We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Manaar House Bed and Breakfast(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor's Rest(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valdior(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Umbrella Tree House(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crooked Tree Cottage(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sandals Guest House(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$323
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
67
159
75
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
159
75
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgateway mallmicrowave and fridgefamily suiterooftop poolwalking distancebusiness tripminute driveshopping centreking shaka airportumhlangaprokardgymmidnighthousekeepingvenue
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

The room was not special but really clean with a good shower and a fridge. Nice pool on the deck and the hotel looks good. The best part is the perfect location, walking distance to the beach and a lot of nice restaurants in front of the hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Thijs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This hotel is very interesting, it's situated directly across from The Gateway Shopping Mall - so you have everything on your doorstep that you require.

The rooms are super-spacious, although nothing fancy. There is plenty of amenities that you would expect from any Protea Hotel.

It's a short taxi ride down to Umhlanga Rocks and the beach.

All in all, no real complaints but at the same time not massively bowled over.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WillOneill_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

I was quite disappointed with this hotel. Walking to my room felt kind of uncomfortable and a little creepy, there were too many noises coming out of several rooms, e.g. who knows what all those guests were doing in there.
The room was dirty, the bathroom was full of ants, the hands towel was nicely placed and when I took it out of the ring to prepare myself before washing my face, I realized it was totally dirty on the side facing the wall! Unreal to think that such a thing is done.
I only rated this hotel average because the breakfast was really good. Otherwise my rating would’ve been lower.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Erika U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Erika U

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the disappointment experienced. Your feedback most certainly does not reflect the high standard that we at Protea Hotel by Marriott Umhlanga Ridge are usually proud to offer.
We confirm that your concerns have been addressed and corrective action is being taken rectify the problem areas.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance to you.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Shanglee
PA to the GM
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

I found the hotel well situated walking distance from Gateway shopping mall. The service was good and the breakfast ample and tasty. The room was comfortable but needed some tlc especially in the bathroom. Beds were clean and pillows great. Even though someone had smoked in the room managed did all they could to remedy the smell. Good work by all. I wont hesitate to return.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

The staff is very friendly, received a warm welcome. The food was average though. There is plenty of parking on-site, which is great since the Gateway area can get quite busy. We didn't have to pay for the parking.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vee201504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHURDurban, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Vee201504

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback with regards to your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment you experienced.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance to you.

Kind Regards
Roxanne Shanglee
PA to the GM
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umhlanga Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews