We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitors - a good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This was our 3rd or 4th visit so we knew what to expect and that does make a difference but more than that - as Bonami club members - this trip was really value for money. And that allows you to overlook some of the standards / services.

The rooms are comfortable and clean and the views really nice.

The bathrooms - well I have just read a lot of negative reviews - which is what made me decide to review our stay too. The hotel does not deserve al the negativity - revise your expectations - look for the specials, and you will not be disappointed.

Yes the baths are small and with the glass screen, actually can be difficult to get out of, but perhaps some of the rooms have bigger baths and you may wish to make enquiries before selecting a room. The bathrooms themselves are not unattractive.

With regard to meal choices - the alacarte menu is not extensive - and it still surprises me that Pizzas are not available - but for a few days stay, its quite adequate. Dinners - well the buffet choices are more extensive on the weekends - and yet I don't think the prices change during the week and paying full price one has higher expectations. But as Bonami members (it was our first year as members) we could not complain and felt the hotel offered real value for money. We will happily return.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter over the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GillianJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear GillianJhb

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

Firstly, welcome to BONami, its great to have you in the club!

Thank you for your lovely review and for coming up for us - we appreciate it! Our hotel is old and quirky but she is so special and holds a place in so many peoples' hearts!

Once again, thank you for being an advocate for our hotel and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

First impressions were wonderful with the views to the river from reception very inviting. Room was comfortable and again, those views!! We couldn't get our swimmers on quick enough and planned to have a cocktail in our hands asap. The pool lounges were filthy, top and bottom. The children's pool was full of bugs, leaves, dirt and a DEAD FLOATING FROG. As our 3 year old waded in mould and dirt came up off the bottom. Very disappointed we retreated to our room and found a better option in Aquaworld at Emerald Casino. Such a shame as the staff were attentive, although dismissed the dirty pool area as 'there was a storm last night.' I'd mention the poor food but it gets a reprieve because of the DEAD FLOATING FROG.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Good afternoon Dan P

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

Firstly, thank you for your comment regarding our staff - they are such an asset to our hotel!

On behalf of our Maintenance Department, I would like to apologise for the state of the pool. Our swimming pools are checked by them several times a day and they clearly did not check the kids pool properly. As a family resort we pride ourselves in our child friendly offerings and we take your comments most seriously. Our Maintenance Manager has assured me that he has put measure in place to prevent this from happening again.

We do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future!

Kind regards,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This must be one of the worst hotels i have stayed at especially for the price per night for such an old outdated hotel. As to service it was very disappointing. The toilet kept leaking although reported, was never fixed, they must have had either double bookings as to conferences or its just general bad service on the same weekend, which caused most of the time, short of food and drinks, the gala evening, the room that was used air con did not work, if you book a big conference like this, you must make damn sure all your staff are well trained and all maintenance issues are working before the time. On 2 of the evenings, they ran out of food or drinks, the gala evening supper was ok but the desserts were disgusting.
Although a few staff very friendly, in general the staff need to be trained urgently.
like if they really didn't care. This hotel has the potential to be a very impressive place to stay due to the location, but it is old, outdated and definitely would not recommend to stay for a holiday, business or ever use for a function. It was a rip off for the amount we paid to stay at such a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 251naomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Good afternoon 251noamir

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

We are most shocked to hear of your experience and we would like to discuss this with you in person, can I ask you to kindly reply with your contact details or get in touch with me on 016 420 1300?

Many thanks and kind regards,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

I did not enjoy my stay here. I paid the deposit and receive the booking confirmation, on my arrival I was told that I should have called to confirm my visit after the payment. That did not make sense at all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mthandenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Good afternoon Mthandenim

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

We would like to apologise for the miscommunication regarding your booking, the matter has been addressed.

You mention that you did not enjoy your stay, was this due to the booking issue or is there something else that I can follow up on?

Kind regards,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

This was our first stay at this lovely 'Old World' hotel.It is situated in beautiful surroundings on the Vaal River.Our garden suite was spacious,clean and furnished with with comfortable good taste. The romantic turn down service offered was well worth the extra cost.
The staff including the General Manager and Nancy in the dining room made every effort to make our anniversary a very special occasion.A big thank you to all the hardworking staff.
A coat of paint to the outside of the hotel would surely bring out the architectural beauty and ambience of this 'grand old dame'.
The excellent buffet breakfast was tasty and offered very good variety to suit all tastes.
This establishment is well worth a visit for any occasion.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 886andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Good day 886andrew

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

We so appreciate receiving lovely comments from our guests and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed spending your 22nd Wedding Anniversary with us. I will be certain to pass your feedback on to Nancy, she is one of our stars!

We hope to see you again soon and once again, Happy Anniversary!

Kind regards,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vereeniging
11.2 km away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#2 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
1,052 reviews
11.9 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
21 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
21.1 km away
Ingwe Guest Lodge
Ingwe Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
8 reviews
19.1 km away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: 10 Mario Milani Road | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1939, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range: RM261 - RM633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing