We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
26
27
18
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
27
18
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe air conditioningstayed only one nighta la carte menufiletweddingspa
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were so blessed to get married at Lombardy. Needless to say we made the booking quite late and were a bit disorganised! But the team (especially Madelie) really went out of their way to make our day special. The food was spectacular, all the guests agreed. And the service was great. We were offered complementary accommodation in their honeymoon suite which was stunning!!! It's a pity we had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight as i'm sure the breakfast would've been terrific.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeratoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

One night stay with my husband was a little short, could have had two nights. Staff pleasant but a little scarce at times. Rooms lovely, big and clean. Wasn't keen on the view from our mini patio (just grass and trees, no flowers or garden). No bar or cocktails available. Dinner at the small restaurant was a bit of a let-down. We sat outside and had a couple of drinks before dinner, when we got up to go shower/change the waiter placed a 'reserved' sign on our table and promised to keep it, when we returned half hour later there was another couple sitting at our table! We sat inside and were given our menus, waited a long while before a waiter took our order for food and wine. Starters were good. Mains not so good, my Rump Steak was bland, my husbands Sole was sent back to kitchen (rotten) and was replaced with Fillet Steak (good) but no starch was given only a small dish of steamed vegetables. Dessert was nice. Slept well in lovely big bed.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet and private so any room will do.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We only had a one night (Saturday night) stay over at Lombardy but it was enough have a good rest. The service was very good and they were very accommodating when we requested a late check out on the Sunday as we wanted to have a treatment done at their new spa (Solstice spa was fantastic). The service at the restaurant was a bit slow but the quality of the food made up for it - every meal we had in the restaurant was top quality.

The only drawback was the sleep quality - we were woken by the auto air freshener that works on a timer and started quite early in the morning and was loud enough to wake us. Ask for this to be adjusted for a bit later in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions in May and both times we were blown away by this fabulously beautiful place. It is so luxurious but so unassuming. The staff were so friendly and helpful that we felt like invited guests. Our first trip was a stopover on our way to Vic Falls so we really only slept there. We thought our first suite was wonderful – it was very spacious. Attention to detail showed in things like the TV being on a swivelling board for watching in the lounge area or in bed. The bathroom was lovely with separate cubicles and generous amounts of quality toiletries.
We choose to go back to Lombardy for a second visit before leaving South Africa because we wanted more time to enjoy it. On this occasion in another room and it was even nicer (which we didn’t think possible). The bathroom in that room was incredible with a shower and deep bath in the same enclosure. We were shown several other rooms when we admired their style and they were all different and very beautifully appointed.

We choose to spend a lovely day just relaxing in these beautiful surroundings – we could have gone into Pretoria shopping but could not bring ourselves to leave the sunny guest lounge. The food at Lombardy is brilliant. Generous breakfasts in the library overlooking the courtyard, a delightful lunch outside overlooking the beautiful gardens, an exquisite evening meal in the dining room (with lovely wood fire) and the wonderful room service - we tried them all and were most impressed.

Lombardy felt like France, Italy and Africa all rolled into one and, whenever we talk about our trip to Africa, Lombardy is always the first place mentioned. We would go back tomorrow if we could !

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews