We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$357
US$314
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
32
85
38
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
85
38
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgateway shopping centreclub cardbit frustratingfriendly reception staffumhlanga ridgecheck in was easybreakfast menu isgreat bathroombunny chowunderground parkingvirgin active gymroom rateanother guestwater pressurecomfortable stayovernight stayawesome location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Our room was very nice and clean with a comfy bed and I appreciated the air conditioning! However, it was quite noisy. Our "young" neighbors in the next room(s), (I think it was Rage week) partied all night. Also, you could hear the street noises in the room, but that is probably normal for a downtown hotel. The one bad that thing happened, though it was NO fault of the hotel, was the sewage backed up onto the walkway right in front of the hotel in the early evening. It was thoroughly disgusting: smell AND mess. It is right across the street from the enormous mall, and many quite good restaurants are within walking distance. It seemed safe enough as well.

Room Tip: I would ask if they could provide a quieter room.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamelaebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We are sad to hear about your experience with the sewage but we look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

You get what you expect at this City Lodge, just like all the others. Decent room, decent service, decent breakfast. The problem here is that it is located in the heart of the Gateway shopping centre and business Park, which means lots of cars, people and other movement all through the night. Ask for a room that is not on the main busy road is my advice. Overall an ok stay, but I prefer a more quiet setting.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank HeinDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive review. We are glad you enjoyed the room, breakfast and service. While the hotel is in a great location, it is true that the rooms facing Gateway pick up more noise from outside than rooms facing the courtyard area. Please visit us again and we hope we can get you a quieter room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This hotel offers good value for money, right next to the Gateway Shopping Centre.

Great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, makes for a very enjoyable dining experience.

The rooms are a bit tired, and compared to other City Lodge establishments, it needs a revamp. I booked a smoking room, but I could not find an ashtray in my room, which was a bit frustrating.

Parking right "beneath" the hotel is included in the room rate and offers easy access to the lobby area and/or rooms, with good access control.

The bar is well stocked and staff extremely helpful and friendly.From checking-in to checking-out the overall experience was great.

This is the ideal hotel to consider for your next business trip to Durban and surrounds.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhilipdeBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We will certainly be forwarding your other comments to hotel management and we look forward to having you stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We got caught in mist and rain from Joburg and booked into the hotel via the website from the car.

Friendly reception staff who really put in a. Effort to get us a family room to reduce the unplanned expense of sleeping over.

Room was clean, comfortable and neat, as always ar city lodge.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your positive review Ian. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so friendly and helpful and the room clean... We look forward to welcoming you back again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I stayed in this City Lodge on two occasions during May. I have stayed on business many times before. It is a beautiful City Lodge conveniently located a stride away from Gateway Mall which is full of eateries, movie houses etc. So once parked in the secure basement parking, you really dont need your car unless you want to explore further afield. Their rooms are always clean, well serviced and of a high standard. also you always have a bath and a separate shower in the bathrooms, which I really appreciate. Their breakfasts are very good. Being on business and tired at the end of the day, I made use of their bar area for light supper meals. The barman was a delight and a great ambassador for the hotel. He made me feel so at home, I ate there more often than was planned, during the two separate visits in May. Their bar light meals are good, well presented and reasonably priced and all you need after a good breakfast and often a business lunch in between.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael5807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review, Michael. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews