We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sandals Guest House(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor's Rest(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$126
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crooked Tree Cottage(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$324
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HoneyPot B&B(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umbrella Tree House(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manaar House Bed and Breakfast(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,153)
Filter reviews
2,153 results
Traveller rating
1,910
174
44
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,910
174
44
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grillhigh tealighthouse baroystersattention to detailwayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantresident catoyster bargarden villaour waiterbeautiful hotelcurriessea facing roomindian oceaniconic lighthouse
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 2,153 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

The praise that's showered upon Durban's Oyster Box Hotel in the affluent Umhlanga area is well-deserved. My husband booked us a two-night stay and took up their Valentine's Day package which was a wonderful excuse to escape to the coast for a mid-week break. The staff are warm, friendly and attentive but they did seem to suffer from bouts from amnesia, and this was a disappointing trend which seemed to follow on from the dismal online reservation process which required several calls and back-and-forth emails to sort it out accurately. Even then, upon arrival at the hotel, the receptionist's information under our booking was all muddled up. They did - at this last minute attempt to accommodate our correct spa and dinner reservations as per our initial preferences. The facilities and decor are out of this world! No two rooms are the same and there's something to amuse the eye around every corner. We got comfy in our spacious, sea-facing room (with lounge) on the ground level so it was simply heavenly to open the sliding doors and allow in the salty air, the sound of crashing waves and the gorgeous silvery blue sight. The house-keeping staff were far more on the ball; they seemed to clean thoroughly, paid attention to detail and even ensured that the yoga mat requested when we made our booking was actually provided without asking for it twice. As far as the rooms go, we had no complaints; the four-poster bed was ultra-luxurious, the showers rained down hot water quickly, the toiletries provided were in generous quantities, and there were three TVs in total - even in the bathroom! Food. Now this can make or break any establishment. High tea in the centre Palm Court was beautiful to look at. I really enjoyed the semolina cake but from a beverage perspective, they really need to add proper, stove-boiled masala tea to the menu. It's a travesty that in Durban, where you'll find the most Indians outside of India, this hotel doesn't offer delicious spicy tea as a staple. Even The Taj Hotel in Cape Town offers masala tea all day. Oh, and no gross pre-mix sachets or sickenly sweet chai lattes - thanks! Meals at the Oyster Box are not halaal and neither are their kitchens halaal-friendly. Again, this is shocking! As great as their chefs are, they haven't caught onto the international trend: halaal tourism. So we lived on seafood and vegetarian options throughout our stay, and we couldn't really enjoy their famous curry buffet either - and again, being in Durban with it's strong Indian influence, this was indeed a real shame. The Ocean Terrace staff members also suffer from amnesia. Several times, we asked for simple things like honey, extra serviettes and specific tables for later sit-downs but a very reassuring "yes" actually resulted in disappearing waiters and absolutely no record of our requests. That sucked. On a positive note, our private five-course dinner for two proved to be the highlight of our trip. The weather made a turn towards the wetter side, and so we were seated in the Clock Library at a well-laden table strewn with beautiful rose petals. Here, we met Stanley, a professionally-trained buttler who is the hotel's most treasured staff member (in our opinion). He is customer-obsessed, eager to please, passionate about his job and he certainly redeemed the hotel's service levels. In fact, we say: "Stanley for manager!!" Would we return to The Oyster Box? Oh, definitely, there are too many gorgeous, old books waiting for me to page through them but management would first have to take note of my comments and take steps towards improvement.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Umayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Ms Umayya

Thank your wonderful review on The Oyster Box Hotel and your stay with us.

I am delighted you were happy with so many aspects of your stay. Your wonderful comments will certainly motivate the team.
Intuitive service and attention to detail are hallmarks of the Hotel. I am sorry there was a small issue with your Spa booking, but glad this was rectified.
With regards to our Kitchen not being Halaal, I am so sorry, however our kitchen specializes in pork products, with a wonderful range from Merrivale Butchery, unfortunately we are also not Kosher. We do however purchase a range of Kosher and Halaal products, however will not be converting our kitchens any time soon.
Our High Tea is so popular and its strange that you should mention Masala tea, some thing we have tried time and time again, unfortuantely it is not popular at all and resulted in waste, my dear friends at the Spice Emporium the Harie family gave me their recipe years ago, when you return I will certainly make you a pot, it is delicious! We have also tried a range of sweat meats, which didnt work either. I suppose High Tea is seen to be a British tradition, making the traditional and classic dishes more popular.

I will be sure to commend Stanley for his wonderful service in the Library.


Thank you for waxing lyrical about your stay, I am so glad you had a lovely Valentines experience.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Our second trip to the Oyster Box was just as unforgettable as the first.
The ambiance, the views, the food, rooms and the staff are just incredible.
From the minute we arrived, Justin Botha was so wonderful - He took such great care of us until the moment we left. So many spoils! This is the only hotel i recommend to everyone i know.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is most important to us and I am therefore thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations on the ambiance, stunning ocean views, delicious food and luxurious accommodation.

Thank you for your comments on the friendly and helpful staff. I will be sure to share your review with the team who will be most grateful.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to this wonderful oasis of a hotel...apart from the usual 5 star service Rashid deserves a special mention When he saw that my Mother had limited mobility he got a wheelchair and gave her a tour of the hotel.The High Tea here is the best we have had anywhere in the world. Bottomless bubbly and a sumptuous buffet of exquisite delicacies savoury and sweet.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank katykudos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your 4th visit to The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the High Tea experience in The Palm Court and that both yourself and your Mum were well taken care of by our passionate staff.

I will be sharing your comments with the staff who will be most grateful.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

A good afternoon tea is all about the small touches - and The Oyster Box has made sure that they are all present.

We were greeted by Rashid - our excellent waiter. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he anticipated our every desire.

The piano player is talented, the food is incredible (and unlimited), the China is beautiful, the chairs are comfortable, the setting is fantastic (check out the lighting, and the fans).

The views from this hotel are superb - if you can stay here then make the effort to - you won't be disappointed.

Every staff member was friendly, helpful and courteous but Rashid measure that our visit was that extra bit special - we will be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Esther3925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves at The High Tea and were well looked after. This popular experience is well sought after and guests love to listen to the gentle tinkling of the piano keys, the amazing ambiance and vast selection of delicious sweet and savoury items.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendly and helpful staff. I will be sure to share your review with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

After a year and half of planning, we got married at The Oyster Box on 20 May 2017. I cannot begin to explain the professional and out of this world service we received, not only during the planning process, but right up the moment I walked out of the Hotel a married man.
Same Sex marriage is a very controversial topic, but my partner and I were welcomed with arms wide open. We were assisted by the amazing Ginny Eslick, wedding co-ordinator at the Oyster Box. Without the assistance of this wonderful women, we would never have the wedding we had. Ginny is so much more than a wedding co-ordinator, she is an angel who goes above and beyond on all occasions. Her knowledge, attention to detail, and dedication is just amazing. She is a rarity and a diligent professional, from the little details to the overall picture she made our day absolutely perfect. People don’t believe us when we said we never felt stress, only joy, but it’s true.
Ginny introduced us to the preferred wedding suppliers. These suppliers added to the success of the perfect wedding anyone could ever ask for.
We had the pleasure of meeting, award-winning executive chef, Kevin Joseph. Kevin organised the food tasting, and the food presented on the wedding was exactly the same. 5 star food was prepared for us and all our guests. Not one person went home hungry. We had vegetarians and vegans attended our wedding and they were prepared special plated meals.
We booked into the honeymoon suite a couple days before the wedding, and wow we were blown away. The room was really big and oozed luxury and sophistication. We had enough room for our whole wedding party to get ready in the room!
I can’t thank all the staff from The Oyster Box enough for making our wedding so memorable. We have only received such positive feedback from all our guests.
You will see us again very soon!
Lots of Love
Mike & Jay

Room Tip: Any Room at the Oyster Box is amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MikePollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box and for making us your choice of venue for your very special day on 20 May 2017.

I am absolutely thrilled that you were blown away by every aspect of the hotel and absolutely adored the professional services of our incredible wedding co-ordinator Ginny to make your day just as you expected. She really is such a gem and is exceptionally experienced in planning weddings to suit everyone's tastes. She is an absolute perfectionist and we are proud to have her on our team.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the amazing food organised by Executive Chef Kevin. I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate further memorable moments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews