We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FatManc
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We booked this as the start of my parent's Golden Anniversary holiday to South Africa. We wanted to have a few days chilling by the beach before moving on to a game reserve and the Midlands.

Our first shock was the view to the right of the property - a run down apartment complex. It was teeming with students playing loud music and lots of alcohol being consumed. I realise that you can't choose your neighbours but didn't really expect this from such an "exclusive" neighbourhood. It immediately put us on edge.

The second thing was that the "manager" of the accommodation actually lives in a little room within the property boundary. Again, no problem with this but nothing was mentioned in the write-up.

The property itself looked great from outside. Inside was a different story.... It must be a work in progress as some rooms are lovely (lounge, kitchen and master bedroom). Others are not very good at all ie no working aircon, very dark, etc. We struggled to accommodate our party as no-one really wanted to sleep in the back bedrooms. One had a door leading outside which didn't look very safe / secure. Not ideal for a 15 year old girl to sleep on her own.

The dishwasher in the kitchen didn't work - again nothing mentioned until we queried it with the manager.

Overall, we thought the accommodation was very overpriced for the facilities offered. We certainly wouldn't return in a hurry.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
I am surprised that you were disappointed when you visited in April. It is now August, I would have loved to have responded earlier. We have had many good reviews. Please refer to reviews page on TripAdvisor website.

The neighbors are not normally a problem, you must have caught them on a special occasion.

It is normal in South Africa to have staff living on the property in their own separate accommodation. This provides a great service to the guests.

Security is exceptional. The house is equipped with a full alarm system linked to 24 hour armed response.

All equipment is new and in good working order. If there are any problems I rely on guests advising me timeously of any problem.

Regards

Charmainne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhanyiR
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a wonderful stay. Felt like a home away from home. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Thank u

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lungilekh...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Good time at the beach house”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we had a marvellous, wonderful and fabulous time at C'est La Vie Beach house. The house is closer to the beach and child friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: neatness of the house and its closeness to the beach, having the privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to host Lungile and guests. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing