We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food... Busy busy”
Review of Cafe 41

Cafe 41
Ranked #63 of 737 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Quench your thirst for a continental dining experience on a leafy patio in the heart of Pretoria. Cafe41 Eastwood offers a sophisticated, unique menu attracting local and international guests for its cosmopolitan atmosphere, whilst remaining relaxed and informal. Tempt yourself with a peek at an impressive wine collection admired from an open plan setting connecting the main floor and a cosy lounge with a fireplace. Cafe41 has been the winner of the Diner's Club Gold Award Best Wine List 3 years in a row. Should you want a venue for an intimate gathering, business meeting or a chic get-together, Cafe41 will make it a memorable experience with friendly staff, heated patios and a carefully crafted playlist to keep the mood just right. Platters are available and well-worth the experience.
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Went there for a business meeting. Parking was a nightmare. Tramazinis are great however due to their popularity one tends to wait quite a while. Definitely a good place to meet with colleagues for a casual business lunch.

Thank MzWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basil A, Owner at Cafe 41, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Good day,

Thank you very much for the review, much appreciated.

Regards,
Basil, Jacqui and the 41 Eastwood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Cafe 41 is a misnomer as this is more than a cafe. The have wine , beer and cocktails and a good collection of single malt whisky and cigars too. Too early for any of that for us we had a Chicken Shwerma wrap which came with fried potato slices. The wrap had plenty of hummus and cucumber and was not dry. My companion had a veggie burger. We also had Mango juice and a juice cocktail. Very informal and very convenient with parking in the shopping center, inside and outside seating.

Thank Samosababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basil A, Owner at Cafe 41, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Good day,

Thank you so much for the review, much appreciated.

Keep well.

Regards,
Basil, Jacqui and the 41 Eastwood Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast and lunch here on siffeeent occasions. The food is tasty and well presented. A good suburban cafe with a range of options. Greek scrambled eggs made for a great breakfast. The cheese burger a very filling lunch.

Thank Tim_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basil A, Owner at Cafe 41, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Good day Tim,

Thank you very much for the positive review, much appreciated.

Regards,
Basil, Jacqui and the 41 Eastwood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This is my local - we have eaten here since it opened, watched it change ownership and know the menu off by heart. Today I took a colleague there for lunch, and we ordered a side of creamed spinach with our meal, placed between us in a small bowl. Halfway through the meal, my colleague pulls out a single hair from the spinach. We alert the waitress, who takes the bowl away, saying that its odd because the kitchen staff all have their hair covered. She did not apologise, nor say that she'll call the manager. A few minutes later, the manager comes over, we presume to apologise. Instead he says that there is no way the hair came from the kitchen, and none of their staff have hair like that. We are stunned - surely the service ethic would be to firstly apologise, perhaps express disbelief that it got into the bowl in the kitchen and reassure us about their quality control, before offering a replacement? Instead his attitude is almost accusatory, and the tables around us stop their chatter to listen. My colleague asks if he's implying that we deliberately inserted the hair into the bowl. At which the manager says that I have hair like that found in the bowl, and none of his staff do. This was getting ridiculous. The manager storms off - still no apology, nor a replacement. We pay, including for the spinach, which is indicated in our bill, and leave. We shall not be visiting this establishment again. The manager and staff need basic service ethic training. I am very sad since Minas, the owner and founder of Cafe41, did not start off the franchise with this arrogant attitude towards customers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunshinePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basil A, Owner at Cafe 41, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Good day Sunshine,

Am very sad to read and believe this review.
As mentioned to you, you were more than welcome to come inspect our kitchen and its members regarding the hair issue.
Unfortunately, you have your own opinion and its sad that you were a regular customer and you fault the business on this one and only incident/occasion.

Regards,
Basil, Jacqui and the 41 Eastwood Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Frequented Cafe 41 in Centurion and associated them with good value for money.
I guess the expectation bar would need to come down a notch: and this one is bland food and service - can't justify the price tag.
It was exciting to have the option to build a panini but in the end he excitement was just that - not the experience. Brought it to attention of manager along with the cold coffee. And.. yip... nothing - bland as the food.
They are 800m from my home - I will give them a pass

Thank Ineke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basil A, Owner at Cafe 41, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Good day Ineke,

Thank you.

Regards,
The 41 Eastwood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 41 also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Cafe 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing