We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Ramkiki

Ramkiki
Ranked #35 of 91 Restaurants in Roodepoort
Cuisines: International
Description: Be welcomed as you walk amongst the willow trees on a bridge that crosses the Wilge River, which naturally runs through our property. Enjoy our magnificent manicured gardens and flowers throughout the seasons. Our two commercial kitchens easily accommodate the demands of weekday and weekend lunches and dinners, conferences, events, weddings and large functions. The undercover kiddies area is perfect for families to eat, relax and play. Visitors from out of town? Not an issue - Ramkiki offers accommodation on site. Our multiple luxurious rooms offer TV, WiFi and room service. We even boast a bridal suite. Complete with a chapel or an option of a poolside location, your wedding dreams become a reality at Ramkiki. Our conference centre offers the perfect setting for corporate and personal events with multiple rooms to allow for a function of any size. Our 300 capacity carpark with security at the entrance and patrolling guards allows your guests to enjoy their time at our venue. RAMKIKI - be our guest. We hope to see yu soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Be welcomed as you walk amongst the willow trees on a bridge that crosses the Wilge River, which naturally runs through our property. Enjoy our magnificent manicured gardens and flowers throughout the seasons. Our two commercial kitchens easily accommodate the demands of weekday and weekend lunches and dinners, conferences, events, weddings and large functions. The undercover kiddies area is perfect for families to eat, relax and play. Visitors from out of town? Not an issue - Ramkiki offers accommodation on site. Our multiple luxurious rooms offer TV, WiFi and room service. We even boast a bridal suite. Complete with a chapel or an option of a poolside location, your wedding dreams become a reality at Ramkiki. Our conference centre offers the perfect setting for corporate and personal events with multiple rooms to allow for a function of any size. Our 300 capacity carpark with security at the entrance and patrolling guards allows your guests to enjoy their time at our venue. RAMKIKI - be our guest. We hope to see yu soon.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We looked into the venture for a quick drink on the at home after a lazy Sunday. Really great setting and the kids are a has really improved. Service was good and the live entertainment pleasant. I have not eaten at the venture and heard there were some concerns from not only this site buy other friends. I would suggest we try support them as they are at least trying to improve not like others.

Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Lovely setting, great playground, service was good unfortunately the food is lousy. Perhaps owners should simplify menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bronwynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtpub, Director Joe at Ramkiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Bronwynne,

Unfortunately with your brief description of the food you gave we do not know what was wrong . I have spoken to all the waiters and chefs who were on duty on Friday the 30th and no one recalls any complaint. We are striving to improve all aspects of our Business and we believe in good quality and our customers always come first. Please get in touch with me on either 011 9580503 or 0824418685 so we can find out what was wrong and work on fixing it.

Many thanks,

Joe Theron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Great live music venue with good food and good service. Owner Joe is almost always there and is very helpful. Great kids play area close to patio. Buffet at pool area is tops. Last 2 times we were there, fresh braai meat was served off the flames and into your plate, and the meat was good quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith_Moister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Well guys, what an experience.... this place leaves a LoT to be desired. Food was really not good fillet was tenderized, Eisbein fatty cold and stodgy. Potato ice cold. Waitress was useless needed 6 attempts to get 4 wine glasses. Great market and atmosphere but really not worth the shocking food!!! My daughters mince was liver ... really guys this is not acceptable.

Thank Dewy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe T, Manager at Ramkiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Dewy,

I am sorry to read about your experience you had at Ramkiki and I do apologise. I tried calling your daughter who made the booking to try and find out more as I only got my Staff's side of the events, unfortunately she did not answer. Our Head chef on the day Maxwell said that by the time he came to review your complaint about the Fillet steak it had already been eaten. I can confirm that we do NOT sell tenderized steak and I personally invite you back at any time convenient for you and unannounced to us to order a steak and if it is tenderized I will not charge you and I will personally give you R1000 in cash. Maxwell said he was also confused re the Eisbein and the Ravioli as you asked him for take away boxes for these. Please contact me if this was not the case.

Antoinette your waiter said she brought you only two glasses with your first bottle of wine at 12.30 and does recall you asking for another two which she said she brought you a few minutes later. Was the attempt for the 4 glasses on the second or third bottle of wine you ordered two or three hours later. The mince could only have been mince as we do not stock liver at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Attended a wedding of a close friend, and besides all the drama she herself had to deal with, with wrong quotes, conflicting advice, and basically paying for everything she DIDN’T receive, to still having to set the event up for herself... The service from the staff and management on the day can be compared to nothing less than a nightmare!
From torn umbrellas being placed for the guests to sit under during the ceremony, to the manager bringing out an order for one of the guests screaming “table number 2” during one of the speeches! With everything else that went wrong (mains being served before starters, guests ordering 5 or more times what they would like to eat with the senile staff etc), the highlight of the evening was the manager telling the guests they need to leave 40 minutes before the actual cut off time of what the bride and groom paid for, he then came out waiting at the door with his back pack on, waiting to lock up.

1  Thank Shona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tersia T, Owner at Ramkiki, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Shona,
We have replied to your friend's complaint about quotes, conflicting advice and what she paid for. We must remind you that on the day no complaints were brought to management’s attention on any of these issues accept the confusion with the food orders, and at least 3 managers were available. We apologise for the one torn umbrella placed at the wedding ceremony but we were informed by the garden staff that it tore in the process of being moved from its normal position to accommodate a last minute request for umbrellas in the garden. The validity of your letter is placed in question due to such conflicting reports about the day. You stating that the night manager told the guests to leave 40 minutes before the cut-off which would have been at 10.20 pm, while your friend stated that this happened almost an hour earlier is an example.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramkiki also viewed

Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
 
Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
 
Krugersdorp, Greater Johannesburg
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ramkiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing