We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$194
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$94
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agterplaas B&B(Johannesburg)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$74
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$88
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$128
US$114
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$207
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lucky Bean Guesthouse(Johannesburg)
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$283
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
US$448
US$357
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
484
127
18
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
127
18
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelmelrose archwanderers cricketgarden roomresident catgreat boutiquean oasismain buildingsmall hotelsmall poolquiet neighborhoodlong flightstayed two nightsrooms are largetravel agentapartheid museumsouthern africa
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The Peech is a very good small hotel with excellent service and good breakfasts. It doesn't have a ton of personality, or I would have given it five stars. The hotel and the area felt very safe and I would recommend it particularly for business travelers.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed the same, but some were much larger than others (just ask)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Sorry to hear our personality did not shine during your stay, but I am pleased to hear that the staff provided excellent service.

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We really enjoyed our time at the Peech hotel. My partner and I got exceptional service from the staff. The place is well kept, the garden is beautiful and serene. The staff looks presentable and they are very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoliswankomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for the great review! I will surely share with the team.

We hope to welcome you back one day!

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at The Peech. All the staff were really helpful and accommodating. We dined at The Peech in the evening and breakfast and all was great. As we left early on our final day the staff arranged breakfast to go with hot coffee for ourselves and our driver. Lovely appointed hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for the great review!
So delighted to hear you were well looked after!

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

There is nothing outstandingly bad about the hotel, but for a hotel that is supposed to blow you away (it was rated 'the best boutique hotel of Africa'), I found it a tad disappointing (or perhaps I had been expecting way too much).

Used this hotel for a layover on the way home after a great tour of South Africa and Sabi Sands. Rooms were adequate and comfortable with sufficient space and a separate living and sleeping area. Bed comfortable with electric blanket which can be turned on at night (but its really hot even at the lowest setting).

Poor internet connectivity on both days we were there. Intermittent and kept on dropping. When available, it was slower then dialup. Even a whatsapp message took a few seconds to get through (not even pictures).

Water pressure was low (although this is probably the city issue) , so much so that the shower ran dry whilst the wife was taking a shower! A quick call to reception settled the issue as they turned on the hotel pump.

We had a quick 'lunch' in the restaurant and the breakfast the next day, and service was pleasant but inordinately slow. I sort of pitied the chap doing the breakfast as he was struggling to keep up with service for everyone. To his credit, he was trying his best and food was still being brought out of the kitchen regularly. Breakfast was made to order and there is a small menu of items to order from. It was adequate.

Average stay in my books.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chua_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope that you had safe travels home.

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

PROS:

Attractive location - upmarket area close to restaurants/cafes (even though it's advisable to taxi or uber at night in Joburg we always felt v safe); Everything was very comfortable; rooms are average size but do have either a small courtyard or balcony; v good standard of fitout; tea/coffee in room; friendly and helpful staff; enjoyed the restaurant and the breakfast was all freshly cooked and table service was a nice change to the many buffet breakfasts we had over the previous month in Africa; a very pretty garden - wish we had stayed a day or two longer as there's so much to see and do in Joburg. Some lovely people from Joburg (we met on our travels) picked us up and showed us the highlights over about 4 hours. A great city - so different to anywhere else in the world. We recommend an organised day tour to make the most of your time - 3 nights here/2 days would have been better (we only had a spare 5 hours before our flight home). We would like to return at a slower pace! Security at the hotel seemed to be very good + safe in room.

CONS:

Not sure if anything can be done about the noisy, metal stairs...people going up/down woke us up a couple of times during the night/v early morning. Perhaps look at room tips and/or ask for a quieter room...maybe top floor might be better?

TO SUM UP:

The noise noted above wasn't a huge problem as we sleep quite well although a light sleeper might have found it a bit annoying. The hotel was once a large house in an affluent area so there's some history + plenty of character. The lobby/bar/restaurant area is very attractive and the open fire was burning when we arrived - gave a very cosy and welcoming feel. We really enjoyed the restaurant as we were v tired after a long day of travel (from Mauritius) - we just had 2 entrees each (delicious) and the staff were friendly & attentive. Thanks to everyone at The Peech Hotel! We recommend it here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NischkaM, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience, and I apologize for the noisy stairs. We are in the process of finding a solution!

I will share all your kind words with the team, and we hope to welcome you back one day!

Kind Regards
Nischka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews