We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
96
117
70
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
117
70
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprotea hoteltwo double bedsthe general managerhotel staffhluhluwe game reservepublic areasthe hotel offerszulu dancingpleasant staysome tlcpool areagift shopclose proximitygame drivesnight staywonderful experiencelounge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My wife and I had an amazing experience despite having our weekend away start on a disastrous note with the original accommodation not meeting our standards. This was a walk up booking for the Anew hotel and the staff went out of their way to make up for our bad start.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cnaid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear cnaidoo

Thank you so much for your great feedback on your recent stay at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris. I will certainly share this feedback with the rest of the team.We are so happy to hear that we have been able to exceed your expectations when staying with us while travelling through our beautiful area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. And we wishing you many more years of married bliss.

Kind regards

Sadira Nayager
General Manager
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We had a large double room that was superb but some distance from the facilities. The rooms which were closer were rather tiny. The bedside light didn't work. Senzo promised to get it sorted but I had to ask again and then the lady manageress was kind enough to replace the globe.
The buffet breakfast offered had a large variety and was thoroughly enjoyable.
The staff were by and large very friendly and helpful.

However the problem that persisted throughout our stay was the awful odour that emanated from our toilet in room 119 despite repeated attempts by the staff to deal with the stench.

None of the other toilets we used at the hotel had this problem. I even asked for an air freshener but they didn't supply that.

We had originally been allocated room 120 but when we asked for a closer room we were given room 119 which turned out to be right opposite 120.

On the second day we could not get into our room with the room cards. We handed the cards to a helper who said he would get two new cards. They did not inform us that everyday they reprogramme the cards. We waited outside our room but nobody brought any cards.

So we had to trek to reception to get the new cards.
They also change the wi-fi password every day unlike other hotels like the Radisson Blu. The wi fi worked well throughout the hotel.

On the last night the hotel blacked out because of load shedding but it came on again pretty quickly thanks to the automatic hotel generator.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was well taken care of.

Overall, despite the challenges, we had a fairly pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Check the toilet before you accept a room.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Deena P

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear we have not been able to meet and exceed your expectations while visiting the Hluhluwe area.

We will most definitely use your detailed comments focused on further improving our services and facilities for all of our guests. And I can assure you that after I had been to your room to sort out the odour in your toilet and light fitting, I immediately addressed this with my maintenance and housekeeping department to prevent this from occurring again, no other feedback was received on this during your stay. As advised all rooms closer to reception was booked and the alternative for you was two small compared to room 119 that you stayed in. All other points raised has been discussed with the management team to rectify.

I would also like to thank you for the chat and feedback you had given me during your stay with us,

Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests. We do hope to see you soon whenever your travels bring you back to Hluhluwe.

Yours sincerely,


Kind Regards
Sadira Nayager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This establishment was comfortable and clean although did show some signs of aging. Facilities were reasonable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Meals of a good standard but not a huge variety at breakfast Location is within good distance to the entry to the wild life park

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Jeff H

Thank you very much for your review with regards to your recent stay at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris. We value your feedback as it is integral to us in improving our product an services. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sadira Nayager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

It was a surprise weekend away for my birthday and our anniversary I must say we had a great stay and a memorable weekend.. everything was perfect..ovarall was exellent. Will be coming back with friends soon.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nozzy_Alondwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Nozzy_Alondwe

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us! We appreciate your praise for our hotel as our team work very hard to ensure every guest feels right at home. We are delighted you had a memorable weekend during your time with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back , and providing more memories.

Kind Regards
Sadira Nayager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Convenient stop-over when travelling north from the south coast and certainly a good stop for visiting the nearby game parks.
Staff very friendly and the buffet breakfast was excellent value, the bathroom in our room could have done with a little TLC but otherwise no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 725bobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear 725bobf

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Kind Regards
Sadira Nayager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews