We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$94
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
16
27
28
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
27
28
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelrooms are smallgateway mallgreat locationfresh smellsmall tvconvenient hotelsafe parkingroom was cleanclose to the airportone nightwalking distancestay there againeasy accessfree wifiumhlangaestablishment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very basic, but you’ll find everything you need.
The rooms are very clean, spacious with basic amenities! Very well located in a good area of Durban

We had an AMAZING treatment in our check in, by Lerato, the receptionist ... very organized, very quick .

Thank you so much Lerato, you are 5 stars!

Overall was a nice stay. Will come back for sure.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank saby990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

We are so pleased to read such a review! Thank you for staying with us and commending our staff for their great efforts to give you a comfortable stay, meeting all your requirements and needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Having stayed here numerous times now,i spent christmas weekend here for 3 nights with my wife and dad. This is without doubt south africas BEST road lodge by which all other road lodges must be judged.Managed by an excellent general manager and reception and housekeeping staff who are always friendly and smiling all the time. My room was extremely clean and had a fresh smell. Well done to all at road lodge umhlanga staff..whatever you guys are doing...its keeping u nr 1. Looking forward to the next trip.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for choosing a City Lodge Hotel as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Road Lodge Unhlanga is neat and tidy and ideally situated. You can park at the lodge and walk to Gateway and surrounds. The rooms are neat and ideal for a couple. The breakfast is really good, well worth it for the price!
The only issue I have is when you check in there is always a queue and you have to wait a while.

Room Tip: Select the higher levels for a better view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TrinJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such a great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here again last saturday as part of a suprise trip for my wife. This has to be the best road lodge in the country. My room was clean and in excelleny condition. I had a walk around the front entrance of the hotel and noticed that the building stilll looks as new as the day it opened. Well done. This hotel is really well lookee after. The receptionist charged my wifes phone for her without hesitation. I was standing outside on the stairs in the evening and the receptionist was leaving for home but still smiled and said good night outside the hotel. In the morning i was greeted with a smile by the cleabing staff. The other receptionists are equally kind and friendly. I love being so close to gateway.well done liz and team. See u in december.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We booked a family room. The room a single sized sleeper and a double bed. This was for two adults and two kids!! The carpet looked dirty, there stains on the bed linen and hairs in the shower!

We stayed for about 4 nights. After the first night, the bathroom didn't look like it was cleaned until our last day!

They have free wifi, the speed is good. But , my advice is that City Lodge is a way better option! It's a bit pricey, but worth it!

Road Lodge is close to City Lodge and Gateway Mall.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Z S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Road Lodge is our entry level brand which offers excellent value for money for travellers. Whatever, the brand, our group prides itself on cleanliness, so we will certainly bring this to the attention of the hotel’s management. We’re happy the wifi worked well for you. The City Lodge Hotel across the road is certainly a great choice as it has a range of additional features and larger bedrooms, but it is naturally quite a bit more expensive than Road Lodge. We’d love to see you back at that Road Lodge or at City Lodge hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews