We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Valentine's weekend out on the Vaal river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I had taken my wife for a night out and the reception staff very good. the less said about the antique furnisher in the room the better. this looks like you are still in the 1930's. I did not like it. the view of the river and the gardens are stunning and well looked after. we enjoyed our time in the pool area and the waitresses were splendid. the nearby massage SPA is something not to be missed.

fastforward to dinner, what a disappointment. the staff doesn't look happy and are very happazard. the lady who did our omelette in the morning seemed angry with herself. I wold advice management to give attention to staff happiness. they look unhappy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 244johannesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear 244johannesm

Thank you for the review. I am glad that you found the reception staff very good as well as the service around the pool. There is definitely something in the pipeline for the furniture and we have implemented a staff wellness program that will definitely assist in lifting the staff happiness.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Craig Swart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Well situated with excellent breathtaking view of the Vaal River. One of those properties I simply refer to as the perfect get away, far from the madding crowd.

Great reception team as well restaurant staff. Stunning gardens with courteous staff that constantly checked on us with regards to refreshments.

The hotel need to improve on house keeping requests and follow through. Thanks to the manager for his professionalism in handling guest's queries. Thank Mr. CRAIG...sorry I forgot your surname.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Victor S

Thank you for the review and for the kind words. I am glad that you and the family enjoyed yourselves and found our facilities and staff appealing. I know that you are a BONAMI member so we will definitely see you back soon.

Craig Swart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Worst food ever eaten at a buffet for R175, worst than kfc and I hate kfc! Staff looked like off head chickens, waited 45min for a toasted sandwich. Staff not friendly at all and not helpful in any way

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Estelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Estelle V

Again please accept my apologies that your visit to our restaurant was not up to standard, and thank you for taking my call and engaging with me. I have addressed your area's of concern with my team and I am sure that there will be a marked improvement.

Craig Swart
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I enjoyed the hotel stay. The staff at reception and at the restaurant are friendly and very helpful.
They need to look into upgrading the menu, especially for dinner. It was lack lustre. The hotel needs to look at having irons & iron boards into each room.

Room Tip: Upgrade the mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NgwanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear NgwanaM

Thank you for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the friendliness of the staff. We are currently testing new menu items and will have a new menu shortly so your next stay will be even better. We have looked into the irons in every room however the risk far outweighs the rewards. We will definitely be looking at how we can make our iron station more user friendly.

Thanks
Craig Swart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

1) lunch staff have incorrect info to advise re dinner offerings
2) bath in 'upgraded' room is tiny, old and faded
3) wood paneling falling apart in room
4) general feeling and 'smell' of the hotel is 1 to 2 stars max
5) painting and general feeling is a faded remnant of something once decent
6) staff appear tired and jaded
7) being advised to rate hotel on this forum on the tv not a great welcome
8) menu limited
9) someone needs to teach the chef what a Caprese salad really is -if I wanted cheddar cheese block salad..oh well
10) only been here 8 hours so far..let's see how tomorrow pans out..

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank davidgreen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear davidgreen69

Thank you for your review and for taking my call to get further feedback.
Whilst it is never nice to receive a complaint. Sometimes we need to hear it so that we can rectify accordingly and grow better from the experience.
I have heard your comments and will be rectifying where possible so that our offering improves accordingly.

Craig Swart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vereeniging
11.2 km away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#2 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
1,064 reviews
21 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
3 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
21.1 km away
Ingwe Guest Lodge
Ingwe Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
10 reviews
19.1 km away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: 10 Mario Milani Road | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1939, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range: RM 203 - RM 440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing