We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Marlin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gee Wizz B & B(Scottburgh)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pearly Shells(Scottburgh)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
99
111
25
10
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
111
25
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardining roomreception staffsouth coastbreakfast and dinnergreat viewwalking distancefamily hotelsaga repfew yearsspecial mentionrelaxing holidayplay areasea viewindian oceanevening entertainmentbeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a few days of our honeymoon at the Blue Marlin. We enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and room service was prompt. Did not enjoy the buffet though. I recommend going to Mozambik or C Breeze within a five minute drive from the hotel. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the pool alot.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Natasha

Thank you for your review of the Blue Marlin, We are disappointed with your comment about not enjoying the buffet, but as your review is for your stay in April 2017 I am confident that the buffet has improved since then.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Terrible stay , terrible room . Prize was for superior room however I was given a room.belOW reception level no view , dirty sheets , dust on frames absolutely not.impressed won a 2 night stay but checked out after first night

Room Tip: Sheets should be cleaned , and dust from frames removed , also fridge should be cleaned and working , pillow should be firmer , carpets also should be cleaned . And for a superior room u would expect a view of the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nadiafyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Nadia

Your comments are in dispute. We have investigated your allegations and find the room you stayed in a Superior room in very good condition with none of your complaints being evident at all. . Had you asked the Restaurant staff whether they could arrange Hallaal food, you would have been met with friendly willing to help staff. That's how we react to our guest needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The food, especially the breakfast and evening buffet, was exceptionally good. Lovely atmosphere and staff very helpful. A superb place to stay for a sea holiday, comfortably close to the beach. Highly suitable for older people as well. Admin at reception was unfortunately not well trained.

Room Tip: Ensure that you book with the Hotel directly. Third parties (found on internet) are cumbersome and not reliable.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marykeherbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Maryke

Many thanks for the lovely review on the Blue Marlin, i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and trust you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Overall, pleased with the resort and improvements made. Meals priced too high in comparison to other restaurants. Rooms should be equipped with a small bar fridge and couch instead of the wooden chairs.

Room Tip: Card system for the door locks would be nice. Old furniture, still good but could do with some paint in places. Family rooms would be much more comfortable with a couch instead of the wooden chairs. Public area at beach did become very noisy on Friday and Saturday night.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mahendra825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Mahendra

Thanks for taking the time to put on on facebook with your rating on your recent stay. We are pleased to advise that the bedroom refurbs are well on track for completion and these will include bar fridges as we have in our superior rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Another fantastic holiday at the superb Blue Marlin. This is my umpteenth return and I have no complaints at all. The food is excellent, tastefully presented by the Head chef and his team, and the quality of meats provided could not be improved.
Very comfortable bedrooms with all facilities any problems encountered soon dealt with by very caring and friendly staff
Its location set on a headland overlooking the Indian Ocean is viewed from all rooms as all have a sea view.
There are varied entertainment activities arranged daily and the addition this year of its own pizza bakery also adds to its attractions.
A weekly drinks get together arranged by the Management also helps newcomers to meet existing guests
I cannot understand some of the previous negative comments it doesn’t relate to my experience staying at the Blue Marlin.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank westmorlandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guests

Many thanks for the great review on your stay at the Blue Marlin, we are delighted at your comments and hope to welcome you back on your next visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews