We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3 perfect days with 2 families”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming pool area looking towards the main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool area looking towards the main house
Front gate looking from the roadway Front of house showing parking/driveway area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Swimming pool area looking towards the main house
Front gate looking from the roadway
Front of house showing parking/driveway area.
House entrance area.
Outside patio looking onto upper garden tier.
Oustide dining patio looking down onto pool area
Living room looking towards open plan kitchen
Living area looking toward hous entrance, dining room and kitchen
View from open plan kitchen showing main living room and outside patio's
Dining room with staircase to sleeping area on right
View from main entrance looking at the main living area
A modern fully equipt kitchen/laundry
Oustide main patio
Outside main patio
View from garden towards main patio
Main bedroom
Main bedroom bathroom (full)
Green Room
Blue Room
Blue Room
Bathroom 2
Brown Room
Brown room showing private bathroom
Outside entrance to Red Room
Red Room
Red room showing private bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank1963...
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 perfect days with 2 families”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were 4 adults and 3 children (age 12,13 and 14) from Germany. We enjoyed our stay very much and the house was perfect for our two families. Living room, patio and garden invites you for a relaxed holiday and we regret that we had to leave after 3 wonderful days. Everything is in top condition and well maintained. The service is exceptional good and very friendly. The showers of the bath rooms were the best we had on our 4 weeks round trip in ZA. The children were happy about the fast WIFI. The house is perfect for holidays in Umhlanga, The beach is good for swimming and snorkling. Many good restaurants are in Umhlanga and Durban is near by. For shopping is the Gateway Center in Umhlanga first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, patio, pool and living room perfect for a relaxing holiday
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
We thank you for your honest review which we have already put to good use for the benefit our future guests.

Regarding your concerns, we would like to let you know that we have since upgraded our alarm system to be a lot more user friendly. We have also installed a brand new safe for our guests valuables.

Further, we have made additional security improvements and now are quite confident in the knowledge that we are providing one of the most secure guesthouses in Umhlanga Rocks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandra C
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay in this lovely holiday home.”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was a well equipped, beautifully furnished property with plenty of easy parking. Lovely, well maintained garden and pool. Teresa & Precious are real treasures and looked after us throughout our stay, cleaning, making beds etc. On top of this the property is in a great location, close to the beach and all the amenities. I would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Hi Sandy,
Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased that you really had a great time at 25 on Oyster and that you made full use of our lovely garden and swimming pool. Will pass on your lovely comments to our staff who really make our visitors stay really special.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzzyElla
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect location, excellent housekeeper, room for improved management”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this house in January 2014. I was very excited when Karyn confirmed that the house was still available.

We travelled from Johannesburg (about 560km away). When we arrived in Pietermaritzburg (about 1 hour from the venue), I called Karyn to ask if we could have an early check-in. She agreed and told me that I will find the housekeeper at the venue. When we arrived at the venue, the housekeeper (her African name is Nhlanhla, which means the fortunate one) informed us that there were still guests who had informed her that they were moving out the next day.

Nhlanhla then called a guy (I forgot his name), who then arrived at the house in a short space of time. He informed us that Karyn was driving from Mozambique and the current guests are supposed to move out on the day we arrived. He was apologetic. We never got an apology from Karyn.

The housekeeper is excellent. She made our stay an absolute joy. She made sure we were settled and she apologised.

The house is beautiful and has everything you need (I suggest that they include a coffee maker in the kitchen).

I would not mind going back again as I believe Karyn made a mistake. I have already recommended the house to some friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The housekeeper
Liked least: Karyn's attitude
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2014
A genuine misunderstanding for which we are deeply apologetic for. Kind Regards Karyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious holiday rental, every whim catered for”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at 25 Oyster, Umhlanga and it couldn't have been a better place to stay, there was ample rooms, all beautifully furnished (even better than the pictures suggest) and well kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

Even the linen was sumptuous, like being in an upmarket hotel!

It was a brilliant experience from the first enquiry to the owner meeting us upon arrival and making sure that we had everything that we needed and down to Princess, Pearl and Precious for taking such good care of us and the house whilst we were there, we didn't want to leave!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2014
Hi Emma,

Thank you for the review and so pleased that you and your family had a great stay at 25 on Oyster.

Hope to hear from you in the future.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing