. Lovely appointed hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for the great review!
So delighted to hear you were well looked after!

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

There is nothing outstandingly bad about the hotel, but for a hotel that is supposed to blow you away (it was rated 'the best boutique hotel of Africa'), I found it a tad disappointing (or perhaps I had been expecting way too much).

Used this hotel for a layover on the way home after a great tour of South Africa and Sabi Sands. Rooms were adequate and comfortable with sufficient space and a separate living and sleeping area. Bed comfortable with electric blanket which can be turned on at night (but its really hot even at the lowest setting).

Poor internet connectivity on both days we were there. Intermittent and kept on dropping. When available, it was slower then dialup. Even a whatsapp message took a few seconds to get through (not even pictures).

Water pressure was low (although this is probably the city issue) , so much so that the shower ran dry whilst the wife was taking a shower! A quick call to reception settled the issue as they turned on the hotel pump.

We had a quick 'lunch' in the restaurant and the breakfast the next day, and service was pleasant but inordinately slow. I sort of pitied the chap doing the breakfast as he was struggling to keep up with service for everyone. To his credit, he was trying his best and food was still being brought out of the kitchen regularly. Breakfast was made to order and there is a small menu of items to order from. It was adequate.

Average stay in my books.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chua_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope that you had safe travels home.

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

PROS:

Attractive location - upmarket area close to restaurants/cafes (even though it's advisable to taxi or uber at night in Joburg we always felt v safe); Everything was very comfortable; rooms are average size but do have either a small courtyard or balcony; v good standard of fitout; tea/coffee in room; friendly and helpful staff; enjoyed the restaurant and the breakfast was all freshly cooked and table service was a nice change to the many buffet breakfasts we had over the previous month in Africa; a very pretty garden - wish we had stayed a day or two longer as there's so much to see and do in Joburg. Some lovely people from Joburg (we met on our travels) picked us up and showed us the highlights over about 4 hours. A great city - so different to anywhere else in the world. We recommend an organised day tour to make the most of your time - 3 nights here/2 days would have been better (we only had a spare 5 hours before our flight home). We would like to return at a slower pace! Security at the hotel seemed to be very good + safe in room.

CONS:

Not sure if anything can be done about the noisy, metal stairs...people going up/down woke us up a couple of times during the night/v early morning. Perhaps look at room tips and/or ask for a quieter room...maybe top floor might be better?

TO SUM UP:

The noise noted above wasn't a huge problem as we sleep quite well although a light sleeper might have found it a bit annoying. The hotel was once a large house in an affluent area so there's some history + plenty of character. The lobby/bar/restaurant area is very attractive and the open fire was burning when we arrived - gave a very cosy and welcoming feel. We really enjoyed the restaurant as we were v tired after a long day of travel (from Mauritius) - we just had 2 entrees each (delicious) and the staff were friendly & attentive. Thanks to everyone at The Peech Hotel! We recommend it here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience, and I apologize for the noisy stairs. We are in the process of finding a solution!

I will share all your kind words with the team, and we hope to welcome you back one day!

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
795 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.9 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
1.8 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
383 reviews
2.1 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: RM907 - RM1,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing