We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
An Upper Room(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridgeview Lodge(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Lodge(Durban)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenview Guest House(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
10
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

We needed accommodation urgently, Cindy and her welcoming staff made sure we were well taken care of. Lovely pool area, well kept rooms. Amazing indeed. The location is perfect, right next to Florida Roa.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Nkuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed there 14 days. The management of the hotel ensured proper service and facilities. The place is very clean and well maintained. I will recommend this place anytime for anyone who is looking for quality at an affordable cost.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

As a group of 7 Canadians it isn't always possible to satisfy everyone but Bon Ami certainly did its best. We stayed here 3 nights in May 2014 in the middle of an African Adventure. We were 2 couples and 3 single women. I loved how everything is centred around a large central courtyard area. The cars were parked securely on the grassy area, there was the pool area where we ate breakfast with the honour bar attached and a communal lounge, dining room, kitchen if we needed. The breakfast was well done and the staff very friendly and professional.

Florida Road being just outside of the gate made the stay very convienent. This would be an excellent location for a woman or women staying in Durban. Very safe.

It is also purrfect for cat lovers as there are quite a few very well behaved felines roaming around.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room just above the pool. It is large and has two beds. It might be noisy with a loud group in the bar but as we were the group, it was fine for us!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just spent 4 days at the Bon Ami with my wife and daughter and it suited us nicely.
The staff were very pleasant and the location was ideal .( 5mins to the beach and promenade by car ).Breakfast from 6.30 to 9.00 am was great with a variety of cereals followed by a wide range of bacon , sausage , mushrooms and my favourite 'spiced boiled eggs' although one can also have fried, scrambled etc.
Within a 5 minute walk there are 3 good restaurants .
We were fortunate that although the hotel was full there was no noise at night but I imagine if there was a rowdy crowd sleep would be a bit harder due to the layout of the rooms.
All in all an enjoyable base to explore Durban from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BearDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

As a regular traveler, both on business and with my spouse, I like to help other travelers differentiate between romantic and business get aways. Bon Ami is a large establishment that is best suited to the exec who is in Durban for a week at a time. I would not recommend it to a couple on holiday looking for r&r.

Pro's:
Location, clean rooms, honesty bar (closes at midnight)

Con's:
Dining area is one large table - you feel like you're at a canteen.
Staff take their morning tea in the common area's.
The resident cats have their food bowels placed all over the property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews