We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Black Bamboo

Black Bamboo
Ranked #7 of 738 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Black Bamboo offers a truly unique, world-class dining experience, which celebrates the synergy between food, wine and art. An ever-changing a-la-carte menu is inspired by international delicacies with a local twist, and a carefully selected wine list offers interesting options for every palate and occasion.
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We visited The Black Bamboo last night for dinner and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the excellent service. We elected to eat off the a la carte menu and were treated to a tasty mushroom soup amuse bouche. Highlights include the springbok mainand the pork belly as well as the Millefeuile dessert. The attention to detail is amazing and the raspberry and red pepper sorbet palate cleanser a real revelation! Our knowledgeable waiter was wonderful - the perfect balance between attentive and not invasive. Only negatives were that a number of the drinks we requested off the menu were out of stock and that we had a table right near the lift where people come and go to the hotel which rather affects the ambiance. Also, the door to the rather chilly outside kept on being left open. We will definitely go back and give the ever changing tasting menu a try.

Thank Annelise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Annelise G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your valuable comments and for pointing out our shortcomings; the issues at hand will be addressed. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future and to achieve full 5 stars.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We had a top class experience celebrating my husband's birthday. Excellent food and service. Comprehensive wine list etc. Not your ordinary pretoria restaurant. Treat yourself!!

Thank Derica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Derica2014,

Thank you for reviewing. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This is the top of fine dining in Pretoria. Intimate atmosphere, excellent waiters and top notch food. What more can one ask for?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Renate V,

It is such a pleasure to read your great review, thank you for taking the time to write it. Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This place is a must for any foody! The pairing of wine and food, service, atmosphere, food presentation out of this world!!!!

Thank sipes0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear sipes0611,

Thank you for the great review. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We have been to Black Bamboo a few times now and the experience seems to just be getting better and better. We had the 5 course food and wine pairing. We loved variety of textures and tastes with the food, but most impressive was the attention to detail of the unique wine pairing with the various food combinations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luipie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Luipie10,

Thank you for reviewing us and rating us 5 out of 5. Your comments are valued and will be passed on to the team. It is great to hear that "the experience seems to just be getting better and better" - thank you! Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for the excellent review.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bamboo also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Black Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing