We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gold Reef Place
Nearby Hotels
US$322
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$189
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
US$96
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$93
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peech Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
2
4
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We stayed at Gold Reef Place for 2 nights, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff are an asset to the guest house, they were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend them to other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peterwilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

A friend booked this for us and him to stay at for our final night in South Africa. The website looked good and the descriptions/images looked promising. Unfortunately, it didn't really fulfil our expectations.

The thatched roofs were quaint, however it meant that we could hear everything (including the theme park). In addition, they don't really help with heating - was a bit chilly. Bits of thatch kept falling into our room. Moreover, when turning the light on, there were strange "spark" noises and flashing - slightly worrying when you are under thatch!!!

Breakfast was a bit disappointing- there were sausages, however they looked uncooked and inedible. A lovely guy made us some eggs, but nothing else was appetising.

My friends room was unclean - strange brown stuff in the shower and sink. He could hear us (under the same thatched roof, different room) - I'm glad we are good friends as it was like he was in the room whilst going to the toilet!!

The only good thing was the shower - hot and powerful.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ruthlesslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavvit, Manager at Gold Reef Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Good day
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your stay was not as expected. We just wish these "issues" could've been brought to our attention at the time of your stay, as these would've been rectified immediately. Given our proximity to Gold Reef City Theme Park (which it states on our website), it is natural to be able to hear the roller-coaster, however, the theme park closes at 17:00 after which there would be no noise whatsoever. In terms of heating, every room does have spare, thick blankets, a heater and we also have electric blankets for each bed, so there was no need to sleep cold. The 'sparks' have been attended to today, and found a lose wire within the light switch, which has now been resolved. This is not something we could've known about, unless, like in this case, it has been brought to our attention, so we appreciate the notice. Sausages that "looked" uncooked? Maybe you could've tried one before determining if they were cooked or not? As for hearing your friend, you were in a 2-bedroomed unit, with an inter-leading door between the rooms, therefore, by being in the same unit, separated by only a door, you will of course hear each other. However, we would've been more than happy to change you to another room or unit, but again this was not brought to our attention. Once again, we apologies you did not have the kind of stay you were expecting - We would love to have the opportunity to show these "minor issues" could've been easily rectified.

Thank you kindly
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We booked a 2 night stay at Gold Reef Place. we were very pleased with what was on offer as advertised and to our dismay. After coming from a beautiful Lodge in Mulderdrift to this was just a bad ending to our beautiful holiday. A long list, The pillows were batting stuffed in pillow cases, no bin in the room, we had to put the kettle on the floor to make coffee, we had to ask for milk each day. The ironing board could not stand and the iron.... no words. We refused to eat breakfast there after seeing what the main house looked like. No soap dish in the shower and no aircon in that heat. We went out for the day only to return to find our room was not cleaned no clean towels. I would never go back there and never recommend this place to anyone. The list of Taxi's, nobody answers those numbers and all the Take away numbers are mixed. What a mess up and miserable holiday!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I booked 3 nights accommodation at Gold Reef Place for my husband and brother for the weekend (04-07 October 2012). Needless to say, what was "promised" by this guest house, is not what was delivered. The services advertised for this guest house included DStv as well as breakfast, that was said to include (among other things) eggs, bacon and sausage. However, the DStv that was available was limited to SABC 1,2,3 and eTV and a Super Sport Blitz channel and at breakfast no bacon or sausage was to be found instead what was on offer was left overs from the night before and eggs if you were up for those. When the staff were asked where the bacon and sausage were, the response given was: there isn't any. Not exactly what you expect for R500.00 per night accommodation. I would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Me, my wife and 2 daughters stayed over in Gold Reef Place for 2 nights. We were very surprised to find this little gem in Johannesburg. For a superb rate we could sleep in peace, have our car in secure parking and were able to reach different locations in and around Johannesburg with ease. Very neat and spacious rooms, clean bathrooms and make-up service while we could spend our time to do what we wanted to do. We will highly recomend this place to other guests and will stay over again on our next visit to Johannesburg. Thanks Gold Reef Place, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will see you again!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Johann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews