We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Tree House(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
125
49
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
49
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseclose to the city centermin walkfriendly environmentone nightbeautiful gardenyogurtparking areawarm hospitalityenjoyed my stayeasy accessthe main housebreakfast was excellentstay there againclean roomsbusiness triphome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Piet is an extremely friendly, welcoming host. The period house has been lovingly restored along with the guest rooms which are in the old workers quarters. The rooms all have a veranda that is perfect for sun-downer drinks, and the rooms all have dish TV and internet access (for a small extra fee). The breakfasts are great. The location is safe and quiet with walkable streets – in fact there are joggers each morning and evening running up to the Union Building terraces for exercise. It also has easy access to downtown and to the Hatfield Gautrain and restaurants.
This guest house is perfect for business workers and for tourists – especially for first time visitors who are nervous about feeling safe and welcome in South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have the best veranda views
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricHalfaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for posting a review. It was a pleasure having you here. We are already looking forward to your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I'm a regular guest at the Melvin Residence in Pretoria, at least three times a month. For me, it's a home away from my Cape Town home. Conveniently situated, close to a Hatfield Gautrain bus stop, it's also a short hop into the city, and right on the access routes to get to the east of Pretoria. I particularly like the rooms, all with an outside entrance, so there isn't the sense of intruding into someone's home when you get back from dinner. Yet Piet and Elise's home is open and welcoming when you do venture in. Very comfortable rooms, seriously excellent breakfasts (the omelets are well worth a try), it's difficult to imagine choosing to go elsewhere when staying in Pretoria.

Room Tip: Always turn down Room number 1. That's reserved for me. :-))
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for submitting a review of our facility. I beleive you are right . .room1 is reserved for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We were welcomed by the congenial owner Piet van Biljon. The atmosphere was homely, warm and friendly. The breakfasts were excellent. The setting is beautiful, and conveniently placed in Pretoria near the Union Buildings and restaurants serving delicious food. The facilities for internet access were fantastic. The rooms were comfortable. Tea and coffee are available in the rooms. Piet is an excellent host and our overall impression was very good. We would have no hesitation in returning to stay at this happy venue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to ensure that we provide a good service. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

A frienly welcome is your first experience, but then this is continued during your whole stay in the guesthouse, from pleasant chatting with Piet at breakfast until the heartfelt goodbye with his wife at departure. Centrally located in a wonderful central part of Pretoria, surrounded by a lush garden, your every wish is fulfilled before you have finished you question. Excellent suggestions for diner and week end trips makes you stay more than enjoyable. I stayed for more that two months and was happy to come back for another two weeks with no more warm welcome and service that I could wish for.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, have a balcony, but room 1 and 2 are somewhat bigger with room 1 having an extra corner.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Hi Dirk

Thank you for the review you posted. You became like a member of the family after such a long stay. We hope to see you back in Pretoria real soon!

Regards Piet & Elize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Really kind staff - you feel very welcome. Close to the union building where you can run all the layers down. Also close to the city center and especially a very nice view on Pretoria from the balkony. There is a gautrain bus station which brings you safely to the Gautrain station Hatfield which departs every 12 min to Johannesbourg. The rooms are enjoyable and offers all you need.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre_Pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for the review.
It is alway nice to get positive feedback.
It was a pleasure having you guys here.
We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews